Find companies:
America First Credit Union
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

America First Credit Union Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Teller (Former Employee), Ogden, UTJune 18, 2014
A typical day at work included service to others. It was rewarding being able to come up with solutions for the members I helped. I learned how to go above and beyond what I was asked to do so I could make those I connected with feel as if they were important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunity to grow.
Training Officer, Corporate Training Department (Current Employee), Ogden, UTJune 9, 2014
Pros: great emphasis on training.
Cons: you will not make a lot of money working here.
America First is a great place to work. There are plenty of opportunities to grow and learn different skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Lead Teller (Current Employee), Ogden, UtahMarch 22, 2014
I love working for America First Credit Union.
Always Keeping busy
The management is very nice and super helpful
Everyone is super nice
The hardest part of the job Learning the system
Best part of the job is being able to help a lot of members
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND SAFE WORK ENVIRONMENT
TELLER (Current Employee), Park City, UTFebruary 20, 2014
AFCU IS THE BEST PLACE TO BUILD A CAREER, THEY PROVIDE YOU WITH ALL THE INFORMATION TO BECOME A HIGHER POSITION WITH YOUR WILLINGNESS TO ACHEAVE. YOU LEARN SO MUCH HERE. THEIR IS NOTHING HARD ABOUT THIS JOB YOU JUST HAVE TO LOVE WHAT YOU DO!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Ethics and Company
Customer Service Representative/Teller (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTFebruary 7, 2014
This is a great company to work for. They treat their employees fairly and ensure they know they are appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this Job
Branch - Teller (Former Employee), Orem, UTJanuary 27, 2014
I loved working here. The people were really great to work with and they were really close knit. I really felt like it was a family friendly company. The down side I would have to say is moving forward or up the ladder. I had a hard time with that. But still I would prefer this job to many others that I have had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked helping people.
Teller, Lead Teller, and Loan Typist (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJanuary 17, 2014
I made Deposits, Withdrawls, Loan Payments, Transfers, and gave Money Orders, and Travlers Cheques to Members that wanted them. I balanced cash drawers every day. I balanced the vault every day. I made out schedules. I supervised up to 8 tellers for three years. I was a loan typist for about a year. The hardest part of the job was when an Elderly person – more... didn't understand that we needed to see their ID. The best part was helping people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Teller (Former Employee), Centerville, UTDecember 6, 2013
America First was a great place to work because the people there are great and it is a very friendly environment. I learned many things about the financial industry like the standards that operate in the industry and how it works. The hardest part of the job was dealing with unhappy members while the most enjoyable part of the job was making them happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Teller (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTOctober 7, 2013
Pros: fun, simple, great environment
Cons: short shifts to start, low starting wage
This really is a great place to work. I didn't last very long because of an unfortunate miscommunication between myself and a co worker. Neither of us still work for that company but I am adult enough to understand the company's stance on what happened.
A typical day at work included your standard customer interaction as well as training yourself through – more... company guided courses and asking your supervisor any questions you had about anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Member Service Representative, Teller (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTAugust 28, 2013
Pros: bonus night and lagoon day... if they don't cancel it
Cons: extremely hard to advance with their ever changing mind
Great manager and co-workers at the branch. It is fun who you will work with and the members are great! But, there is not much room for advancement, so it is very frustrating. But it is not necessarily anyones fault, the policies are ALWAYS changing, so you can't help it. You could be training for a position to advance to, and a month before, they will – more... change the requirements. It is a great job to get nowhere, ever. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional company
Teller (Former Employee), Taylorsville, utJuly 31, 2013
Pros: long lunch break
Cons: low pay
Working for the credit union was very upbeat and fun. I enjoyed learning the financial aspect of people's lives and getting to help them. My co-workers were all very lively and fun to be around, same with the management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impossible to move ahead
Teller (Current Employee), Salt Lake CityJune 18, 2013
Pros: get paid to do nothing
Cons: you do nothing all day, no opportunity for advancement
You have to be here for a very long time before you can move forward. Once people are in leadership positions, they don't move, which means you will be stuck at the bottom until someone inevitably moves to Wells for a pay raise. Management keeps you here by telling you you are on the edge of getting a promotion, but they never advance you or teach you – more... more. The plus side? I get paid to do homework all day and it is borderline impossible to get fired. People can text all day and never do their job and nobody cares. Try another credit union or bank if you want to actually have a career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful Financial Institution
Certified Senior Teller (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UtahJune 7, 2013
America First is a very nice environment to work in and can be very pleasant and engaging. Management and supervisors are usually very intelligent and knowledgeable about Policies and Procedures. Benefits and pay is a little bit of a downer as they pay a lower hourly wage than most Financial Institutions and have no incentive plans. They do, however, – more... pay for PTO and Sick leave and have health benefits and 401k options. Also moving up in the company is very very competitive, political and unevenly evaluated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work but the new pay scale for loan officers is terrible
Mortgage, consumer loan officer (Current Employee), Salt lake city, utMay 18, 2013
Pros: good hours, time off with pay, small bonus every six months usually
Cons: low pay which may be lowered
America First likes to hire young individuals so they don't have to pay them very much. They recently came out with a new pay plan that is based only on how much money you put on the books, how much insurance you sell and how many new accounts you open. They also look at how many visa, line of credits and home equity loans you book. If you don't meet – more... a certain percentage they lower your already low hourly pay. If you are a mortgage loan officer they expect you to do all this and give you no credit for the mortgage loan numbers. It is almost impossible to meet their expectations. I would find a different credit union to start your career with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good place to work, but it does not pay well.
Loan Qc Clerk (Former Employee), Riverdale, UTJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: holiday off leave
Cons: not pay well
It is a good place to work, but it does not pay well. Good for families and working mom's so you get holidays off, but pay is low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Teller (Current Employee), Taylorsville, utahJanuary 2, 2013
a typical day at AFCU is full of fun, working with energetic people and getting to interact with members. I learned how to better communicate with others. My co-workers are all a pleasure to work with, i look forward to going to work every day because i know they'll be there. The hardest part of my job is dealing with a dis-satisfied member, trying – more... my hardest to make them happy. But it's also the most enjoyable when you can make the members' day better! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours for supporting higher education
Computer Operator (Current Employee), Ogden, UTDecember 3, 2012
Pros: health benefits
Cons: low pay
America First Credit Union is a great company to work for. I have been with AFCU for over 5 years. There are a wide range of employment opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay company to work for to get started in finance
teller (Former Employee), ogdenNovember 30, 2012
This is an average company to work for as far as benefits are concerned. My biggest problem with the establishment is that it is a Credit Union trying to run itself like a major bank. It has become more profit driven and has forgotten about its motto.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend call center
Call Center Agent (Former Employee), UtahAugust 12, 2012
Pros: everyone is happy
Cons: horrible training.
Worked there for two month's and training wasn't extensive enough to make you ready to pretty much know everything about America First.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job
Teller/Receptionist (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 12, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: drama all the time
I loved america first for the first 9 months My manager was amazing then I transfered closer to my home and my manager would sleep on the clock totally unprofessional.