AMD Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Work
On-Line Trainer - Photo, Etch, Inspection (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 24, 2017
Working at AMD was my first exposure in the semiconductor industry. I enjoyed every minute working with cutting edge technology in a class room facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company I would recommend my friends to work for.
Member of Technical Staff (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAJuly 21, 2017
I worked in QCD (Quality Control Department). I supported and maintained a data analysis for R&D and production engineers. I helped engineers resolve data analysis problems.
Pros
flexible working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work environment collaboration
Debug Engineer (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 18, 2017
Still learning and expanding my knowledge of AMD internal architecture and getting lots of willing folks to help. New folks are treated as strangers or "new people".
Pros
Great collaboration and team spirit
Cons
If you don't like the startup environment, this is not for you! I love it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Lead Expediter (Former Employee) –  Austin, TX 78744July 13, 2017
At AMD I had so many Mentors and great people that I work with for 24 years. I love every moment and everything I learn about the Micro Chip industry. It was a very challenging work experience and will always be grateful for having the opportunity to work for AMD. I owe a lot of my learning to all the people i work with at AMD.
Pros
Awesome place to work
Cons
Being laid of due to work for Reduction
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Sr. Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAJuly 7, 2017
Relaxed environment
I learned multiple computer skills
Management was fair
Best part of the job were the people
Most difficult part of the job was preparing annual reviews
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short Time
Knowledge Strategist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 5, 2017
For the short time I was there I got to be with some great people and was able to utilize some of my undergraduate degree knowledge in the position that I held before the drastic cuts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong teamwork culture
Senior HR Business Partner (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAJuly 3, 2017
Hi-tech organization with strong teamwork culture. Fast paced environment requiring agility. Graphics and immersive computing products company. Locations world-wide.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company on a rise
Director of Product Management (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAJuly 3, 2017
After 10+ years of spiraling down and near death, AMD has come back roaring. it has broadsided its main rival and is poised to take sizable market share. Next few years will be great for the company. Civil culture. Competent management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 23, 2017
Good growth, good raises. Management was meh. Previous CEO listened to Board of Directors and company would have folded if it continued with that CEO. New CEO is better, they back to doing what they do best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but upward mobility is limited
Staff Product Owner, CPU performance optimization (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 20, 2017
Great place to work, but upward mobility is limited. Relaxed work culture and benefits are great. Great place to retire if you looking for a place with work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Semiconductor
Sr. Material Planner (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 29, 2017
High pay, mostly good management, great benefits but it's a semiconductor company so there are always layoffs, spin-offs, and mergers waiting around the corner.
Pros
Lots of $$$
Cons
layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in the workplace
Team Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 24, 2017
Worked as a technician for a semiconductor workplace. worked with machinery electronics. computer basics with following orders.
enjoyed being a team player and a leader.
Pros
health plan and retirement plan
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environment
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 15, 2017
I've been employed by AMD for over three years and have seen great change with our new CEO. I love the environment, the extras offered by The Summit and AMD, and the team I work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging laboratory environment
Associate Engineer, Analytical Production lab (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 8, 2017
Highlight was the first time AMD achieved faster clock speeds with its processors than Intel chips.
Process lab was extremely well equipped with numerous makes of scanning electron microscopes.
Pros
Very fast paced manufacturing
Cons
Numerous departments many times did not communicate well
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Wafer Fab Operator (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAApril 30, 2017
Always on time everyday you learned a new system. The cleaning of the mask inspecting. Did the alignment of the wafer did developer cd measurement and developed inspection
Pros
Be on time
Cons
Be healhty
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really positive work environment
Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 26, 2017
This was my first job out of college and I was able to learn a ton about being a professional. I'm still able to take what I was able to learn at AMD and apply it to my current role at an entirely different organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Virtualization Architect (Former Employee) –  Boxborough, MAApril 24, 2017
Pros:
     ● The schedule is generally flexible and you are treated like a
        professional; left alone to get your work done.

Cons:
     ● There are so many meetings! Also things always are changing
        so it can be chaotic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, fast-paced work environment with fun co-workers who valued team work.
ANALYTICAL ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 7, 2017
The hardest part of the job was often the most enjoyable - the "hot", or high priority requests that came from the FAB when lines were on hold or down. These jobs required fast turn around time in order to get the product moving again. Finding and identifying the defect, or processing error, for the FAB engineers was very satisfying.

Cross training team members on new tools and techniques was a close second as far as the most enjoyable part of the job.

The least enjoyable part of the job was repairing tools that were down for routine maintenance or malfunction.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
24/7 facility. Could be called in at any time if a tool was down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communication!
Verification Engineer (Former Employee) –  United StatesMarch 27, 2017
Total breakdown of communication. Lot of work, which is quite okay but type of work changes on hourly basis. Employer wants employee stay away from family for extended time.
Pros
have a job
Cons
staying away
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Experience
Sr. Manager, OEM and Channel Partner Marketing, (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 8, 2017
Great Technology... old school culture. Great work-life balance, great office location in south Austin.. long uphill battle to regain industry leadership.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AMD. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 324 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6