Alyeska Resort Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but very unorganized
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Girdwood, AKSeptember 17, 2017
I enjoyed interacting with the guests, but sometimes it was difficult. The good thing about working with the guests was that it strengthened my customer service skills. I also loved the people I worked with, they made work entertaining and enjoyable. The only issues I saw were difficulties in scheduling, and communication between the managers and employees. Overall a good experience.
Pros
wages, environment, learned a lot
Cons
scheduling, communication between departments/employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job environment
Food & Beverage Manager (Former Employee) –  Girdwood, AKAugust 17, 2017
Promotes from with in. endless opportunity to learn and grow. Fun place to work and live. Excellent people to work with and for. The management team is great, everyone works hard and helps on another. They truly try everything to make sure someone succeeds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and challenging workplaced
Culinary Extern (Current Employee) –  Goodwood,AKJuly 3, 2017
I learned new ways to prepare food and reuse that same food for many different applications. It was a positive work environment with many different people from around the world to get to know
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful company, throwing itself away
Master Esthetician (Current Employee) –  Girdwood, AKJune 7, 2017
The area of Alyeska I work in is secluded; away from the rest of the resort & other employees for the most part. There are a few areas in the spa like this.

While the resort is beautiful, the staff mostly friendly, I feel their employees are not as important to them as they should be.

Odd on call hours, lack of strict form, poor management in some departments.
Pros
beautiful grounds, decent discounts
Cons
poor management, no healthcare, employee housing is expensive and ill cared for
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was promised a lot of things that I didn't get which made working for them pretty hard
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Girdwood, AKMay 16, 2017
I think that the management could have been a little more with it as I was promised a raise for 7 months and was told that they didn't budget right for the restaurant I was running and I think that is not professional
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting atmosphere!
Security Officer/ EMT (Former Employee) –  Girdwood, AKApril 3, 2017
This position was fun and always challenging. The opportunities for advancement were always present and encouraged. Team I worked with was inviting and hard working. Management was challenging and it was a well known struggle which was eventually the end of my position. If the position had better management I would have never left the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Bellhop (Former Employee) –  Girdwood, akMarch 24, 2017
I was not impressed with management at all. I was appalled at times at the way the hotel treated their employees. I was able to do a lot of skiing in Alaska though and this brought me great joy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great life experience to live in Alaska and get to snowboard there
Coach (Former Employee) –  Girdwood, AKOctober 21, 2015
7 hours on hill teaching snowboard lessons. My coaching education was furthered on a weekly basing through training. management got the job done and kept the employees happy for the most part. some days were extremly cold and was rough on the body. the best part of the job was the snow and the scenery, i felt very privileged to be in such a beautiful part of the world teaching people to do what i love.
Pros
i got to ride in alaska
Cons
not enough sunshine
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my favorite jobs of all times
Grounds Crew (Former Employee) –  Girdwood, AKOctober 8, 2014
this job is very laid back. there was always plenty of work to do weather it was planting flowers or running skid steer work was always fun and everyone always got along with each other. the only job i didn't like was cutting down all the trees in front of the hotel to get a better view.
Pros
free lunches, free gym pass, free tram pass
Cons
mowing the lawn right next to hotel cause guests would get angry
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeping
House person (Former Employee) –  Girdwood, AKMay 21, 2014
went room to room, cleaned the same thing to its perfection,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots to learn, mostly good people to work with
Shop Mechanic/dishwasher/cook (Former Employee) –  Girdwood, AKApril 5, 2014
Worked all over the resort from dishwashing to vehicle maintenance. Management is poor and they offer limited benefits. Free season pass!!
Pros
Free season pass
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working for one of the top resorts in North America
Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  Girdwood, AKOctober 31, 2013
I had an amazing opportunity to work for Alyeska Resort as a banquet captain. It was the hardest, most rewarding job for a great company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work for young people
Snow making and banquet staff (Former Employee) –  Girdwood, AKNovember 26, 2012
I worked setting up banquets and made snow on the snow making crew. I would do any job to pay the rent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed it
Cook/Register (Former Employee) –  Girdwood, AKMay 10, 2012
For the time I was there it was enjoyable, but the hours were either too many or too little, no benefits, and I don't ski...
Pros
good pay
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alyeska Resort. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
4.5

Alyeska Resort Reviews by Location