Amazon.com Employee Reviews in United States

Found 6,160 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Senior Leadership, weaker mid level manangement
Corporate Recruiter & Sourcing Researcher (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJMay 4, 2016
Says it all in the title. Very good higher ups but some weakness in mid level management which makes advancement and navigating the company difficult. Have to be extremely self starting and able to deal with a lot of ambiguity, chart your own path.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job.
Temporary Staff Associate (Former Employee) –  Humble, TXMay 4, 2016
Get ready to lift and carry heavy boxes! Most of the time you flex up and have to stay longer hours. People are mean they make fun of you. A lot of jealous managers; if you tend to work better than them then they will give you a hard time. Then they will use the workers to against you. They lie about the blue badges stating if you work after 90 days you will get a blue badge.
Pros
you get paid
Cons
rude employees and bosses
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Electromechanical Assembler (Former Employee) –  North Reading, MAMay 3, 2016
it was a well organized company with with alot of opportunity. a really fast pace job. working side by side with co-workers, helping each other. learned alot about the product we builded. it was a great experienced.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Experience
Seller Support Associate (Current Employee) –  Grand Forks, NDMay 3, 2016
Amazon offers excellent benefits. I am however more interested in further developing a career in Higher Education.
It is a great place to begin a career right out of high school.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drones
Picker (Outbound) (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNMay 3, 2016
Amazon is a wonderful company to work for benefits-wise, but the shifts can be extremely overwhelming at time. There is little room for personal growth and eventually you begin to feel like a drone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad at same time
Fulfillment Associate - DFW6 (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXMay 3, 2016
i work here and 10 hours looks hard to do but is easy when u get 2 breaks and 1 lunch time but the bad thing about amazon is the leaderships are always in their office, they don't care that much about their employees, if u do a good job where you at u have to know that they will keep u in the same position unless u apply for another position and to apply for another position u have to wait 90 days working there to have that benefit. 10 hours of job is hard sometimes because every time i go to sleep, when i wake up, i just have like 2 hours gap to do whatever i want and then go to the work again.
Pros
non yet
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy environment.
ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNMay 3, 2016
Usually, stayed busy with sometimes not enough work, however, it was a great place for promotion. People were pretty much friendly for the most part, but management did whatever they wanted to most of the time.
Pros
Provided with lunches during peak season, raises were presented.
Cons
Short breaks, healthcare benefits were only provided for certain doctors.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was steady
Assembly Line Packer (Former Employee) –  Chester, VAMay 3, 2016
The employer gives an assignment daily. Each day you have to check to see where your work area will be. This is a stand up job, therefore management required pre-stretching daily in a group along with a safety meeting reminder. I believe this job added to my production skills. For me the hardest part of the job was the location. The most enjoyable was the ability to obtain additional work hours.
Pros
OT available
Cons
Location too far
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Packer/Integrity Coach (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 2, 2016
Amazon is a great job. I love the ability to be able to work extra hours and the opportunity the allow for you to advance. I would recommend Amazon to anyone looking for a good job with great room to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun, but long hours.
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAMay 2, 2016
It was fun but long hours with little break was too over whelming. Lunch is only 30 minutes but if you are in the back of the warehouse it takes more than 5 to 10 minutes to lunch area.
Pros
Fun and productive
Cons
Long hours for little breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about Amazon.com?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible comapny with great benefits.
Fulfillment Associate (Former Employee) –  Dundalk, MDMay 2, 2016
Management hardly ever communicates with employers before making major decisions involving the employers. They expect the employers to go from one job function to the next with little to no training and master it.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Very poor communication skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Fulfillment Associate (Current Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNMay 2, 2016
Amazon is a fast pace environment and extremely productive. Great benefits,learn new skills, definitely must be a team player
Pros
Benefits
Cons
10 hr work days
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly changing environment with many opportunities
Binmeister (Current Employee) –  Lebanon, TNMay 1, 2016
For being such a large company, implements changes faster than most places I have been to take advantage of emerging business opportunities or meet customer needs and wants. For those that are able to adapt to the culture there is plenty of places to enrich your career.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Dedicated workplace
Process Expert (Former Employee) –  HyderaabdMay 1, 2016
Always been a dream to work with the Aeronautical company. Was fortunate to get an opportunity and work with the company. It is a government organization. I had a goodtime working with huge machinery used in airplanes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilment associate
Fullfillment Associate (Former Employee) –  Lewisberry, PAMay 1, 2016
The job isn't that bad, it's the management that
Make this entire experience horrible! They are so disorganized and unprofessional. The do not train you like they are suppose to or explain the job details.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive
Fulfillment Associate (Former Employee) –  Robbinsville, NJMay 1, 2016
a typical day at work is non stop I learned how to strive in a competitive work environment management are always to busy with productivity to work with the associates people are pretty nice but the fact they can move you around at any day keeps you from focusing on one set goal sometimes it can prevent you from making your rate honestly the most enjoyable part is going home
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment, with good benefits.
Inbound Associate / Away (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 1, 2016
My position is very repetitive, but I enjoy my co-workers. I learned that team work at this facility is extremely important in order for all of us to hit our rate times. In my opinion my job is not difficult.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazon is a great working place.
Customer Returns Processor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 1, 2016
They provide their associates dignity. The co-workers are helping one another. The management is good they care about their employees and always provide safety while at work on the floor.
Pros
They also provide free lunches as a treat for our hard work.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazon
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Lebanon, TNMay 1, 2016
The job was really easy and stress free. The hardest part of the job was standing/walking on concrete floors for 10hrs a day.
Pros
benefits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense workplace good for career-building
Senior Editor (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 1, 2016
An Amazonian's experience varies greatly depending on the business--and there are many, many businesses within Amazon. It also varies greatly depending on the manager; while at Amazon, I've had the best manager in my 20-year career, as well as the worst manager.

Amazon is a great workplace if you're looking for a career-building opportunity to work with incredibly bright people and to refine your ability to make data-driven decisions in a (almost prohibitively) lean environment.
Pros
Great medical benefits, stock incentives
Cons
Difficult to promote, runs too lean, management hit/miss
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 8,023 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture