Find companies:
Alzheimer's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Alzheimer's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atria's Life Guidance unit was a secure friendly "home" for people suffering from Aklzheimer's/Dementia
Dementia Floor Manager (Former Employee), Kew Gardens, NYApril 16, 2014
Pros: very pretty place to work
Cons: long unappreciated hours!!!
Although I felt that Atria's Life Guidance unit provided the residents who were suffering with Alzheimers/Dementia a safe home to reside in, Atria's management had the me fighting for the needs of the residents constantly. I had the responsibility of making sure all of their needs were met. The staff treated the residents like family, and took really – more... great care of the residents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
MSW Intern (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 13, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: n/a
This place has so much to offer. The people are great to work with and you get to make a difference every day you come into work. I always feel needed when I come. The staff is small but they are passionate about improving the lives of people with Alzheimer's disease and their caregivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
private work
Senior Home Care (Former Employee), Lexington, MADecember 18, 2013
Taking care of a man with advanced stages of Alzheimer's. All personal care including bathing, shaving, administering vitamin B shots.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 hours of taking care of my mother
Caregiver (Former Employee), columbus ohio 43204October 10, 2013
I was home taking care of my mother, she has now passed. my job consisted of 24 hour care for her.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great goals.
DCR (Former Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 3, 2013
Sunrise Senior Living has a great background but with the tank in the economy, most families could not afford that cost any longer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to start and end your career
Outreach and Advocacy Coordinator (Current Employee), Irvine, CAMay 3, 2013
Pros: great treatment, wonderful people, lots of responsibilities
Cons: advancement and compensation
Every day you get to come into a great environment, where everything you do matters to the people you serve, and you're trusted by management who cares. With that being said, it is a small organization, with not a lot of upward mobility once you get to a certain level. Experience is great, with many responsibilities, compensation is what you'd expect – more... from a non-profit. Wonderful way to start a career and get experience. Great way to prepare for retirement in the twilight of your career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, but no real chance for advancement
CFO/FINANCE DIRECTOR (Current Employee), Southfield, MIApril 25, 2013
Pros: flexible work schedule, good co-workers
Cons: no room to grow, no salary increases for several years, most economic benefits taken away
I have had a good experience working here over the past several years, otherwise I would not be here. I am looking for a change and something different at this point in my life. I am a very competent accounting and financial person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a nice place to work
Caregiver (Current Employee), Bowdon, GAApril 17, 2013
Pros: short breaks
Cons: not giving raises, we have to pay for our own food. they do not offer insurance
I realy enjoy working with the demintia/Alzheimer's patients and al the residents in the Assisted Living Home. I have learned great deal while working at ML, all of the co-workers seem to get along well but the management could use some improvement. There are several things that I dont agree with. I think the residents needs should come before anything. – more... They have a big turnover because they do not stand upon there word with giving raises and different things. The hardest part of the job is not having enough staff to help cover all that needs to be done, I truly enjoy working and spending a specific time with each resident to take care of each ones needs instead of just letting a few slide through the cracks. Each one should be taken care of the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
RN (Current Employee), DelawareApril 12, 2013
none. I currently work here and enjoy it. 28 bed Alzheimer's unit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked from home
Jack of all trades (Former Employee), Franklinton, NCApril 1, 2013
Pros: the bookkeeper and computer jobs were fun
Cons: the caregiver part was the most challenging
I was a caregiver for my mother-in-law (Alzheimer's)
Also did bookkeeping for Brown Law Office
Also did some free lance computer work for A-1 Waste Removal Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but Creative Campaign to work on.
Campaign Coordinator (Former Employee), west long branch N.J.February 11, 2013
Pros: meeting new people, and educating students on campus
Cons: raising money in a struggling economy
I was the first student to establish and maintain a connection between the Alz. Association;Greater New Jersey Chapter and the Monmouth University campus. I wanted to educate students about the disease, and help raise awareness about the importance of raising money to help find a cure for Alzheimer's. I also created and leaded a team to participate, – more... on behalf of MU, in the Walk to End Alz in Point Pleasant, N.J. I learned creative new strategies to educate students about the disease, and used my creativity and determination to raise money in hard economic times. The hardest part of the campaign was continuing to find new ways to raise money for the team, but i enjoyed the challenge. The most enjoyable part of the campaign was the day of the charity walk. I loved meeting the other participants, and hearing their stories and their experiences with ALZ. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, satisfactory
Dementia Program Manager/Coordinator (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: great staff; health benefits
Cons: little time off
I typically am busy the majority of the day. It can be stressful and very demanding but very rewarding. I learned how to effectively manage others in this position and enjoyed being around my coworkers. The hardest part of the job is the emotional-baggage that comes with losing a resident. The most enjoyable part is knowing that you are making a difference – more... in someone's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work and organized 5K runs and fundraisers
Volunteer (Former Employee), Kansas City, MODecember 19, 2012
Pros: job satisfaction
Cons: helplessness that i couldn't do more.
I was able to use my empathy to help and really care about what I believed in. Loved working with the families and individuals suffering from CP. Brought a closeness to what I was doing. Hardest part was seeing people suffer. Most enjoyable was doing something to help them and their families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caretaker for my Grandmother
her assistant caretaker (Current Employee), Modesto, CASeptember 6, 2012
I think this is a very challenging job that I do with my mom and it is fulfilling and challenging. My day with her starts with getting her up and changing her and helping her in the restroom. I take full care of her and she relies on my mom and me for everything. It's hard to see her getting sick and losing her grip on reality but it's peaceful that – more... she at least has her family and is well taken care of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opprotunity to grow, getting to know and love the seniors
(Alzheimer's) Coordinator (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYJune 28, 2012
Pros: opprotunity to grow
Cons: not a good support system
na
opprotunity to grow, getting to know and love the seniors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees to work with and very well organized
grey matter in the brian (Former Employee), the mind???April 16, 2012
Pros: great company and individuals
Cons: separating the client from work and personal
I have learned from other companies what not to do...I like your direct responses and the team work with the managemnet the hardest part of the day is when nomatter what you do isa just help the client the best you can and be there for the them the best youy can. the clients are a reward to help others brings me joy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Care giver for 88 year old Alzheimers patient
Caregiver (Current Employee), North Haledon NJApril 5, 2012
Pros: rewarding
Cons: must have patience
Home care for 88 year old. Duties make sure patient takes her medication, eats her meals, knows day and time, errands
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clients family is very nice and supportive.
Health Care Aide (Current Employee), BCMarch 19, 2014
The most enjoyable part is when my client is stable, safe, calm and comfortable.

The most difficult part is performing his personal care but we manage.