Find companies:
Altaquip
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Altaquip Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Service Center
Asst Service Center Manager - Materials (Former Employee), Randolph MA.December 3, 2014
Co-workers were extremely knowledgeable and hard working, Made going to work easier even in slower days
Hardest part of the job was not having enough work for them and having to cut some of their hours. But by doing so they were able to keep their jobs until business picked up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay, good hours, poor management
Diagnostic Technician (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXNovember 6, 2014
Pros: decent pay, good hours
Cons: poor health care, poor management, seasonale
A typical day at work was getting all my repairs done in a timely manor. I learned how to diagnose and work on MICROWAVES, window AIR CONDITITONERS and improved my experience on using test meters. I wanted to train on other products, Management held me back from doing so. My co-workers were a great group of people, some of the best. The hardest part – more... of the job was not working on the products but getting help when I needed it. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with good co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with many issues trying to fix itself......Maybe?
Current Employee (Current Employee), USOctober 31, 2014
Pros: can't really give one because there's so many selfish individuals in this company.
Cons: everything
Do as much research as you can on this company before accepting any position.
I fault myself for not doing so.
There's many cons about this company.
The culture - Its very different from any company I've ever worked for.
There's no work life balance.
They expect you to take on more and more with no additional compensation.
When they lose people instead – more... of replacing the position they pass the work off to someone else.
Individuals have not received a yearly review in 4 years (so don't expect raises).
They show favoritism among the employees
Lower level employees are treated like they don't matter while higher ups go on golf outings.
They do not treat there employees equal from the salary to the hourly. Everyone is treated differently.
Lots of turnover.
Inadequate training
manage on a personal level and not a professional level
The environment is very unprofessional and most situations are handled in unprofessional manner.
They do not keep their word, very untrustworthy, they will lie to you to get what they want.
How most companies usually may have that one disgruntle or unhappy employee, this company seems to be filled with them and there's maybe a few that aren't.
Certain individuals get away with the most unprofessional behavior and because they are favored no reprimand or corrective actions happen.
They treat temp employees better than permanent employees
They lie to your face and turn around and do the opposite of what they tell you when you are out of their presence.
The company is trying to rebuild and hasn't made a true profit in like 5 years.
This is not the place for someone who's worked for a professional environment and knows right from wrong, and knows how a company should be run. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STAY AWAY IF YOU HAVE OPTIONS!!!!
Current Employee (Current Employee), MidwestOctober 15, 2014
Pros: its a job if you need one
Cons: very unprofessional environment even with a new sheriff in town....
Based Upon my employment with Altaquip here are some known facts! This company is based on nothing but lies, upper management doesn't know whats going on they are clueless. communication is the poorest I've ever seen. There goal is to work you like a dog with no incentives at all. The turn around rate is absolutely ridiculous, they say they strive to – more... succeed, the only thing they strive for is themselves. They have no concern for there staff. Its all politics and favoritism! Upper management hires friends of friends to run the corporate facility and everyone else is below them, techs are forced to have a high UPH however when they have return units not repaired they get written up and or possible termination, there is no pleasing this company, they are being sued by numerous individuals due to there lack of professionalism and hostile work environments. Don't expect pay raises or bonuses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
mechanic (Former Employee), Wallingford, CTSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: the co-workers
Cons: the corporate nature
i liked working here but the people there sometimes stoled my tools. I don't like to lose tools or have them stolen. I do enjoy working in the small engines. they are easy to work on and I like to get my hands dirty. it is good to fix something that was broken. it is a good skill to have. God bless you all!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working here
Executive Administrative Specialist (Current Employee), Shorewood, ILSeptember 4, 2014
Fun Place. Really laid back and days go by quick. Management team was great minus the one bad one. Easy billing system but was an older system with less options then most have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal
Tech 3 (Current Employee), Austin, TXAugust 24, 2014
In season, the money is there.. but out of season, get a 2nd job or leave entirely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CHANGE HAS COME!!!!!!!!
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 16, 2014
Pros: friendly environment, non-micro-management, great pay and benefits
Cons: communication can be stronger and more organized.
