Find companies:
AltaPointe Health Systems, Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

AltaPointe Health Systems, Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anonymous
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Daphne, ALMarch 14, 2014
This is a very good company to work for if you have a management position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe work environment
RN (Former Employee), Daphne, ALMarch 13, 2014
Pros: Decent starting pay and many offered benefits. Very patient oriented, especially if they have private insurance!!
Cons: Poorly managed and not safe. Patients attack each other and employees on a regular basis. There is not a strong security presence as there are only 2 security personnel available during the day and only 1 available during the – more... night for the entire Psychiatric Hospital. Employees are given a brief training period and up to 18 patients to care for each shift per each RN, depending on which Unit you work. There is no employee advocate to help improve working conditions, so employee moral is horrible. There is no unity between employees. There is a very high turn-over of employees due to these conditions. Work here at your own risk!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Company That Cares
N/A (Current Employee), Mobile, ALMarch 5, 2014
Pros: benefits, leadership, co-workers
Cons: pay
I have been with the company for almost 4 years. In those years I have worked hard and been promoted several times. I am now in my ideal position within the company, using my degree to do something that I love and enjoy. Do I wish some things would change about my job? Ofcourse who doesnt have things they would change if they could. However I feel like – more... I am very lucky to be a part of this organization that is making a difference in the community that I live in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and professional place to work.
Alabama Certified Case Manager (Current Employee), Mobile, ALFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: friendly staff and good benefits
Cons: low pay
Altapointe Health Systems is a great place to start a career in the mental health system of Alabama. I have been blessed with a wonderful supervisor who is very knowledgeable and professional. The other employees are polite and courteous. Working in the mental health field is also rewarding because you have the chance to work one-on-one with individuals – more... in the community to ensure they have good quality of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Anonymous (Current Employee), Mobile, ALFebruary 11, 2014
AltaPointe is truly dedicated to helping people in our community. I find it rewarding to be a part of a team that works so hard to make a difference in the lives of the people we serve.
I have had opportunities for advancement and great work/life balance. My supervisor is always trying to teach me something new!
My favorite part of working for AltaPointe – more... is the people that I work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous job and terrible business ethics.
Nurse (Former Employee), Daphne, AlabamaJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: dangerous work environment, poor pay, management
Alta Pointe health systems is a complete mess. The East Pointe hospital location has very poor management and is an extremely dangerous place to work. The hospital cares nothing for its employees and will do only the bare minimum to ensure the safety of its staff. The hospital continuously receives patients who are convicted felons, and it does not – more... have the proper security to handle these type of people, making for a dangerous environment for the staff. The Alabama board of mental health and public safety needs to shut this hospital down and have Alta Pointe re-evaluate its position on safety, management, overall quality of patient care. Please take this review serious before considering working for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a horrible and dangerouse place to work.
behavior ad (Former Employee), daphane alJanuary 21, 2014
I was an employee, and the management is awful. The nurse coordnators need more education on professionlism, and nursing. If you are not in a click or group you will not last. I wish I never worked for this company. I really wish the state would just drop in and see how they really run this facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Altapointe is a pleasant place to work.
Crisis Counselor (Former Employee), Mobile, ALDecember 9, 2013
Pros: the benefits are the best part of the job.
Cons: not enough educational opportunities through the company.
We have the ability to relax in a an environment that is not policed but are able to work independently depending on your job. There are breaks in the day with a good lunch hour. The day usually goes by quickly, I have learned to get along with my co-workers as well as improve how I dispense my tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work*
Therapist (Former Employee), Mobile, ALDecember 6, 2013
Pros: none*
Cons: only care about money among many reasons*
"I think they are trying to turn into a private for profit system. That is the only reason I can think of why they are so worried about money and not so concerned with the care of "consumers". You are better off working for a private for profit company because they at least have some concerns for they people they serve. If you have a professional license – more... such as a social worker or counselor, please avoid working for this horrible unethical company. I reported the company for neglect of consumers to DHR, and suffered dearly for this. This is no place for an ethical person that cares about the people they serve."*

