Find companies:
AMD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
159 reviews

AMD Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company in need of reinventing itself.
Program Manager (Former Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: competitive salary, opportunity to learn
Cons: poor work life balance, very little job security
The semiconductor industry in the US is dying. The employees that are left are doing the work of 3 or 4 people to help control labor costs, so work life balance is poor. Salary is not competitive compared to other major semiconductor companies, but is well above most other technology companies in the area. There is almost always a layoff in Q4 each – more... year. You will learn a great deal about technology and work in the forefront of high-tech. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn, good people
Director, Marketing (Current Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: salary, benefits, culture
Cons: long term growth, reputation as a winning company
Good place to learn and gain a broad range of job experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CADecember 16, 2013
Pros: working hard
Cons: moved production to off shore.
To manage, direct, and coordinate all aspects of manufacturing including interfacing with engineering, quality, customers, vendors, and subcontractors to meet the objectives of our customers and the company. The most enjoyable part of the job was when I did my job and meet the goals of the department and the hardest part of the job was when I did not – more... have help to do my job and I had to go to next task. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging to find better revenue
Senior Supply Chain Specialist (Former Employee), Austin, TXDecember 1, 2013
Nice people. Unfortunately the technology industry is a very challenging environment to hold a secure position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work, no 2 days are the same
Product Marketing Manager (Current Employee), Austin, TXNovember 14, 2013
Pros: great technology, good people, culture of respect
Cons: limited opportunities for growth
AMD is constantly re-inventing itself. The top executives and bottom knowledge workers continue to churn in and out of the organization while middle management remains largely the same. All in all AMD is a great place to work, where work-life balance and respect are valued pillars to the culture. However if you desire to grow and get different opportunities – more... from within an organization AMD might not be the place for you. There's simply too much uncertainty and change for the organization to focus any meaningful resources on fostering employee career development. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good job
Mask Design Manager (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 24, 2013
good place to work to move up to management , good people to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Hardware Test (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 23, 2013
Pros: free coffee
Cons: not free food
Nice people and cool environment to work. Learned a lot of new thing & new technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good experience
IT Auditor (Former Employee), M07September 29, 2013
My co-workers are very friendly and they are willing to teach when I am having problems. My team leader is open to any opinions even from interns. The internship allows me to see how auditing also plays an important role in a company. It is also fascinating to see how a multinational company communicate and collaborate on certain projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work
Product Marketing Manager (Former Employee), Sunnyvale, CAAugust 21, 2013
Worked in the networking group for 802.11b/a product lines, 10/100/1000 Ethernet Controllers and embedded microprocessors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was good
Packer/Picker/Checker (Former Employee), Whitinsville, MAAugust 12, 2013
The people were nice and the hours went fast. Gave a 15 minute Break for a 4 hours shift sometimes would stay later.. Worked Four days a week and had weekends and holidays off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't remember, too long ago
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CAJuly 31, 2013
I don't remember much since it was too long ago.
Technology company, with great coworkers and management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Coworkers were very friendly.
Analog Designer (Former Employee), Markham, ONJune 25, 2013
Pros: excellent opportunity to learn, seniors are very knowledgeable and helpful
If you want to learn about chip design, AMD is one of the best places to work.

July 9, 2013

How willing is a company like AMD to hire a person who has 10 years of pcb layout experience that want to cross over to IC layout?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Analyst (Current Employee), Austin, TXJune 18, 2013
AMD is a decent company to work for, however, as with any company in technology, layoffs are frequent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have enjoyed my time at AMD
Global Information Security Manager (Current Employee), Austin, TXJune 11, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: long hours
Have enjoyed my time at AMD for the past 20 years. Would like to experience a new fresh engagement and opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team with a lot of scope to learn
Core Implementation (Physical Design) co-op (Former Employee), Austin, TXJune 9, 2013
I found the seven months at AMD as a complete learning experience. I was fresh from Grad school and there were people always around to help me when needed. This internship gave me an opportunity to work with the finest team and let me understand the industrial practises and apply my concepts learnt at school. The team let me involve directly in their – more... project and hence I had ample work to do.
It was overall an amazing opportunity and I enjoyed it thoroughly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Sr. Program Manager (Former Employee), Austin, TXJune 4, 2013
I enjoyed working at AMD - the people are great and the facility is very pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical
Senior Member of Technical Staff (Former Employee), Austin, TXJune 3, 2013
Poor and inconsistent high level management created a stressful working envoronment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Start for any Engineer
Co-Op Engineer (Former Employee), Austin, TXJune 1, 2013
AMD in Austin is a beautiful campus; the work life is supplemented with on site exercise facilities, cafe's, lunchrooms, pool and ping pong tables, and much more. The work AMD does here is very applicable to the technology you use in your devices right now, and so you know that the work you put in every day is meaningful in short and long terms.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent group of associates and very rewarding
AMD-Personal Assistant (Former Employee), Austin, TXMay 26, 2013
Pros: bonus incintives and responsibilities that helped me grow
Cons: long hours quartley
Organize, maintain paper and electronic files; manage projects.
Do basic research, schedule reservations, book travels and meetings,Coordinating office's administrative activities and store, retrieve information. Integrate information for dissemination to staff and clients. Act as proxy, representing him in meetings or communications.
A typical day – more... was more along the lines of being an assistant for a financial analyst. Helpings with gathering sales information and distributing vital information among corporate personele.
Since I was working as an assistant, I hardly had to answer to work with management. I worked closely in relation with Boss and established a very well relationship that proved to work well for us.
The hardest part of the job was proving myself in the financial industry/sales when my background is that of Medicine.
I enjoyed every aspect of the job because it helped me grow and strive to better myself among corporate level employees. I was able to prove to me and my co workers that with hard work and tenacity, I could rise to the occasion if need be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mgmt is oblivious, employees are apathetic.
Desktop Administrator II (Current Employee), Austin, TXApril 24, 2013
Pros: learn what *not* to do at your next job.
Cons: management, benefits and culture
This is the company you go to when you want to do a bunch of nothing and take home a paycheck for all your non-work. The list of things they don't have or do wrong is too long to type out. The company is not poised to take advantage of technology, markets or talent.

About AMD

Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. is a global semiconductor company with facilities around the world. The Company offer x86 microprocessors, – Read more