Altec Industries Employee Reviews in United States

Found 118 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medium-sized focus factory that is great to start at!
Co-op (Former Employee) –  Creedmoor, NCJuly 15, 2015
Altec Industries (Creedmoor) produces various equipment for the utility and forestry industries (namely, bucket trucks or aerial devices). Creedmoor is unique in that they input raw materials and trucks and output custom-made bucket-trucks. Alot of production in-house with multiple techniques used, great learning and experimenting location for entry level.

Currently in modernization. Some management makes it feel like its my way or the high-way, not much room for vertical advancement, but plenty of room for horizontal moves (across departments).
Pros
Good size, Hands-on work, Great Entry Level Location
Cons
Long hours, Penny-pinching, Limited Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you do not have a family to come home to.
Fiberglass Assembler (Former Employee) –  Elizabethtown, KYMay 19, 2016
A typical day was just like all the rest, we had a time crunch on how much we had to have done by the end of the work week. I have learned that some jobs require extensive amount of time spent towards multiple things at once. My co-workers were very kind and helpful. They took time in showing me the ropes and how everything operated. Management was just like the co-workers in the sense that they liked to see you succeed in your job. The hardest part of the job was not getting off many days and having to work long hours. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to play your music on certain nights during the work week.
Pros
N/A
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Put down the cash Mule
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNJuly 6, 2016
If you like working as a temp, being used as a cash mule, and then being tossed to the side of the road on a moments notice then Altec is the place for you! You'll enjoy daily mind games like being fished along that if you do good they will hire you. And if you manage to stick it out till they have to do or die, you will have the great honor of training your soon to be replacement (sucker) to continue on your legacy of getting bent over. Overall its a great place to get that throwback feel of what endentured servitude felt like back in the 1700s.
Pros
Having no days off... Oh wait thats not a pro.
Cons
I dont think i can fit it all in...
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but the management could be improved
Welder (Current Employee) –  Saint Joseph, MODecember 23, 2015
The job itself is great, great pay and once you have your job down it is pretty manageable. The supervisors and group leaders are about the laziest and most immature Ive worked for. Giving others slack off time during the night and promoting friends instead of the workers that actually deserve the job is common practice. Open door policy sounds great but does nothing to solve any problems because the next higher up will not listen to your issues with a supervisor if he is friends with said supervisor.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes26No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviorment with great benifits
Wiring Technician (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, NCMarch 18, 2016
I highly enjoyed working with such great people, and the benefits were fantastic. The amount of time spent there became harder to manage because of family health issues
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If your brought on through a temporary service be prepaired to stay temp for years
Production Associate (Current Employee) –  Creedmoor, NCApril 22, 2016
Good place to work but they won't hire there temps! Some guys been there for 2 years as temps I have personally been there 1 year as a temp it is rediculous. Upper management trying to keep there bonuses fat with saving money through temps but hey we have families too and need benefits and time earned off as well.
Pros
Production people are great
Cons
Use temps as money mules then dont hire
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright company to work for
worker (Former Employee) –  Creedmoor, NC 27522May 28, 2016
Work wise I love the place but when it comes time for them to hire a lead, they hire some pot head to tell me what to do. This kid is 23 years old and doesn't even have a valid drivers license due to his drinking and driving. I even seen him on the mobile patrol app, but yet he's able to give me orders. He also thinks he's going to be the next supervisor.
Pros
Pay is decent
Cons
They dont have a good hiring process for leads
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people, poor mangement
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Elizabethtown, KYFebruary 21, 2016
they don't care about employe's, your just a number to them. coworkers are good people and work is very interesting. management cuts corners on production to save on money.
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and a very good company to work for.
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Daleville, VAApril 12, 2016
A lot of hard work and heavy lifting. I had a excellent work partner and other co workers were always willing to lend a hand when needed. The best part of the job was the people because when work close to your co workers 8 to 12 hours a day you begin to feel like a family.
Pros
excellant benefits, safe clean work environment, the company celebrated goals that the workers accomplished
Cons
needed better job securtiy
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of overtime more worried about hours then employees
Welder/Line Associate (Former Employee) –  Elizabethtown, KYJanuary 21, 2016
