Find companies:
Amazon.com
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,104 reviews

Amazon.com Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
heavy machinery operator (Former Employee), Cayce, SCJuly 30, 2014
A lot walking.. great exercise.. but their quick to lay u off when they don't need you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 10s
Packer, Picker, and Dock Receiver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 30, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: non
good days off but hard to get a permanent position. security at door everymorning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
packer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 29, 2014
Pros: water available everywhere as the warehouse is hot temp inside, the supervisors were always ready to help and available.
Cons: since it is a big warehouse, by the time you got to the breakroom, a few minutes passed for your break.
By far one of my best places to have worked. The supervisors are great communicators and helpful. Very professional too. Although it was a very hot, fast paced environment, the atmosphere was stress free. I learned computer skills, shipping skills and the importance of stretching before work. The hardest part of the job was the conveyor belts in the – more... multi packing as if you are the only one rampacking and three or four are packing, it can get pretty backed up but the supervisors were always "on the job" to see you got help. The most enjoyable part was the stress free atmosphere as everyone I worked with seemed to be happy at their jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee), Lewisberry, PAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: good breaks.
Cons: doesnt hire alot of people on.
walking alot,its all easy work.
co-workers are easy to get along with as well as the managers.
learned some stuff about shipping .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, but long/hard days
Packer (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNJuly 29, 2014
Pros: decent pay, overtime, working 3 days a week
Cons: long days, short breaks, short lunch, incredibly physically demanding, high expected rate
The job itself payed well, and the staff and management was nice. The only problem, and the reason I left, was the fact that it was incredibly physically demanding, in that I had to move constantly for about 10 hours a day with few short breaks and a 30 minute lunch.

The expected rate for packing was ridiculous. I was expected to pack, depending on – more... the size and amount of items in a box, 70 - 150 items per hour. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at home and be your own boss.
Freelancer (Current Employee), Work at HomeJuly 29, 2014
Wake up when you want, In my case 9 am. Start up the computer, load up multiple pages and split between monitors and wait for work to come in. Following forums and scripts for work most of the day. No guarantee of any hourly or salary pay. This job is what you make it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well earned dollar
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Lewisberry, PAJuly 28, 2014
It is a tough job however it is well worth it when you get overtime and guarantee not to lose your job. Good atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), College Park, GAJuly 27, 2014
I am a warehouse working with amazon I so love this job the people the workers etc...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace, Bright People
Senior Manager - Global Inventory Placement (Current Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 27, 2014
Great place to work for a few years, but depending on the group you're in, you could burn out quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company with fast placement
Picker (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 26, 2014
Loved working for this company but the shifts were long which the body has to adjust to but the management is really nice and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Why Working at Amazon is not Advised
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNJuly 24, 2014
Pros: flexible time off
Cons: short breaks, long hours, too much emphasis on rate alone as the only effective measure of productivity, no opportunity for advancement, no chance to transfer, few opportunities for cross-training, burn-out
Many tasks are monotonous and too repetitive, which quickly leads to disinterest and burn-out, There is no opportunity for advancement and training in desired areas. Having to repeatedly ask management for fair opportunity to cross-train in requested departments is frustrating. Many ambassadors and some members of management are rude and act as if any – more... question you ask them is a dumb question. I've seen some management members humiliate employees in front of everyone else in the department at stand-up if they make the smallest error instead of coming to that person directly to
bring correction.Moving people to departments (that are considered the hardest in which to make rate due to impossible conditions and standards) that they did not apply for and telling them they must transfer or risk losing their jobs is a deceptive and back-handed ploy which only has the bottom line in mind instead of the success of those employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad job
inbound associate (Former Employee), Cayce, SCJuly 24, 2014
Pros: laid back
Cons: long shifts lot of walking
management is very slack but its a very easy but physically demanding job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehousing
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Lewisberry, PAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: monthly bonuses
Cons: a culture of fear, many hours of ot, inflexibility
Amazon.com is typical of any warehouse work environment. It requires medial work with long hours and lots of overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace environment with long hours
amazon (Former Employee), phoenix, azJuly 23, 2014
on a regular day we get a certain amont of items we have to shipout through out the day. our goal is to succeed and failure is neber the option. Ten hours four days a week is mandatory, with over time sometimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for advancement and opportunity to work from home.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Charleston, WVJuly 23, 2014
Pros: work at home
I really appreciate the opportunity to be on the ground floor of the VCC-Work From Home division with Amazon.com. I got a chance to challenge myself and prove that I can work in a position with little supervision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay. Not the best but also not the worst.
Packaging/Machine Operator (Former Employee), Murfreesboro, TNJuly 23, 2014
Pros: nothing really.
Cons: i started on a sunday through wednesday. you can see how they weird that is.
a typical day at work would be very quiet. Even when you where the most expensive and comfortable shoes. Your feet will kill you from standing or walking all day. Seen to many people quit due to that. Management was demanding. Very demanding. Hardest part about the job is standing up straight in one spot. I didn't really enjoy it to be honest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work enviorment
Singles (Former Employee), Coffeyville, KSJuly 23, 2014
a typical day at work was standing in a little cubical type spot and putting 1 item in a box tapiong it up and sending it on to shipping
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice laid back environment, if you can handle talking to customers all day.
Kindle Customer Service (Current Employee), Kennewick, WAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: fun atmosphere
Cons: customers can sometimes be taxing depending on your personality
Amazon customers are generally happy, so as far as working at a call center goes, this is probably one of the better options available.

Amazon often has new things up their sleeve, so things are often interesting.

Managers are generally good to very good. Co-works have been friendly, helpful and encouraging.

Benefits are sub-par by my standards, – more... but do include low cost health care, small amount of stock that vests after a couple years and other benefits.

Pretty generous with Time Off and when/how you use it. You can call in sick after your shift starts, for example. But if you run out of Time Off, they do not like it one bit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Lead Contactor/ Catalog Specialist II (Current Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 22, 2014
Learned a lot. Was able to help with a couple major projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay was the best thing about the working at Amazon.com
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Lexington, KYJuly 22, 2014
Pros: ability to work unsupervised and the pay
Cons: office politics from the last manager
The clinic could see between 4 and 35 patients a day for work related and non work related illness and injuries. I had 8 different managers in the 5 years I worked there. The last manager became a micro-manager and this was the hardest part of my job. I established and kept the department organized and was given no recognition for the hard work put – more... into the department. I would say the most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the associates and assisting them to get better. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Amazon.com

Amazon.com is an American international multibillion dollar electronic commerce company with headquarters in Seattle, Washington, – Read more