* in my opinion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CM
Case manager (Former Employee), AltapointeOctober 20, 2013
Cons: co workers
The pay is too low and it's not worth jeopardizing your life for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place To Work!!!!!!
Behavior Specialist (Former Employee), MobileOctober 1, 2013
Cons: a lot
I am a former employee and sad to say that I actually worked there over five years until I finished school. THE PAY IS AWFUL! The staff is over worked and have no rights. You a not appreciated by administration. You work 12 hour shifts without breaks.Staff is in content danger because the consumers run the hospital. Whatever they say goes! It's a lot – more... of under handed situations going on but they are covered up . There's no PROS BUT A LARGE AMOUNT OF CONS!!! DON'T LET THEM FOOL YOU! IT'S A BUNCH OF BS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Innovative
Case Manager (Current Employee), Mobile, ALSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: weekends off
Cons: low mileage compensation per mile
Nothing about my job with this company is hard. A typical day for me is usually very rewarding because of the services that are provided to my clients. I am apart of an amazing team that works tirelessly to get the job done. The most enjoyable part of my job is the expression of a client that is satisfied with the service/services they have received.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a Job....
Behavioral Specialist (Current Employee), Mobile, ALAugust 19, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: compensation
I am happy to just have a job.Hardest part is seeing the condition of some on the clients you help some are really in need. I have learned so much about Mental Health it is not given th recognition it needs. My co-workers are a great team of folks to work with. I don't make a whole lot of money and do not get raises or advancement opportunity even with – more... a Master's degree. But, I am secure in my job and I have one. Just wished I could make more money. No bonus, no overtime, no way to make extra $$$$$ – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good pay
Lead Behavioral Specialist (Current Employee), Mobile, ALAugust 10, 2013
Love the job and consumers. Pay is not good with not many raises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is awful
behavioral ade (Current Employee), mobile, alJuly 29, 2013
Cons: no raises and u have to mandatorally pay fir retirement
I've nurses yelling at patients and treating adults like children raises are nonexistent have not had one in three years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Case Manager (Current Employee), Mobile, ALJune 11, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Needs improvement on management/supervisor communication with employee's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical Practices/Doesn't Value Employees
Therapist (Former Employee), Mobile, ALMay 28, 2013
Cons: most of my coworkers were a joy to work with during my time there.
This company is not the company to work for if you care about the well being of the population you serve. They are numbers driven and care about making money only. I understand it's a business and it requires money to run, but they are the helping profession and helping people should be their first priority.

A typical work week included 50 or more – more... hours a week when only being compensated for 37.5 hours. If you took off work, planned or unplanned, the work that you left would be waiting on you when you return. Even when that work was time sensitive. Training is nonexistent.

The pay is very low and the work conditions are horrible. Everyone complains about the work environment and almost everyone is looking for another job. The benefits are expensive.

The only employees that are valued are the doctors. If you disagree with a doctor and voice you opinion about it then you will be reprimanded. In a nutshell, do whatever the doctor says to keep him happy whether you think it's best or not or if you feel it is unethical.

Your job duties will change/increase almost on a weekly basis or if they feel they can make more money by making your workload harder. There is little to no room for advancement unless you are a part of the "in crowd". Yes I said "in crowd" and yes there are clicks.

The practices of this company really needed to investigated because there are some things that go on that are not reported as they should and some things that should not be happening at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Counselor (Former Employee), Mobile, ALMay 17, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Almost all people working for this company are absolutely miserable due to the overwhelming expectations placed on employees. Compensation is poor and working 50+ hours a week is normal (and routinely expected, as well as uncompensated) for salaried employes. Most supervisors lack empathy of employees' experiences and treat them poorly. There is little – more... to no room for growth in the company; trainings are a joke and led by persons who sometimes have less knowledge than their audience. There are no salary increases even with raising costs of living (unless you live at work to appease your supervisors) or ways to advance in the company as promotions are nearly unheard of. You have very little time off as vacation and sick leave are somehow the same thing which means your first year there you will only have one day off a month... burn out is imminent and unavoidable in such conditions. You spend more time on your computer than you do with clients, which reduces effectiveness of care. Overall, this is the worst place you could ever work. Find a company that will actually care about you. AltaPointe is heartless. Turnover there is frequent; most people do not even last two years because of the terrible work conditions. Please, for your sake, look elsewhere! I ignored warnings and took a job there anyway. I loved my co-workers but most time with them consisted of us crying over our lunches... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Behavioral Aide (Former Employee), Mobile, ALMay 2, 2013
Pros: i was working
Cons: no support
Altapointe is a okay company to work for if u need a job, but as far as a career. dont waste your time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay!
Case manager (Former Employee), Mobile, AlApril 24, 2013
Pros: nothing.
Cons: low pay!
I was offered a position as a case manager. They offered me around $10.75 an hour. This is ridiculous. It shows a complete lack of respect for their employes. Needless to say I turned down the position.

About AltaPointe Health Systems, Inc

AltaPointe Health Systems, Inc. oversees a community-based, regional system of mental health, substance abuse and intellectual – Read more

AltaPointe Health Systems, Inc Photos