Find companies:
AltaPointe Health Systems, Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

AltaPointe Health Systems, Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Toxic Work Environment
Therapist (Former Employee), Mobile, ALNovember 14, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: low pay, no raises, poor inexperience supervisors
Universal disrespectful dictatorial management style from the very top to upper middle management.

Overworked /underpaid front line staff and very middle management.

Everyone is paranoid and HR does not support or listen to direct staff.

No encouragement to actually help clients

Co-workers afraid of upper management

When I was left alone to do – more... therapy or teach I loved it.

What I learned? To Thine Own Self Be True. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I think any good review of this co. is clearly delusional
REAL HUMAN BEING (Former Employee), Mobile and baldwin ctyOctober 22, 2014
Cons: everything
What can I say positive? ABSolutely nothing! Start with low low pay, and sky high demands with NO SUPPORT. They r all about money money money for the upper echelon and elite within the company which includes CEO Scheslinger. They are uncaring soulless ppl who work in MENTAL HEALTH! It's a Joke! If u were privy to the management decisions you would be – more... appalled. Clients! What clients. They r nothing but conveyor belt, in and out! They focus on pushing them in but quality of care is simply not there. No wonder So many bad reviews. Management style is territorial with no communications and no cooperation. Riddled with wanna be nasty females and emasculated men who r coerced and scared into submission in order to keep a job. A book could be written on HOW NOT TO RUN A COMPANY! There is clearly illegal and much unethical behavior on part of management. Never once did I hear the welfare of the consumer. Never once. This company needs
To be shut down by medicaid. These R your governmental dollars at work. They run a FOR PROFIT mentality with a non profit label. How does a nonprofit run a PROFIT OF MILLIONS. The government needs to shut this down. Shame shame shame. Saw ppl treated like scum. Constant constant change that resulted in nothing but garbage. No thought out decisions, just selfish one sided deals with no consideration on impact on Rest of organization. Liken them to ambulance
Chasing thieves. There is not enough space on here to say all that needs to be said. DO NOT USE THEM FIND ANOTHER PROVIDER. U WILL BE SORRY. U will never get a straight answer or consistency and they couldn't give a hoot about you, only your BILLING POTENTIAL. stay away please. They need to be driven out of business! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, I would never work for this company!
Former Employee; Thank God (Former Employee), Mobile, ALOctober 12, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: management, budgets, support, and supervisors engaging in illegal activities.
During my work experience with Altapointe, I experienced supervisors using former employees user names and passwords to complete assessments which as you all know is highly illegal! I also had a supervisor which attempted to give me this information and instructed me to engage in illegal activity. I declined, and reported this to performance improvement – more... and nothing was done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Behavioral Aide (Current Employee), Daphne, ALSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: cheap lunch
Cons: non smoking facility
My job here at East Pointe is like no other. I love my job to pieces the atmosphere of all my consumers and my co-workers is indescribeable. Here at East Pointe we focus mainly on the consumers and their needs to better themselves when they leave here. Its a lot of fun being able to learn new things about different people. My job has a overall rating – more... of 5 stars not only because I work here, but bcause I love what I do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job
Residential Manager (Former Employee), Mobile, ALAugust 8, 2014
My job was rewarding,and never a dull moment due to the population served.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Company
Office Admissions Professional (Former Employee), Mobile, ALJuly 28, 2014
Pros: schedule
Cons: pay
This is a very good company to work for if you have a management position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging work environment
Nurse (Current Employee), DaphneMay 30, 2014
Pros: meals available on site; advancement opportunities
Cons: dealing with difficult consumers which is not for everyone.....
A great place to gain experience with the most challenging of psychiatric consumers. Many challenges which require critical thinking and use of clinical skills. A beautiful facility with any resource requested provided.
Hardest part of the job is the negativity of co-workers who always complain, think they have it so bad and always think the grass is – more... greener - funny they always try to come back when they leave - must not be as bad as they make it out to be......
Security is present on all shifts - which is great since you don't find them present at every job - they are helpful to the nursing staff and always respond when called. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and an interesting place to work
ADMISSION PROFESSIONAL- RESIDENTIAL UNIT (Current Employee), Mobile, ALMarch 19, 2014
This is an interesting place to work especially in the area of Mental Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anonymous
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Daphne, ALMarch 14, 2014
This is a very good company to work for if you have a management position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe work environment
RN (Former Employee), Daphne, ALMarch 13, 2014
Pros: Decent starting pay and many offered benefits. Very patient oriented, especially if they have private insurance!!
Cons: Poorly managed and not safe. Patients attack each other and employees on a regular basis. There is not a strong security presence as there are only 2 security personnel available during the day and only 1 available during the – more... night for the entire Psychiatric Hospital. Employees are given a brief training period and up to 18 patients to care for each shift per each RN, depending on which Unit you work. There is no employee advocate to help improve working conditions, so employee moral is horrible. There is no unity between employees. There is a very high turn-over of employees due to these conditions. Work here at your own risk!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Company That Cares
N/A (Current Employee), Mobile, ALMarch 5, 2014
Pros: benefits, leadership, co-workers
Cons: pay
I have been with the company for almost 4 years. In those years I have worked hard and been promoted several times. I am now in my ideal position within the company, using my degree to do something that I love and enjoy. Do I wish some things would change about my job? Ofcourse who doesnt have things they would change if they could. However I feel like – more... I am very lucky to be a part of this organization that is making a difference in the community that I live in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and professional place to work.
Alabama Certified Case Manager (Current Employee), Mobile, ALFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: friendly staff and good benefits
Cons: low pay
Altapointe Health Systems is a great place to start a career in the mental health system of Alabama. I have been blessed with a wonderful supervisor who is very knowledgeable and professional. The other employees are polite and courteous. Working in the mental health field is also rewarding because you have the chance to work one-on-one with individuals – more... in the community to ensure they have good quality of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Anonymous (Current Employee), Mobile, ALFebruary 11, 2014
AltaPointe is truly dedicated to helping people in our community. I find it rewarding to be a part of a team that works so hard to make a difference in the lives of the people we serve.
I have had opportunities for advancement and great work/life balance. My supervisor is always trying to teach me something new!
My favorite part of working for AltaPointe – more... is the people that I work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous job and terrible business ethics.
Nurse (Former Employee), Daphne, AlabamaJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: dangerous work environment, poor pay, management
Alta Pointe health systems is a complete mess. The East Pointe hospital location has very poor management and is an extremely dangerous place to work. The hospital cares nothing for its employees and will do only the bare minimum to ensure the safety of its staff. The hospital continuously receives patients who are convicted felons, and it does not – more... have the proper security to handle these type of people, making for a dangerous environment for the staff. The Alabama board of mental health and public safety needs to shut this hospital down and have Alta Pointe re-evaluate its position on safety, management, overall quality of patient care. Please take this review serious before considering working for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a horrible and dangerouse place to work.
behavior ad (Former Employee), daphane alJanuary 21, 2014
I was an employee, and the management is awful. The nurse coordnators need more education on professionlism, and nursing. If you are not in a click or group you will not last. I wish I never worked for this company. I really wish the state would just drop in and see how they really run this facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Altapointe is a pleasant place to work.
Crisis Counselor (Former Employee), Mobile, ALDecember 9, 2013
Pros: the benefits are the best part of the job.
Cons: not enough educational opportunities through the company.
We have the ability to relax in a an environment that is not policed but are able to work independently depending on your job. There are breaks in the day with a good lunch hour. The day usually goes by quickly, I have learned to get along with my co-workers as well as improve how I dispense my tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work*
Therapist (Former Employee), Mobile, ALDecember 6, 2013
Pros: none*
Cons: only care about money among many reasons*
"I think they are trying to turn into a private for profit system. That is the only reason I can think of why they are so worried about money and not so concerned with the care of "consumers". You are better off working for a private for profit company because they at least have some concerns for they people they serve. If you have a professional license – more... such as a social worker or counselor, please avoid working for this horrible unethical company. I reported the company for neglect of consumers to DHR, and suffered dearly for this. This is no place for an ethical person that cares about the people they serve."*

