Find companies:
Altar'd State
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Altar'd State Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't believe all you read!
Store Manager (Current Employee), TXAugust 28, 2014
Pros: paid volunteer hours to motivate employees to go do something positive in their communities!
Cons: the company truly makes you evaluate how strong of a business manager you are not everyone survives.
Since I've started with Altar'd State I have felt good about the choice I made to come on board with this Christian based clothing retailer. I have worked in retail for many years, for 3 major retailers & 2 smaller ones. I have to say the politics are less threatening with A.S. then any of my previous employers & I feel supported & empowered to make – more... decisions necessary to run a successful store. This is not what I'm used to! I've dealt with many different unpleasant scenarios in the past with "higher ups" but A.S. is a breath of fresh air.

For people who are afraid of hard work and don't believe in a 45 hour work week then this is not the job for you! Another retailer with shallow values, no beliefs in work-life balance, working 60-70 hrs./wk (which makes higher paying jobs actually less take home because of hours you're expected to put in) then I have a few companys' names if you'd like them!
The thing about retail is there are few companies who require the minimum work possible to get by. Customer service is tough & work isn't always fun but I love working for this company that inspires you to do better, pays a nice bonus, offers benefits, is growing when other are closing! And at the core of it all, harbors a safe environment to be able to talk about your beliefs & not be afraid that you'll be condemned for it. I'm truly blessed to be a part of this amazing company & it's values.
Finally-a place to be happy & get to make the customers happy too with the awesome selection of clothing & accessories not to mention the uplifting music & great discount. Oh yeah, they pay you to go out and volunteer with your community! No companies do that! You really have to have a selfless service mentality to work here or quite honestly, you might want to look elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company with incredible people to support you!!
Store Manager (Current Employee), Destin, FLAugust 28, 2014
Pros: your opinion matters, district managers help you up not hold you down, home office is always there to help you, quality of life at home and work, they offer great medical benifits too.
Cons: i honestly can not think of one con....
I am going to be very honest. I am probably not the best person to give a review of this company because I am absolutely in love with it!
I came here for the spiritual comfort and security of knowing that I can say, "Let's pray about this right now!" to a customer without the feeling I am being judged by my employer. I fell in love on day one! I was – more... visited by the owners on month two (and four) and I was promoted on month six! There is plenty of room to grow in a company that continues to grow itself and the growth does not stop with the store. This company has a ripple effect. Everything that we do here gives back to our local community, our country and others in need throughout the World! That is worth clocking in every day and more than I can say about anywhere else! You are not just a number here. You are needed and valued! You are supported and as a Store Manager, very pampered. They give you anything you need to run your store the way you would if it was your business!
I applied for a store manager position and waited a year before my opportunity opened up and God knowingly put me in a very soft place to learn and grow once I was hired! I was acknowledged for all the work that I put in. I have never met anyone in a position above me that did not greet me with a hug and supportive words!..That's just it. These wonderful people see great things in us and reward us for those things! For me, working hard, being passionate about what you do and loving your company are ALL in a days work! I am here for as long as they will have me.
If you have had a bad experience with Altar'd State, you did not see the same beautiful, courageous and kind leaders I have. I assure you, WE Stand Out. For Good...and always will! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to build & grow relationships with our teams, our guests, and our brand,
Brand Ambassador (Current Employee), Lake St Louis, MOAugust 28, 2014
Altar'd State is a rewarding and exciting place to come to work each day. The ability to make an impact in our communities through Mission Monday and also globally through our give back brands make our jobs so much more than "selling cute clothes". We do beautiful things inside and outside of the stores and provide a space for our teams to grow both – more... personally and with the company if that is the route they want to head in! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's unbalanced
warehouse worker (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNAugust 15, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: everything else
there's a bunch of favoritism and management problems no job security no room to advance in the company I show my hard work everyday and goes unrecognized
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't be fooled.
Management (Former Employee), N/aApril 10, 2014
Sure the stores are cute. The product is nice. Their message is catchy. But their leaders are fake. Their work ethic is laughable, and their words are hypocritical.
I was recruited to this company with many promises and enchanting stories of a possibility of endless growth for this tiny company. I quickly found out, they treat their people like soldiers – more... and their "giving back" is only to a select few. This company doesn't pay overtime, holiday pay, and even has "volunteers" work their floor sets and windows. People who aren't on their payroll....never thinking that "volunteer" could get hurt on the job. Their wrongfully terminate people; not following company conduct policies. They even recently went back on one of their biggest standards, one that wa a huge recruiting tool when hiring employees: being closed on Sundays. This is a company built on Christian values....now you are forcing your people to work on the one day they knew they had to spend in worship/be with their families?? It's all about the buck for Altar'd State. Shame on them. The owners need to take a hard look at how they treat their people before they run them all off. Go check out all the job postings for the existing stores positions on their website. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Grand opening Brand New District
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Calhoun St. CIncinnati OhMarch 26, 2014
Pros: exciting to be part of new store
Cons: no job security, or structured training
Merchandising from top to bottom of visual walls around the entire store was standard everyday procedure. I learned how to multitask and manage my time much better with deadlines and visual expectations of the brand. My co-workers were all very friendly and hardworking young women ready to learn everything they could about the company standard. The – more... most enjoyable part of my job was fleeting, I thought that I would be a long term part of something I was really proud of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment horrible pay
Manager (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 20, 2014
Altar'd State is a christian based company. Small chain which is growing very fast. Peaceful environment but they pay pennies!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and welcoming environment