Good money
Management need improving
Good learning experience on the job training and learning
great group of coworkers to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Assemblyman (Current Employee) –  Cecilia, KYDecember 16, 2015
This is the best place to work in etown. Great pay with excellent benefits. An all around fun place to be. The people are excited to work at Altec.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes8No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place if looking for a career.
Welder/Iron Worker/Robot operator (Former Employee) –  Creedmoor, NCJuly 4, 2016
This is the worst place to work ever you have to be freinds with management to step up and if you know more than them you are stupid and the company is race's they dont care about older people so when you work there and get old they go fire you they have robots in the company to take peoples jobs if you have your aws certification dont go because you wasted your time and money in school they hire people with out certification they dont care the management think they know it all and they tell lies i was a leadman and got fired because i know more than the supervisor and if they dont like you they will find a way to fire you i worked there for almost 10 years and all of a sudden i could not perform my job because i made mistakes the hr told me i should be glad that altec was even working with me so i could take care of my family the supervisor caught a assault charge at work with a worker and still there like i said they do what they want and if you call the corporate number on them they go fire you they let people say any thing to you because of the money you make so you can take it or keep working and i mean races things they should fire all of management and start over the only thing thats good is the money i was told you could not find anything that pays like them by the plant manager he was wrong i never put my trust in man only god.
Pros
pays good
Cons
not a career job for aws certified welder
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Osceola, IAJuly 14, 2016
Work is enjoyable and the people in the plant are also fun to work with. You will always have plenty to keep you busy if you work at one of these facilities.
Pros
Good compensation
Cons
No consistency between facilities
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot to learn within the company
Auto Electrical Assembler (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 18, 2015
I loved working for this company i like what i did but management was very nasty and unfeasible a lot of changing of rules that didn't make sense and not very caring of personal life rude comments that would be said weren't taken serious by management.
Pros
Holiday bonuses
Cons
management rudeness
Was this review helpful?Yes16No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you need a job then yes but if you want to gain knowledge then no
Machine set up, and operator (Former Employee) –  Creedmoor, NCMay 18, 2016
no advancement, no communication, good benifits, hr department is very lazy and unorganized. they try to train experienced people with non experienced people.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Corporate Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJune 3, 2016
Outstanding company, great leadership. The products are top of the line and a staple in their industry. It was always enjoyable going to work. Great place to work if you enjoy travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be fun at times
Die Changer (Current Employee) –  Jeffersonville, INJuly 20, 2016
Just a regular day at work. Co workers are ok to work with at times. Job can be crazy at times. Work is really hot in the summer.
Pros
Break room has vending machines
Cons
benefits not the best
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Enviroment
Designer (Former Employee) –  osceolaAugust 30, 2015
Management was poor and would yell at you or threaten you. If you left at the time you was suppose to be leaving you would chastised.
Pros
decent pay/good benifits
Cons
very poor enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes22No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful company to work with
Associate (Current Employee) –  Saint Joseph, MOMarch 30, 2016
Altec is a fantastic company to work for. It is a corporation that was a wonderful view of family. The employees are held in high standards and are dedicated to their work with thanks from the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job. Not a career.
Service technician (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 24, 2013
Great co workers. Great work/life balance. Decent benefits. Overall a strong company. Pay is sub par for the kind of work done by mosttechnicians. Many places start higher than Altec tops out for the same type or even less complicated work. There is ZERO opportunity for advancement, so if you want to move up, then Altec service is not for you. Office employees and management are not held to the same standard as shop employees. Break is short (12 minutes once a day other than 30 minutes for lunch, but you get off 12 minutes earlier instead of the 2nd break.) Management was absolutely pathetic. They do a lot of finger pointing at each other and technicians, rather than accepting responsibility for their mistakes. There is no real leadership at all in the service department. Managers/supervisors are hired and fired on a regular basis if that says anything about them.
Pros
work/life balance, co workers
Cons
pay, management
Was this review helpful?Yes19No7

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Altec Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 132 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.7
Culture
3.1