Find companies:
AMEC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
111 reviews

AMEC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Laboratory Technician (Current Employee), Irvine, CAApril 10, 2014
Pros: easy going, friendly
Cons: no room to grow within the company
co-worker are easy going. you learn all lot from your superiors. wish they just notice more how hard some people work that deserve to have a better pay or full-time job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Solar Panel Installer/Assembler (Former Employee), Bagdad, AZMarch 6, 2014
Overall it was a great experience working with them. Schedules, colleagues and management create a great environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work staff / enjoyable environment
Project Controller (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNFebruary 18, 2014
A typical day includes working with a variety of individual in different departments. Management looks to improve skills of each employee to make AMEC and the individual more valuable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love what I do at AMEC
Sr Accountant (Current Employee), Tucker, GAFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: sometimes free lunches, blue jean fridays
Cons: workload is not a balance for home and work
A typical day is rather quite and sometimes boring. I enjoy what I do at AMEC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Experienced Staff
Projects, Staff Materials Engineer (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMFebruary 6, 2014
The staff is professional. you can learn a lot as you go along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place has its challenges
CAD Coordinator (Former Employee), Tucker, GAFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: workout facility in the basement.
Cons: the commute can be difficult.
Make sure you get what you want going in. Company policies such as vacation and sick leave are being changed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice organized workplace
Electrician Helper (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: good work ethic
A typical work day consist of a 12 hour shift in the solar field. I have learned how to make a complete circut the correct way, how to speak a different language, grounding combiner boxes underground. The management was very strict they did not take drama in the work place and did not want to bring personal issues to the workplace whenever you came – more... on the job site you needed a clear head to focus. The co-workers were friendly and we were like a big family. The hardest part of the job was cleaning out the mud and water in trenches to ground and pull cables. The most enjoyable part of the job was to work with our co-workers together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to come in fresh and grow within the company
Fire Protection Specialist (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 28, 2014
AMEC offers several opportunities to develop professionally within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Senior Regulatory Specialist (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJanuary 23, 2014
Nice work environment. Quiet atmosphere and good location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMEC is an excellent place to work
Senior Geologist (Current Employee), Bothell, WAJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: no "shark attack" office politics, good benefits.
Cons: lack of advancement and pay increases.
AMEC is a multi-national geotechnical, environmental, and engineering firm. The staff is professional, friendly, and caring. The staff is free of the back-stabbing climb-on-your-shoulders office politics that I saw at most of the firms where I've worked. Management is genuinely supportive and encouraging. Being a multi-national, they also search for – more... work opportunities in other areas if the local market drops. I worked in Northern Alberta for a couple of years, based out of the local office for example.

The only cons would be a slow advancement rate, and specialization. I worked in the geotechnical division only, although I have experience in environmental work. During my time as a full time employee (five years) I had very little change to my duties. My pay didn't change significantly either. I had earned a certificate in project management, but they couldn't credit me for it because they had their own in-house training system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A breathe of fresh air
Engineering Tech/Cad Lead (Current Employee), Oakland, Ca.January 10, 2014
Working at AMEC was breathe of fresh air in terms of the work life balance and the general culture around the office. There are many very bright people working here that are more than willing to share what they know but are also very open to suggestions. The management style i encountered was very hands off but also readily supportive when needed. This – more... works great for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None Provided
Manager of Business Development (Former Employee), Queensbury, NYJanuary 9, 2014
Big company, many layers of management, large projects. Learned a lot about international management requirements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Real Offshore Projects
Offshore structural Designer (Current Employee), Doha, DAWJanuary 7, 2014
Good place to learn and earn the offshore structural design experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just alright. Great Place to start a career.
Hydrogeologist (Current Employee), Denver, COJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: free lunch, sometimes
Cons: low salary.
Low salary, not competitive with other Environmental and Mining offices.
Management is great....I get on lots of interesting projects that keeps the work environment "Fresh"

*Only complaint is the low salary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting experience
Project Administrator (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALDecember 30, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: reduction in force
First experience with a commercial business. Learned about contracts and procurements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not easy to adjust to the climate
Engineer-in-Training (Former Employee), Saskatoon, Saskatchewan CanadaDecember 9, 2013
Pros: occasional weekday days-off to facilitate business
Saskatoon was definitely a bit more than I bargained for when I took this posting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monday through Friday job with early work hours.
Environmental Technician (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 20, 2013
I mainly worked on Walt Disney World properties so I got to see a lot of behind the scenes stuff. The Disney Reps were always very friendly and loved their job and so did I. My co-workers were always willing to help each other out and lend a hand and supervisors were always understanding to family issues and always willing to help you out with time – more... off or extra hours to work. Some times the hardest part of the job was to have to work an 8 hour day and then have to be back out to WDW property later that night after park hours to take care of an issue that couldn't be taken care of when the park was open. The enjoyable part to that was you didn't have to be up early the next morning and go to work as long as you didn't have anything schedule. I learned I am a strong knowledgeable woman when in comes to construction and building materials and can work harder than the men. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pulled orders for on site warehouses and end users
Inventory Controller / Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Salt Lake CityOctober 15, 2013
Pros: working in the mine was great
Cons: lack of management and ablity to move up
pulling orders delivering orders off loading trucks helping team memebers with projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible
Human Resources Assistant/File Clerk (Former Employee), KirklandOctober 5, 2013
Great place to work, many different interactions with lots of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mining project
Senior Mechanical/Piping Engineer (Former Employee), Oakville, ONOctober 1, 2013
worked with multinational company having large projects in mining and mineral industries.

1 2 3 4 5

About AMEC

AMEC is a focused supplier of high-value consultancy, engineering and project management services to the world’s oil and – Read more