Seasonal Retail Associate (Former Employee), Columbia, MOJanuary 17, 2014
My managers were all friendly and professional. From day one, it was stressed to show your own unique personality and express our "open door policy" by using a friendly and welcoming temperament with customers and other fellows coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hands on work environment. Great company
Store Manager (Current Employee), Columbia, MOOctober 17, 2013
Pros: able to be in constant contact with our home office, and managers were given a lot of responsibility and say in individual stores.
Cons: new company struggling with growing pains and limited organization
Very new company with a lot of really positive aspects. As the store manager, I wore many hats; throughout a typical day I would manage, I would perform stock duties, I would file, I would be a customer service representative, and a merchandiser. Because the company required such a hands on manager, I would find myself delegating a great deal to manage – more... time wisely. My staff was very passionate about the company and really seemed to enjoy being at work. My management team was also very hands on and very young and eager to learn. With the company being so new/young, there were a lot of growing pains and some disorganization within it's corporate structure. However, while there were some slight conflicts with the structure and organization, the company was very passionate and flexible with it's stores and managers. It's been a great learning experience, and a lot of fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fashionable retail store with cute decorations.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 1, 2013
Pros: closed on sundays, co-workers, and the location of the store.
Cons: short lunches, management, and high pricing on the clothing.
Altar'd State was a competitive retail store. I learned numerous things while working there, for example.. learning how to work computer systems better and typing in information, and becoming more interactive and conversational with other people. A typical day at work was relatively busy, but not consistent. The management could have been better, but – more... certainly not the worst. The co-workers were all very sweet, and easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job was probably having to get everything done and help numerous people of busy days or sales weekends. The most enjoyable part of the job would have to have been being around people who share the shame interests dealing with clothes and fashion – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed employees to be innovative and creative in merchandising
Key Holder (Current Employee), Murfreesboro TNMarch 12, 2013
Pros: good discount, got vendor benefits
Cons: no raises throughout company
I loved doing visuals, and finding new and innovative ways to influence shoppers. The company pushes their employees to learn on their own and to be creative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store manager
store manager (Current Employee), txMarch 10, 2013
Pros: employees, sundays off, atmosphere, the clothes, the foundation the company was built on
Cons: sometimes there is a lot of shipment, wish we had a bonus structure
I love my job! I have an amazing staff and have the pleasure of working for some awesome people. The requiter is an awesome gal and once you're hired she doesnt just stop talking to you, her door is always open and she is always in your corner. We have the freedom to create all of our visuals- such a relief not to be a cookie cutter store where they – more... all look the same. Each store is given a good amount of hours for shipment, training, and of course floor coverage. Fulltime managers on a typical week work around 45 hours some weeks are more than others especially if you have a floorset that week. You honestly get what you put in, and who minds working a bit more when you are surrounded in such a pretty store. I also love if you have a less than perfect visit as long as your errors are fixed all is forgiven and they never bring it back up. We also can tell people when we keep running out of a particular product and they do their best to replenish it to your store. If you ever feel overwhelmed with task to do all you have to do is call the VP and talk it over and he will work with you. The owners are such good people! They have hearts of gold- we had a manager meeting in January and they went above and beyond to make it an awesome experience and it truly was and we got to meet a lot of vendors including our give back brand vendors its truly inspiring to know how many lives this small company has impacted. It feels good to know that retail can make a difference in the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steer clear.
Brand Manager (Former Employee), (in-store)February 7, 2013
Pros: fun, caring in-store team
Cons: short breaks, lack of benefits, poor morale all around, under staffing, long hours, no support, open-ended promises
The only thing good about working here was meeting a lot of sweet sales associates that were nice to work with. The company needs to be hiring more corporate support(especially an HR dept) for its store growth and seriously working on its organizational structure. Managers are expected to work insane amounts of overtime on a measly salary. Employees – more... are not listened to-owner asks for feedback but if it's not what he wants to hear he does not want the honest opinion sharer to have a future with the company. Employees are also told to act a certain way to make the customer feel cared about, when in reality employees care for the most part on their own and would come off as much more genuinely caring if given the freedom to do whats natural for them, as not everyone is an extrovert. (and intoverts make great sales associates too if managed correctly) The home office buyers and interns seem desperate to recreate a free people office vibe, and their fashion/appearance absorbed attitudes clash with the supposed mission of the company. It does not appear that any analytically based merchandise planning takes place, which is probably one of the most important aspects of successful retailing. As far as the giving back goes, it's all marketing and no heart. Everything is about sales and gross margin...giving back is definitely lost in the shadow of profits.

Bottom line: I worked my bum off trying to do my best for this young company and make things better for my team, but I have never felt less supported in my life. The job consumed my life with the long hours, and I am SO happy to no longer be involved with Altar'd State. The corporate office needs to learn how to adequately support existing stores before they open more stores, and (in my opinion) the owner could stand to gain some humility, drop some pride, refocus on what's important in life, and let his much more logical business partner do more of the managing. What a show. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working here.
Lead Store Specialist (Former Employee), Rigdeland MsJanuary 23, 2013
The people over the store was not good people as they claim to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my co-workers
Sale associate (Former Employee), Ridgeland, MSJune 5, 2012
Meeting every customer with a smile.
I learned what it mean to have a drama free work place.
Management was excellet, poor owners.
My co-worker and my customer made me want to work everyday without a day off.
The hardest part was keeping up with the company change everyday.
The most enjoyable was the fashion.

About Altar'd State

Altar'd State is an energetic fashion boutique that offers a distinctive shopping experience for women interested in the latest – Read more