Altaquip is a company that has received a bad rap due to poor communication, disgruntle employee's and questionable choices by previous senior management . THERE'S A NEW SHERIFF IN TOWN!! :-) With the new President in place and with his passion to development his team of leaders and their direct reports, Altaquip is in route to be one of the best companies – more... to work for. I've been apart of this company for 3 months. I started through a temporary service agency and was promised that a permanent position would be offered within 60-90 days, upon me being a good fit for the position. I was offered permanent employment after 30. In my short period of time I have seen the small changes, as well as, some major changes. I have the confidence in our NEW PRESIDENT/LEADERSHIP & our Senior Team that there will be greater change soon. Some changes will come immediately and others will take more time. One of the biggest goals of our new president is to develop his team of leader and their teams. Training and development is vital to success of any company. One thing that our president says is, "A vision without execution, is hallucination." Let's not just talk about change... Let's be the change we talk about. He believes that we are winners & champions and he makes sure to remind us daily. I understand that there were some who were apart of the company when our processes weren't clear, or non-existent. However, Altaquip has been rebirthed and the CHANGE HAS COME! I'd recommend this company to anyone because change is at hand and the greater change that is to come. I'm glad to be apart of this team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal employment great place to work
Small Engine Mechanic (Former Employee), Youngwood, PAApril 22, 2014
Pros: meet quota get pizza on friday
Cons: not a lot of time for family
10 hour + days, 6 days a week. enjoyed repairing and doing maintenance on lawn and garden equipment. great manager. knowledgeable co-workers with can do attitudes. hardest part of the job was having a lawn mower that a customer sent back with the engine blown due to the fact that the owner never put the oil that came with the mower in it. gas and go. – more... destroying it and having to buy a new engine that cost almost as much as the mower did new. i felt bad for them because it was not under warranty the people i worked with and taking a machine that didn't run and making it run like new. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice amosphere
ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee), Romulus, MIFebruary 22, 2014
Good company to work for. Great people and good pay. I was seasonal but would gladly work for this company again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small engine and appliance repair
Small Engine & Appliance Repair (Current Employee), Pennsauken, NJFebruary 13, 2014
Enabling me to further develop my knowledge bases for small engine and appliance repair. Maintaining a standard of accomplishment with management team that supports me in this fashion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joke!! Micromanaging,reactive,worst work place EVER!!!
Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: pay was ok...
Cons: worst benefits ever seen, micromanaging, reactive..no clue!!!
Don't do it to yourself,You can do better, this place is a joke, too much hands in the cookie jar, upper management has NO clue what they're doing but to send Stupid emails because the computer system they use is from 1975 & it doesn't update...this is America, get up to date or get left behind. The techs bring their own tools, they didn't provide training – more... for the techs, have no stocked parts but wants productivity. They're LIARS, procrastinators, incompetent, jokers. Worst upper management I've ever seen, keep it moving if you value your happiness, your integrity & your family life....YOU CAN DO BETTER!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun knowladgeable staff eager to help
Small Engine Technician (Former Employee), North Jackson OhioDecember 6, 2013
Steady fast paced environment
Clean organized work areas
Access to relevant trade information
In-depth diagnosis and troubleshooting
Fun and personable co-workers
Casual dress
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee), Dunn, NCNovember 23, 2013
Is an overall good place to work. It is fast paced & interesting. I have learned a lot about small engines. The management is great & encouraging. The hardest part of the job is learning the ins & outs of the different systems utilized by the company. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people you work with & the opportunity to travel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IF I WERE YOU I WOULD KEEP LOOKING
Mechanic (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 14, 2013
Pros: you have a job
Cons: this company is run by people that do not have a clue.
