Find companies:
Alton Memorial Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Alton Memorial Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a
Lab Assistant II (Current Employee), Alton IllinoisFebruary 24, 2014
On a typical day, I organize and correct doctor's orders so that the correct orders are in and there are no duplicate orders. Documentation is very important because I am canceling and reordering for the doctors. During this time, I am also responsible for the blood draws on the floor and in the emergency department. Towards the end of the shift, I – more... wake up most of the patients in the hospital for their daily labs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with. Fast paced work, which I peersonally liked
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Alton, ILFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: great benefits and rewards
Cons: short breaks, around a lot of illness
I worked two different positions at Alton Memorial Hospital. First in Health Information where I was responsible for assembling all Emergency Room records with their respective test results (lab results, x-ray results etc.). Then, after assembling was completed, I filed away each day's Emergency Room patient's charts away by date of visit and also in – more... order by patient medical record number. Most of the entire office was also responsible for taking phone requests for records from us to be sent via fax to physician's offices so the physician could have that patient's test results. I used several different software programs that were exclusive to the hospital and BJC. I had to learn all of them proficiently to be able to perform my daily duties. I got along with all of my co-workers and usually tried to lend a hand to one of them if they were behind and my responsibilities had been fulfilled. I also worked under the manager of the Surgery department. This was my second position with the hospital. It was part-time. In that position, I learned to use the timekeeping software TMAT to perform payroll duties bi weekly for the surgical department. I also prepared presentations and various documents for the department manager. I had my own office so I didn't have to work as closely with others but I still got along great with all other co-workers in the department. The hardest part of both positions was the work load, as it was quite massive. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people. Not only the co-workers but the patients as well and knowing that you are doing some small part in the workings of getting them the care they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Ultrasonographer (Former Employee), Alton, ILJanuary 22, 2014
I loved the doc's and the team I worked with. I enjoyed my experience there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People and goal oriented workplace
Access Representative (Former Employee), Alton, ILJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: a friendly enviroment with potential to learn new skills
Cons: getting attached to the patients
For the most part the people in a hospital enviroment are generally focused on the same thing, patient care and making their hospital the best available for the public. This is one such place. I enjoyed my ineraction with the patients and the various hospital staff and departments. One of the problems I encountered while working at the hospital was – more... system shutdown. This frequently happened and often with no supervisors on staff, at these times we relied on our training and teamwork. Meeting so many different people from all walks of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IMU
RN Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Alton, ILJanuary 14, 2014
I work with an outstanding group of nurses and techs, who are very dedicated to provided excellent care!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Alton, ILDecember 27, 2013
While no place is perfect, this is a great place to work and get started in any field of medicine or support staffing position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Alton, ILNovember 14, 2013
I enjoyed working with my co-workers. Everyone seem to enjoy being there. I think it was a pretty easy going atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like what they have to say about this company.
I don't have a job (want one) (Former Employee), Alton Memorial in Alton IL.September 28, 2013
Pros: good people that work there
Cons: politics gets in the way.
I have always wanted to work for Alton Memorial Hospital of Alton because of the way they treat their people. All of them no matter why the are there. Everyone there are of high quality to do their jobs the way they do. You don't worry about the way you are going to be treated because you all ready know, the best care they are able to give which is – more... the best. You're in the hospital, your scared and alone yet they make you feel like your going to be alright and you are not going through it alone. Very good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, but serious in completing job task
Line server/ Caterer (Former Employee), Alton, ILMay 15, 2013
Pros: serving customers
Cons: getting behind because of catching up others peoples work
Personally a day depended on what ever job I did for that day. Sometimes I would come in as a dishwasher and I would come in have have to catch up the pile of dishes from the morning crew. Sometimes I served patient trays and would come in, talk to managers about how many people I had that day and then get to work. Most of the time I served food on – more... a line and I would come in and get a chance to greet co workers and then start working. The co workers most of the time were nice and friendly. Management were good and mostly communicated what they wanted done well every now in then things weren't clear. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Patient Care Tech (Current Employee), Alton, ILJanuary 27, 2013
Co-workers are excellent to work with, the most enjoyable part about the job is the reward of helping the patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surgical Services
Certified Surgical Technologist (Current Employee), Alton, ILJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: 401k
Cons: short breaks, on call
Busy with long hours, not much time for a family or social life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMH is a very good hospital
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Alton, ILSeptember 18, 2012
Pros: good work atmosphere
Cons: not enough staff at that time
I worked there 1996-1999 and it was a great place to work. I enjoyed my coworkers and the work itself; even if it did get a little crazy at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital
Medical Transcriptionist (Current Employee), Alton, ILJuly 31, 2012
It is an ok job but needs better management.
Coworkers are ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a student radiographer at Alton Memorial. Enjoyed my time there and the people.
STUDENT RADIOLOGICAL TECHNOLOGIST (Former Employee), Alton, ILMay 30, 2012
Pros: worked with great people.
Cons: was a student so didn't get paid.
A typical workday included taking patients histories, x-rays, fleuro, portables, working in the E.R. and operating C-arm in the O.R.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Patient Care Tech (Current Employee), Alton, ILApril 16, 2012
Pros: free lunches, and bonuses
I enjoy working at Alton Memorial hospital, it is a very caring place to work, competive salary, decent hours, and bonuses.