Find companies:
Ameren
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Ameren Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Utilityman/Intern (Former Employee), Coffeen, ILJanuary 20, 2014
Great company to work for! It was very hard to leave when my internship ended
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ameren
Plant Engineer (Former Employee), Coffeen, ILDecember 31, 2013
Pros: pay & benefits are good for the area
Cons: too many policies and not enough thought into how the job gets done.
Some divisions of Ameren are treated better than others. They have too much of a focus on diversity and not enough on improving their core business of making power.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another good place to work
Substation Electrician Journeyman / Crew Leader (Former Employee), Decatur, ILDecember 24, 2013
Lots of work, learn a lot through my career here, co- workers are great to work with, Hardest part of the job was being on the Road 95% of the time. Different things to learn all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AEE
Director, Project Risk Management (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 11, 2013
Typical mid-western electric & gas utility. Nothing flashy - focus on operations and execution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Technology Specialist (Current Employee), Canton, ILSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits
Excellent Benefits. They treat their people right. Plant that I worked at was sold to another company. The new company did away with a lot of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retired after 35 yrs at ameren
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 29, 2013
Pros: compensation
Cons: terrable pension program, inept upper management
great company 35 yrs ago. has gotten progressively worse due to upper managements ineptitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, but I'm looking for more security
Natural Gas Trader (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: i get a lot of cross commodity experience
Cons: security
a typical day includes forecasting generation, daily phy buying/selling, forward fin hedges, physical scheduling, addressing backoffice/operational/accounting issues as they present themselves
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only thing good is a paycheck
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jefferson City, MOFebruary 19, 2013
Benefits are good but this is a corporation, not a family friendly company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company and good people to work with.
Easement coordinator (Former Employee), St LouisOctober 20, 2012
Pros: great company great people
I was the easement coordinator on the Ameren Power On project. Everyone I worked with was great. I worked with people in the main office and in the district offices. I would work with them again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked there.
mngr (Former Employee), ILAugust 11, 2012
Pros: wish they had free lunch
Cons: they want to own you
Bad money and people managers. Use corporaider tactics and also union busting tactics. They try to be the military. Like to chop heads and layoff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid summer employment opportunity.
Meter Painter (Former Employee), Danville, ILJuly 25, 2012
Pros: good work environment.
Cons: not a permanent employment opportunity.
I worked at Ameren for a summer before heading back to college.I received the job through the Manpower Employment Company.Due to the fact that it was just a summer job,there was no compensation/benefits package nor was there an opportunity for advancement.So the lack of ratings in those two categories in no way reflect negatively toward the company.Everything – more... about the job was first class.The employees were always helpful and courteous,and really made working there easy and managable due to the inviting work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with the all the food you can eat
Janitor Supervisor (Former Employee), Peoria, ILJuly 11, 2012
Pros: vending machines
Cons: no benefits
A typical day at work is exhausting. I had to manage a team of janitors and make sure that they were doing their jobs and able to maintain with no supervision and just a team lead with the all of them. I had to travel from one building to the next in my own vehicle. I liked all the workers we had they were great to work with all of them. I had good – more... times working as a Supervisor being able to just experience the great benefits of meeting new people and having an overall good staff that liked you back and cared enough to even come to me with problems that they were having with someone or something. The only thing that I didnt like is having to show somebody tough love for slacking off and when they slack off it didnt look good on me cause my boss would come down on me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management has eletist attitude
Journeyman lineman (Current Employee), IllinoisJune 1, 2012
Pros: none for new hires
Cons: benefits are being slashed, everything is about $$$
VERY anti union. If you are a trade worker, stay away from ameren. They are trying to take away working conditions and benefits that have been in place for years because they say they are "going broke", yet they reward their upper management with pay raises and bonuses. They want to raid the pension fund, so they are trying to go to a "cash balance", – more... which will be about .30 on the dollar of the traditional defined benefit pension we've had for years. They preach about teamwork and safety all the time, but won't hesitate to throw both to the curb in the name of profits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Cad Operator (Current Employee), Decatur, ILMay 6, 2012
I have learned alot about working in microstation, falcon, and smarteam. My co-workers have taught me a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-employee Focus
Generation Salaried Employee (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 1, 2012
The company is focused on their profit goals. Raises have been suspended for non-union salaried employees several, but compensation was adjusted upward for senior management who "were not making comparable salaries". Projet budgets were usually overrun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ameren
Senior IT Auditor (Current Employee), St LouisMarch 15, 2012
Utility / Energy sector company, headquartered in St Louis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Project Manger Coop (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 13, 2011
Pros: great employees
Cons: cubicles
I gained a lot of valuable experience as this with my first "real job." I will never for get the great people that I met and the guidance they gave me.

About Ameren

Ameren provides the power that makes much of the American Midwest run.┬áThe holding company distributes electricity to 2.4 million – Read more

Ameren Photos