ALSTOM Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
power service industry
Manager of CADD Engineering (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNDecember 5, 2017
During the Alstom years I was managing the engineering department responsible for all data and drawing for fabrication. Working with manufacturing, engineering, project management, and the customer was always interesting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and fantastic growth opportunities
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYNovember 27, 2017
Alstom was a great work place with amazing growth opportunities. People from different functions were very cooperative, management was very supportive and encouraged career advancement
Pros
Team, Organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Industrialization Engineer (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYNovember 26, 2017
Good place to work. Worked as an Industrial Engineer assisting the production of products and project for the rail signaling equipment. Has responsibility for daily support and process improvement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alstom Power is Gone
North American Sales Director, Gas Business NAM (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CTNovember 20, 2017
Only Transportation remains, so I can't comment. Alstom Power was a fun time, until absorbed by the Borg. The main issue was a certain passivity of management.
Pros
Free Coffee
Cons
Bureaucratic culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Electrician/ Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Morristown, NJNovember 14, 2017
productive work environment, everyone employed at Alstom were very pleasant and quick to lend a helping hand. everyday i went into work hungry to learn more at the work site, and Alstom Transportation made that opportunity presentable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place, Good People
Software Designer (Former Employee) –  West Henrietta, NYNovember 13, 2017
This was a great place to work with starting out. I would definitely consider working for them again in the future. Everyone was kind, and I learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good position before financial problems
Director, EHS (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNOctober 27, 2017
First 5 years, one of the best jobs I have had. Was allowed to perform my functions as I saw fit. Put in place many activities that were productive and proactive. Achieved many goals and objectives.When financial problems began and we were bought out, layoffs and shut down began .
Pros
good even balance of work
Cons
financial problems closing of facilities and layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Mechanical Designer (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNOctober 24, 2017
The type of work involved made it very interesting. The designs being done created a challenge. They also had great benefits. They were good company to work for.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
They got bought out.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting dynamics
Lead Buyer (Current Employee) –  Hornell, NYOctober 23, 2017
You have an good opportunity to meet people from all over the world, learn their cultures and ways of working. Because they are a world wide company you are given the possibility to work any where.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
can be stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
TRACTION CONTROL TEST & REPAIR TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Williston, VTOctober 19, 2017
Alstom was a great place to work. The people were friendly and they offered a flex start time. They offered ample vacation and the week of Christmas off which was awesome.
Pros
Ample vacation time.
Cons
Salary dictated by corporate office in Montreal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Management (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAOctober 11, 2017
Good place to work. Benefits were good. People were nice to work with and had international experience working with colleagues in France. Seemed as though people were ok staying in their current positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Millwright (Former Employee) –  VirginiaOctober 4, 2017
Fast paced work paid well worked hard good perdium great guys to work with have the best tooling dont skimp on safety always cared about the guys and there safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There's a reason they needed to be bought
Expeditor (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CTOctober 3, 2017
There's a reason the power business needed to be bought by GE. Very political atmosphere. No clear performance measurements. Many people over-complicating processes for job security purposes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Accounts Payable Manager (Former Employee) –  Hornell, NYSeptember 14, 2017
Alstom in Hornell closed. I was laid off due the plant closing. Not only was Alstom a good place to work but also the city of Hornell was a very pleasant place to live.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
VI&T Engineer (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYSeptember 14, 2017
I have worked here twice and have found the environment a good place to be. Wish I could have found my way to retirement within the company. That is my only regret. The mixture of people make for a great path forward to engaging many new ideals and cultures. Was a growing experience in many great ways.

Good luck in applying.
Pros
People
Cons
Sometimes can be disorganized with confusing direction
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced work environment with high stress
Deskside Support Agent (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYSeptember 11, 2017
Alstom as a company is an excellent place to work, however the contracting company that manages their IT systems is very poorly managed and does not do a particularly good job of managing their IT infrastructure.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old style management
Project Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CTSeptember 9, 2017
Director of Engineering had an opinion that women have their place, no allowment for advancement, closed ears to the workers. Engineers were good, management not so good.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
no voice, watched over, lack of support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Mechanical Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Hornell, NYSeptember 8, 2017
Alstom does not treat people with respect.
You get advancements but not the pay.
when you give your two weeks notice. they walk you out the building the same day.
horrible place to work.
I do not recommend anyone to work there
Pros
ok Benefits
Cons
horrible place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but uncertain future
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNSeptember 6, 2017
Alstom was a good company to work for that gave many opportunities for special projects and advancement. However, Alstom recently sold off their power division to GE, which has created much uncertainty.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but I was only a temp
Materials Coordinator (Sioux City, Iowa) (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNSeptember 5, 2017
Typical day at work was busy checking in, receiving, and inventorying materials. I also spent a lot of time on the computer and phone dealing with shortages, etc.
I learned a lot about material handling and filing reports.
Management was the best! Good to work for.
Workplace culture was mostly blue collar workers.
Sometimes confused about who I worked for.
Lots of perks from management. Dinners, clothing, and gifts.
Pros
Flew me home once a month, or flew my wife to see me
Cons
Didn'e receive per diem, when my co-workers did
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALSTOM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,735 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8