Find companies:
Amazon.com
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,136 reviews

Amazon.com Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Professional workplace
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMarch 30, 2015
Pros: work is always available
Cons: short breaks
Working at Amazon is about consistency,there is always work that needs to be done. There are an variety of departments throughout the building where you can learn and advance to do new things. Great thing about work is that there are a lot of amazing people to work with along side to make the company meet high standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work atmosphere
Reverse Logistics (Former Employee), Goodyear, AZMarch 30, 2015
Pros: foos ball table. Compatible co-workers
Cons: It's a corpororate mill factory. False phasad of how the public percieves them
It gets real busy during the holidays. Borderline chaotic. They hire hundreds of temps. So its very crowded. During break there is a foosball table. That's fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the facility was brand new but almost nuthing worked.
Amazon Associate (Former Employee), Moreno Valley, CAMarch 30, 2015
the sorter would get jamed almost as soon as the day began.
the staff was all over the place and kept most of the assccoiates in the blind where we were leading each other with out much direction are sleves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits package
Trainer and Process Guide for Pack line (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNMarch 30, 2015
Pros: Special events, and fun activities are regular
Cons: In such a vast building walking time for breaks only left 7min tops
A typical day is only for the strong willed. Very fast paced, and you need to be in the best health to carry out workload. Management is everywhere in a very large facility so speaking one on one with management is trying when you first begin. After being there awhile you can predict where they will be. Coworkers are very diverse. The best part of working for Amazon was both the pay and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 star rating overall.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 30, 2015
Pros: Great working conditions
Cons: Sometimes over worked
Good atmosphere and great working conditions. Good 40 hour work week and only working 4 days a week. Good people to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management of this company treats people like kids reguardless of skillset
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Plainfield, INMarch 29, 2015
Pros: kept busy
Cons: did not the like the way management treated employees
Work was not difficult
Was trained to run several types of forklifts
The hardest part of the job was the twelve hour shifts
Enjoyed operating forklift equipment very much
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back and awesome
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Winchester, KYMarch 29, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Work is awesome management is awesome create a new schedule every 2 weeks if you want and had the option of working from home taking phone calls from home helping customers with kindle problems and general retail problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
Stocker/Inventory (Former Employee), Cayce, SCMarch 29, 2015
My typical day at work was stretching before going onto the floor to do my work. I learned how to stock alot of products and items. The management was fairly nice. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with the requirements they kept changing. The most enjoyable part of this job was the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a long term career , good seasonal work for some people.
Production Associate (Former Employee), West Columbia, SCMarch 29, 2015
Pros: Full time employement
Cons: Short breaks. Crowded work areas, arrogant managers.
I started in November 2014 as production worker. The work was very simple but very demanding at times. I was cross trained to Pack/Pick/Icqa/sort in short amount of time. It was disturbing to see managers doing absolutly nothing but getting on employees nerves. I feel they need to find better management . The work seemed ok at first, then it seemed pety and robotic.The money was not sufficient for the sore/blisters on my feet . I was terminated on the fact i had to rush to the doctor due to a spike in blood pressure. They have strict attendance policies .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay
C2 Customer Associate (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 28, 2015
Pros: no comment
Cons: no comment
Low pay and high expectations from management. I enjoyed the culture of the employees. Employees were friendly. The manager that hired me was promoted to a different position before my start date. The new manager had different exceptions than the hiring manager I interviewed with. The new manger implemented a pilot training program that was different from what I expected. The Company is over rated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot to do
Regional Finance Manager (Current Employee), Erlanger, KYMarch 28, 2015
Pros: RSU's
Cons: Work Life
Amazon is a great company - the growth is amazing. In my role, there is a lot of travel. I interview 200+ people per year! The management is very busy - assignments are ambiguous and you just have to figure it out and carve out your niche.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Inventory Problem Solver (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNMarch 28, 2015
Pros: Great benefits
Cons: Long hours, long standing on your feet, low morale, high turnover
Amazon is an okay place to work if you are between jobs; however it isn't a job to make a career from. It is too much micro managing. If they managers let leave you alone to do your work, then it may be ok. No morale in the facility. It will sometimes interfere with your family life because of the long hours of overtime. The benefits are great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay and great enviornment
picker (Former Employee), DuPont, WAMarch 28, 2015
Pros: bonus
Cons: not that long of lunch break
long shift
What i have learned from working at Amazon is that it's a fast paced job and there's always help from managers when I have questions on anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abilty to get crossed trained in all departments
Picker/Packer/Shipper (Current Employee), San Bernardino, CAMarch 27, 2015
Amazon is a great place for versatility, you have the chance to get trained in every department from pack, pick, shipping, I learned lots of things from packing to driving a forklift, I love my coworkers they are great and hard working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
waerhouse associate (Current Employee), Chester VAMarch 27, 2015
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: short breaks high turnover rate
I have enjoyed working at Amazon the past few years it has been a great work experience knowing how much of an important part of the business i have become
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with great management
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNMarch 27, 2015
This is a very active job where you will be moving nonstop all day excluding breaks. Great place with friendly people. Managers are always willing and there to help. Jobs are easy to do here, just very active.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABE 3 - Spanish Nightmare
Pick (Former Employee), BreinigsvilleMarch 26, 2015
Pros: Benefits
Cons: Spanish
Spanish forced down your throat ALL day. A little taxing for those of us who speak English. . Horrible place to work. Place is a joke and amateur compared to other bigger amazon warehouses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee satisfaction.
Virtual Customer Care (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 26, 2015
Great place to work, and great company to work for. This company really cares for their customer. Number one customer service satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees poor management
Pick (Former Employee), Tracy, CaMarch 26, 2015
A typical day was 10 hours of handling product in some form or another. Great coworkers poor management. A lot of moving around and lifting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No backlash for terrible managers
Software Development Engineer (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 26, 2015
Pros: Corporate culture is good, smarter people than the typical company
Cons: Direct managers are often incompetent but still trusted implicitly
Amazon has a fantastic set of core values that they adhere to better than most companies. Their consumer obsession has meant that they are growing at a geometric rate and that's really the problem. The front-line management is almost entirely made of developers who have no idea how to use basic management tools (Gantt charts, burndowns, etc...) and still fundamentally believe they are devs. That means when influences come from outside, the front-line management is unwilling to listen to them and blames any change in the team culture for their own failures. There seem to be no repercussion for this as there is a tacit assumption that understanding the corporate culture makes a person inherently right.

The successful projects are lead by the veteran managers (5+ years as managers) and senior engineers, the failures are led by the recent converts (<2 years as managers). The biggest lesson is that Amazon isn't somehow special, the same politics and petty infighting still happens. Your happiness will be determined by the project you are on and the direct manager you work for; no one and nothing will prevent the same kind of drudgery at any other company.

1 2 3 4 5

About Amazon.com

Amazon strives to be Earth's most customer-centric company where people can find and discover virtually anything they want to – Read more

Amazon.com Salaries

Warehouse Worker
$12.00 per hour
Order Picker
$11.50 per hour
Packer
$11.50 per hour
Warehouse Worker
$25,000 per year
Picker/Packer
$11.75 per hour