ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Pains
Desktop Engineer (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 9, 2017
ALSAC is undergoing a lot of growing pains and unfortunately has a lot of incompetent management in IT. No signs of this getting better from what I am told.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, high stress, very rewarding
Construction Specialist (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 18, 2017
The mission is the main reason for doing the job. Raising money so children diagnosed with cancer can receive treatment and never receive a bill.
My position required a lot of travel. On the road for three night a week 30% of the time. Working with colleagues on the west coast sometimes meant taking conference calls at 6pm Cst.
Required dealing with many different personality types. Several Type A personalities in the workforce.
Pros
Health insurance, days off, travel points
Cons
long hours, high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing cause, poor field management
Associate Director, Field Operations (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 6, 2017
While the cause is second to none at ALSAC/St Jude, the leadership for the Field Ops was not inspiring nor visionary leaders. The regional director in DC did not value opinions different from his own, nor did he value diversity on the team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Product Owner (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 10, 2017
ALSAC is a great place to work. I need to relocate for personal reasons and will be sad to say good bye to all of my friends and co-workers. Thank you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to Work
Advisor - HR Project and Analytics (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 28, 2017
An organization with a really great mission and excellent work culture.The American Lebanese Syrian Associated Charities (ALSAC) is the fundraising and awareness organization for St. Jude Children's Research Hospital. Its sole mission is to raise the funds and awareness necessary to operate and maintain St. Jude.ALSAC is the largest healthcare related charity in the United States. The National Executive Office is located in Memphis, Tennessee. ALSAC also has over 30 local fundraising offices located in cities throughout the United States that hold over 30,000 fundraising events annually.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Specialist
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 27, 2017
I love working for ALSAC! It is truly an incredible company to work for. They have a wonderful culture among employees. They also encourage employees to move around the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good resume filler
INTERN/VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 2, 2017
This is not a bad place to work. The reason why I ranked it so low is that it was only an internship. Nothing really to help out in finding a career. Underutilized interns.
Pros
Good for the Resume
Cons
Nothing to Learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace with great facilities
Information Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 17, 2017
I thought my time at ALSAC was good but after 3 months my contract didn't get renewed. I guess they didn't like me as much as I liked them. If given the chance, I'm not sure that I would take a contract there again.
Pros
Nice people, great campus environment
Cons
Lack of direction and setting of expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 22, 2017
ALSAC is a great place to work. Offers excellent job work/Life balance. Offers great learning opportunities to full time workers. Work culture is great, very supportive. Excellent people.
Pros
Offers excellent job work/Life balance, Less stress
Cons
Lot of changes happening due to re-org of IT Department
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling and challenging
Regional Event Specialist (Current Employee) –  Newton, MAApril 6, 2017
This job is very fulfilling in terms of feeling good about yourself and the cause you are working for. The difficulty is that the National Executive Office and hospital are located in Memphis, TN, so advancement most often takes place when one is willing to move there.
Pros
great mission
Cons
mission is based in TN
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's all about the children
Volunteer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 11, 2017
It's all about the children, the life saving work there is the most remarkable thing in the world. The children deserve a chance at life as much as the next person, so that is what they do there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing mission to share and develop
Business Development Representative, Bilingual (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 18, 2017
Learned so much working for this organization. Staff wear lots of hats and develop relationships across the country to raise money for kids battling cancer and other catastrophic illnesses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern with Good Experience
Development Intern (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJanuary 28, 2017
This is a great place to intern, I am at a regional office with many fun and interesting tasks. I really feel like I am part of the team!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
incredible
Brand Ambassador Intern (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 11, 2017
ALSAC is an incredible company to work for. This vision is excellent, and the workplace is nothing but positive and hopeful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feel very fortunate to have worked for this company.
Administrative Assistant/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 17, 2016
Outbound cold calls to recruit volunteers to have fundraising events for the hospital. The management were great, the co-workers were great. We always had fun functions going on. Every one is treated like family. I was quickly promoted to Supervisor Assistant and then to Administrative Assistant to the Director. This position included all office management duties for the Call Center.
Pros
Promote from with in. Treat everyone like family. Great Health Benefits, Pto, and they make big contributions to your retirement.
Cons
There is really not a single con I can think of for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alsac / St Jude review
Analyst II - Systems (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 3, 2016
This is the best environment I have ever worked in. Everyone is so personable. There are educational/training options. Manager is great to work for. I have awesome associates. I have enjoyed everyday at work and have learned many new things and made many new friends.
Pros
Amazing Place to Work
Cons
commute from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work environment!
Intern Donor Engagement (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 9, 2016
This company consist of amazing employees and a wonderful work environment! We raise the funds and awareness that allows St. Jude Children's Research Hospital to continue its mission to understand, treat, and defeat childhood cancer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time
Kinesiotherapy Intern (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 15, 2016
Closing work orders and assisting current and pending tenants. I learned to speak professionally with all types of people. Management was dependable. The hardest part of the job was dealing with upset tenants. The most enjoyable part was conversing with current tenants.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative Company with an Amazing Mission
Sr. Specialist (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 11, 2015
I have had the opportunity to work for ALSAC for over 2 years. This is definitely the most innovative company I have ever been a part of. Every employee is encouraged to share their ideas. I also love that I get to learn from brilliant people every day who are experts in the industry. Everyone is very committed to our mission and is willing to go above and beyond to be helpful. Our CEO is very strategic, personable, and transparent, and I would describe him as a servant leader who really cares about his employees. There is a ton of work to do, but the good news is that it is easy to stay motivated because of the company mission and others around you pushing you to be the best you can be. Our healthcare benefits are also VERY affordable.
Pros
Amazing mission, healthy and affordable food in the cafeteria and food truck options every day, opportunity to innovate, strong leadership, 2 Starbucks on campus, located downtown
Cons
Currently no maternity leave option
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission and Progressive Nonprofit Organization
Sr. Director, Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 10, 2015
ALSAC/St. Jude is an organization that is progressively moving forward in the nonprofit industry. The CEO is forward thinking and cares about the employees.
Pros
Great beneftis, innovative executive leadership, sound strategic planning
Cons
little to no work-life balance, need for management training and cultural awareness
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0

ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Reviews by Location