* in my opinion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CM
Case manager (Former Employee), AltapointeOctober 20, 2013
Cons: co workers
The pay is too low and it's not worth jeopardizing your life for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place To Work!!!!!!
Behavior Specialist (Former Employee), MobileOctober 1, 2013
Cons: a lot
I am a former employee and sad to say that I actually worked there over five years until I finished school. THE PAY IS AWFUL! The staff is over worked and have no rights. You a not appreciated by administration. You work 12 hour shifts without breaks.Staff is in content danger because the consumers run the hospital. Whatever they say goes! It's a lot – more... of under handed situations going on but they are covered up . There's no PROS BUT A LARGE AMOUNT OF CONS!!! DON'T LET THEM FOOL YOU! IT'S A BUNCH OF BS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Innovative
Case Manager (Current Employee), Mobile, ALSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: weekends off
Cons: low mileage compensation per mile
Nothing about my job with this company is hard. A typical day for me is usually very rewarding because of the services that are provided to my clients. I am apart of an amazing team that works tirelessly to get the job done. The most enjoyable part of my job is the expression of a client that is satisfied with the service/services they have received.

About AltaPointe Health Systems, Inc

AltaPointe Health Systems, Inc. oversees a community-based, regional system of mental health, substance abuse and intellectual – Read more

AltaPointe Health Systems, Inc Photos