Find companies:
America First Credit Union
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

America First Credit Union Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Teller (Current Employee), Draper, UTJuly 15, 2015
Pros: great benefits
Cons: schedule is difficult sometimes
-shifts are normally 10 hours
-Management is very professional and very friendly, they value their employees
-co-workers depends on which branch your in but overall they are good, diligent, determined – more... people, we work hard and play hard
-hardest part dealing with some upset members and memorizing all the products
-there is A LOT of progression in the company, they really want you to grow in the company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Marketing IBM Unica Database Administrator (Current Employee), Riverdale, UTJuly 15, 2015
Cons: Senior Management too good for us low people.
Great people to work with. Easy to take time off. Close to home. Only issue I have is the compensation is very low compared to the industry standard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work space
Member Service Contact Center Agent (Former Employee), Roy, UTJuly 6, 2015
Very willing to work with schedules
Friendly learning environment
Helping others with questions
Supportive and caring management
Sufficient breaks given daily
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well established company with lots of growth opportunities
Loan Officer (Former Employee), Layton, UTMay 14, 2015
Pros: challenging work environment
Cons: none
I loved working for AFCU. I was there for six years and acquired a lot of experience and knowledge. I would recommend this company to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, but fun working environment
Teller (Current Employee), Draper, UTApril 29, 2015
Pros: Great health/dental benefits, positive work environment, promotions with drawing for tickets to something or extra cash on your paycheck, and flexible work schedule
I enjoy my job quite a bit. When I get to work I set up and we open the branch. Throughout the day I help members with various transactions. Problem solving skills are a big part of this job. At the end – more... of the day we balance and do closing duties. I make it seem easy, but there are different aspects of this job such as completing online courses to become more informed of policies and procedures, going to trainings at the training center, cross selling products and services, planning promotions, assigned teller duties such as cleaning the branch or ordering supplies, and doing one-on-ones with supervisors to set goals and go over our development. They try to move you up as quick as possible based on how comfortable you feel with taking on more responsibility. They are very interactive with their employees and really adhere to your needs. Very flexible with school or other work schedules. I haven't once wanted to leave this job. Their core values along with mission statement make me feel obligated to this company. I've never had that feeling with any other employer. The members love coming in and feel like it's a welcoming family type environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work space
Lead Teller (Current Employee), Saint George, UTFebruary 1, 2015
Great professional work enviorment
good hours
full benefits and good days off
limited promotion oppurtunities in certain areas.
conservative hours wages
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Mortgage Loan Processor (Former Employee), Clearfield, UTJanuary 15, 2015
I loved this job.. Great company to work for. Great friendly people to work for and with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Staff Accountant (Current Employee), Riverdale, UTJanuary 4, 2015
Cons: pay
A typical day in the department is busy with all the reconciliations that needed to be done. Those in the department are great to work with. Management is great. I learned so much so far working in the department, its been great getting to know the accounting process for a credit union and to learn some of the system administration for the department as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work enviroment
Member Service Associate (Current Employee), Roy, UTOctober 21, 2014
Pros: monthly gifts, room to move. own desk
Cons: short breaks.
Working in the call center is a little tough. I have been there for almost 9 months. I'm looking for a different job that doesn't involve me managing people finances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Certified Teller (Former Employee), Bountiful, UTJuly 8, 2014
Pros: nothing too hard you can't do with a little help, if needed.
Cons: tried to get you so cross sale products, (ex. visa's) even if you know that the member doesn't need the product.
Started the day off with your drawer balance from the previous day. Helped members throughout the day with their financial questions/concerns. Management was awesome, very good relationship with my supervisor – more... Max Jones. Can' t really say there was anything too hard to do in this position, just some was more time consuming, that's why I'm looking for another job, one that will challenge me more, but will still give me that social interaction that I love. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Teller (Former Employee), Ogden, UTJune 18, 2014
A typical day at work included service to others. It was rewarding being able to come up with solutions for the members I helped. I learned how to go above and beyond what I was asked to do so I could make those I connected with feel as if they were important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunity to grow.
Training Officer, Corporate Training Department (Current Employee), Ogden, UTJune 9, 2014
Pros: great emphasis on training.
Cons: you will not make a lot of money working here.
America First is a great place to work. There are plenty of opportunities to grow and learn different skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Lead Teller (Current Employee), Ogden, UtahMarch 22, 2014
I love working for America First Credit Union.
Always Keeping busy
The management is very nice and super helpful
Everyone is super nice
The hardest part of the job Learning the system
Best part of the job is being able to help a lot of members
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND SAFE WORK ENVIRONMENT
TELLER (Current Employee), Park City, UTFebruary 20, 2014
AFCU IS THE BEST PLACE TO BUILD A CAREER, THEY PROVIDE YOU WITH ALL THE INFORMATION TO BECOME A HIGHER POSITION WITH YOUR WILLINGNESS TO ACHEAVE. YOU LEARN SO MUCH HERE. THEIR IS NOTHING HARD ABOUT THIS JOB YOU JUST HAVE TO LOVE WHAT YOU DO!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Ethics and Company
Customer Service Representative/Teller (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTFebruary 7, 2014
This is a great company to work for. They treat their employees fairly and ensure they know they are appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this Job
Branch - Teller (Former Employee), Orem, UTJanuary 27, 2014
I loved working here. The people were really great to work with and they were really close knit. I really felt like it was a family friendly company. The down side I would have to say is moving forward or up the ladder. I had a hard time with that. But still I would prefer this job to many others that I have had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked helping people.
Teller, Lead Teller, and Loan Typist (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJanuary 17, 2014
I made Deposits, Withdrawls, Loan Payments, Transfers, and gave Money Orders, and Travlers Cheques to Members that wanted them. I balanced cash drawers every day. I balanced the vault every day. I made – more... out schedules. I supervised up to 8 tellers for three years. I was a loan typist for about a year. The hardest part of the job was when an Elderly person didn't understand that we needed to see their ID. The best part was helping people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Teller (Former Employee), Centerville, UTDecember 6, 2013
America First was a great place to work because the people there are great and it is a very friendly environment. I learned many things about the financial industry like the standards that operate in the industry and how it works. The hardest part of the job was dealing with unhappy members while the most enjoyable part of the job was making them happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Teller (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTOctober 7, 2013
Pros: fun, simple, great environment
Cons: short shifts to start, low starting wage
This really is a great place to work. I didn't last very long because of an unfortunate miscommunication between myself and a co worker. Neither of us still work for that company but I am adult enough – more... to understand the company's stance on what happened.
A typical day at work included your standard customer interaction as well as training yourself through company guided courses and asking your supervisor any questions you had about anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Member Service Representative, Teller (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTAugust 28, 2013
Pros: bonus night and lagoon day... if they don't cancel it
Cons: extremely hard to advance with their ever changing mind
Great manager and co-workers at the branch. It is fun who you will work with and the members are great! But, there is not much room for advancement, so it is very frustrating. But it is not necessarily – more... anyones fault, the policies are ALWAYS changing, so you can't help it. You could be training for a position to advance to, and a month before, they will change the requirements. It is a great job to get nowhere, ever. – less

America First Credit Union Salaries

Teller
$9.00 per hour
$17,000 per year
Lead Teller
$28,000 per year
Mortgage Loan Originator
$11.61 per hour
Collection Agent
$13.00 per hour