Find companies:
Amedisys
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
260 reviews

Amedisys Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
medical home care business
Business Office Specialist (Former Employee), Hackensack, NJOctober 8, 2013
i performed many duties while employed with Amedisys
Multitasking was vital, with busy phones.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work. no support. slave drivers. high pressure. pressure of being fired.
Home Health Nurse (Former Employee), Salem OregonOctober 6, 2013
Impossibly heavy workload for everyone everyday. Staff being told by Director to have the work done in 8 hours everyday or she may not be able to pay us for the hours we have worked. High stress, pressure. No support from director or regional director. Everyone has left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Changes
Business Office Specialist, Full Time (Current Employee), League City, TXOctober 1, 2013
Pros: close to home.
Cons: management turnover, impending sale, unknown future.
Branch is on its third director, second office manager and Texas office are all for sale. One buyer has already backed out. Patient census has declined from nearly 200 to nearly 30. Amedisys used to be a great place to work, great team work, coworkers. A typical day is varied with plenty of interaction with patients and health care provders. Lack of – more... electronic medical records definitely a downside, with tons of paper to process, many duplications. Home health is a critical part of the health care delivery system and I am proud of the services we provide, even at the clerical level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry Leader among Home Health Care Company's
Account Executive (Former Employee), Tri-Cities TN & SW VASeptember 29, 2013
Amedisys is a leader in the Home Health Industry. The organization is focused on delivering superior care to patients and offers innovative programs and services to the health care industry. Unfortunately, the organization has taken a hard hit from the every changing healthcare industry and has struggled for the passed few years due to Medicare cuts – more... and the lack of Managed Care Contracts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for where the people really care about you.
Business Office Specialist II (Former Employee), Sumter, SCSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: nice people
Cons: management not organized
This was a great place to work for where everyday i enjoyed being able to help the elderly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employer
Clinical Manager (Current Employee), Huntsvilel, AL 35801September 15, 2013
Pros: salary
Cons: poor insurance coverage
How to successfully manage staff and coordinate care for our patients. Review of Oasis documentation and requirements by Medicare. The most enjoyable aspect of my job is the care that we are able to provide for our patients and watching them improve. a typical day begins at 7am for me. Initially it begins with staff check in to review their schedules – more... for the day. arranging for unexpected visits that must be made. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is rewarding professionally and personally.
PTA (Current Employee), Valdosta, GASeptember 13, 2013
Pros: able to be free to schedule patients.
Cons: lmited health benefits.
Pleasant environment overall. Great communication with fellow coworkers. Overall enjoyment when working with and treating patients with good end results.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed care of 20-30 patients in the home setting
Registered Nurse, Case Manager (Former Employee), Lancaster, PASeptember 13, 2013
Very flexible schedule and the patients were great to work with. Management was available at any hour to assist the staff. Awesome coworkers and made great friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment.
Nurse Liaison/ Case Manager (Former Employee), Valdosta, GASeptember 9, 2013
Well organized policies and procedures. Clinical best practices implemented. Technology was well above average.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No shortage of work to do!
Registered Nurse (RN) (Current Employee), Kennesaw, GASeptember 1, 2013
Pros: patient care and nice co-workers
A typical day at work starts with a phone meeting. You get your scheduled patient and perform assessments on them. Assessment information is 8 pages long and is entered into a computer program. You finish your day with a phone meeting to discuss patient issues that may have come up for the day. Patient care is the most enjoyable portion of the job. – more... The hardest part of the job is meeting company deadlines and trying to fit all the work required into an 8-12 hour day. Co-workers are cordial and like what they do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic company with a postitive culture
Director of Office Operations 2 - current (Current Employee), Jay, FLAugust 30, 2013
Fast paced hands on management for home health services in local market.
Amedisys taught me how to manage the every changing face of Medicare into a profitable agency while maintaining the standard of high quality care for our patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity slow
Dawn Hasting, RN Director of Nursing (Former Employee), Crewe, VAAugust 29, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: was on call and worked weekends
Amedisys was a great place to work. Enjoyed my coworkers and patients and families. This agency made you believe that your job was secure until you got laid off. Never believe that your job can never be taken away, because it can!!! Enjoyed the IVs and wounds and trying to keep patients at home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful coworkers, friendly workplace, unable to provide a constant work load
Home Health Aide (Current Employee), virginiaAugust 28, 2013
Pros: freindly workplace, dedicated to patient care
Cons: unable to provide a steady work load was lucky to keep 5/6 visits a week
Loved working with the people, hate to leave but need to find job where they were able to provide me with steady work load. Great job for LPN's and RN's. Slow work schedule for HHA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Questionable Future
Registered Nurse/Clinical Manger (Former Employee), Wheeling, WVAugust 18, 2013
Pros: fellow staff member, bonuses if you can qualify
Cons: changes in upper management
Love the hospice philosophy, Staff is excellent and caring, Have questions about upper managements ability to lead in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place. had to take home work
RN (Former Employee), ohioAugust 16, 2013
Pros: clinical education tracks
Cons: scheduling your own patients. frequently take home work off the clock. pay per visit
I worked 9.5 hr days and still had to take home work to finish. I didn't have a preceptor. I had four people telling me what to do, usually in different ways. On the surface they pretend to care but they dont. RUN RUN RUN
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great education opportunities and CEO started from a clinical job-he gets it!
Rn (Former Employee), Mount Dora, FLAugust 5, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: overboard on computer work/compliance
good place to work-lots of papaer work as in all od home health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent staff and fellow coworkers with a great working environment.
Occupational Therapist (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCAugust 4, 2013
I truly enjoyed my time with Amedisys home health and only had to leave the company because of health issues that I was dealing with at the time. I love home health and hope, someday, I will be able to work within this field again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexibility of schedule
Case Manager (Former Employee), Calhoun, GAJuly 30, 2013
Pros: personalization with the patients, freedom of schedule if changes were needed
Cons: extensive travel 700-1000 miles per month
This was my first experience with Home Health. I found it to be a wonderful service offered by our goverment. I found the job helpful for the patients and a cost savings for them. Typical day arrive at the office and recieve your assignments. Check your records to review any changes to the careplan. Call your patient and set up a time for the visit. – more... On each visit you would complete the computer work required, which is a complete assessment, carry out cares on the careplan. Identify any new issues. Call the physician if necessary. Write any new orders. Complete the day assisgnment. Report to the office all patients seen. Finish any charting not completed during the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only PRN positions available to Social Workers
Social Worker (Former Employee), Lee's Summit, MOJuly 29, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: lack of benefits
As a PRN you are not eligible for any benefits. I used my cell phone daily for work but was not reinburst for any of my costs. The work was sporatice and unclear requirements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY GOOD, PROGRESSIVE COMPANY
INTAKE COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Morrow, GAJuly 28, 2013
AMEDISYS WAS A VERY GOOD COMPANY TO WORK FOR.
IT FOCUSED ON QUALITY PATIENT CARE WHICH WAS MOST IMPORTANT TO ME. IT VALUED HARD WORK AND LOYALTY; PROVIDED NICE BENEFITS AND INCENTIVES. IT WAS A VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE AND I AM VERY HAPPY TO HAVE BEEN PART OF THE AMEDISYS TEAM.

About Amedisys

Amedisys' philosophy, "Taking care of your loved ones as we would our own," has guided their growth into one of the – Read more