Its just not with it unless you can't find anything else. I was lied to about getting more money many times, but it just never happend
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company lies
Working monkey (Former Employee), USAOctober 26, 2013
Pros: enjoy some of my coworkers
Cons: let the review speak for its self
Are you looking for a company with long term goals, good pay and a great team ! THIS COMPANY IS NOT FOR YOU !!!! Based Upon my employment with Altaquip here are some known facts! This company is based on nothing but lies, upper management doesn't know whats going on they are clueless. communication is the poorest I've ever seen. There goal is to work – more... you like a dog with no incentives at all. The turn around rate is absolutely ridiculous, they say they strive to succeed, the only thing they strive for is themselves. They have no concern for there staff. Its politics ! upper management hires friends of friends to run the corporate facility and everyone else is below them, techs are forced to have a high UPH however when they have return units not repaired they get written up and or possible termination, there is no pleasing this company, they are being sued by numerous individuals due to there lack of professionalism and hostile work environments. Don't expect pay raises or bonuses. They say no layoffs your safe a couple days later your out of a job. The are cheap and expect you to work with limited tools, upper management is very rude and has no respect. You are expected to have no life other than Altaquip, they change management and corporate staff constantly and it only gets worse. Poorest company I have ever worked for by far. Very poorly run, to many chiefs not enough Indians to say the least, a bunch of corporate men/woman making a lot of money wasting time, a bunch of pencil pushers. treating there employees like monkeys, i am not a disgruntled employee read the reviews they speak for themselves at all different facilities. If you apply for this company good luck getting stressed and not to mention it will effect your personal life ( which you leave at the door the moment you agree to employment) sooo good luck to those brave enough to get sucked into a world of deceit, long hours and stress. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liars!!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), HammondOctober 9, 2013
I was lied to in the interview. I was told after so many days that I would have benefits including health insurance. This was one of the main reasons I applied! I was also told that my starting rate was $11.00 per hour. I never received actual pay stubs or I would have found out sooner that my ACTUAL pay rate was 10.50!!
I started in February and by – more... September, STILL NO BENEFITS.
This company is a joke and they only tell you what you want to hear. I remember in the interview, he was trying to sell me on the position, and I wasn't asked any questions about myself.
I wasted so much time for nothing.
DO NOT APPLY AT ALTAQUIP! You will regret it!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing they get anything done.....
Floorcare Technician (Former Employee), Sacramento, CaliforniaSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: very cheap, hazardous working conditions, lousy/no tools, bad management
Worked at the "new" facility here in Sacramento. (Formerly Sears) as a Floorcare tech. Of course what was told to me in my interview with the branch manager was basically fiction. I was lead to believe this was a professional organisation. It isn't.
The "quota" of 1.5 units per hour I really did not have a problem with, the problem was everything else. – more... We had 2 workstations for 15 techs, then when you could get to a computer, when you could actually log into their software. (they only have 77 licences for whole company, NATIONWIDE.) Then, in the rare event we actually had the part, then you had to go find it- in one of the most arcane and hopeless inventory systems I have ever seen. Now repeat this about 15 or so times a day, and hey, big surprise, your productivity sucks.

Now I actually "made quota" technically but was laid off anyway mostly because the Branch Manager kept hiring guys right up to the lay-off. So, in the end they're quota basically meant nothing. ehh, what-ev.

At least I got out with my sanity.
I'd give this company another 2 years before it implodes under the weight of it's own stupidity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good learning expeirence but not an enviornment I'll want to be in for a long time.
Seasonal Administrative Assistant Specialist (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: worked with my school schedule as well as gained expeirence
Cons: benefits, management
I learned a lot working at Altaquip. It was a different environment but I adjusted quickly. A typical day for me started at 6:30 a.m. and lasted until 5 p.m. (sometime later). I typed and invoiced estimates for customer and Lowe's equipment (push mowers, riders, pressure washers, weed eaters, compressors ect.). I contacted customers and Lowe's Service – more... Advantage throughout my day. There was heavy lifting throughout mu day as well. The management was different at Altaquip, not exactly the management I would prefer but they got the job done one way or another. My previous co-workers at Altaquip were all very friendly and helpful. The technicians helped me out a lot with teaching me some knowledge about the equipment as well as moving units from place to place. The hardest thing I felt was trying to solve customer service problems when the managers didn't have an answer. However, I enjoyed coming to work and working with the boys as well as the other admins. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and extremley high stress.
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: bad management, horrible hours and lay off procedures.
In addition to the high stress level due to uncertain job stability, regular work hours were 6am to around 7pm; working about 70 hours a week. First line management was very good, helpful, and productive. However, district management did not know what they were doing. They were all new and they were the main reason for the unreasonable work hours. I – more... enjoyed my co-worked, they were very easy and fun to work with. The most enjoyable part of my job was the problem solving position and the refinement of quality control procedures I was put into. However, once I fixed all of the problems, I was laid off. – less