America Works Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Professionalism
Corporate Representative (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 2, 2017
Management were very unprofessional. Clients were very disrespectful.Frequent changes and lack of professionalism. Management were not fair. People were not paid fairly
Pros
Productivity
Cons
lack of professionalism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company culture
Corporate Representative (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 27, 2017
This company is grossly incompetent in regards to how to treat their employees like decent employees. The CEO likes to micromanage while sending out daily passive aggressive emails.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Incompetent management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
America works
Intake Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIFebruary 16, 2017
I enjoyed working here. I met new people. I stayed sit a smile on face. I enjoyed working at the computers. I love computers and good at it.
Pros
Free lunched
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive, but Tough
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYDecember 12, 2016
Company is friendly, job itself can be challenging as many of its clients are unwilling to attend.

Did the fellowship program. Learned a lot and felt like I made a difference.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company I've Ever Worked For
Grants (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 11, 2016
America Works is the best place I've ever worked. The management is fantastic and the corporate culture is amazing. It is wonderful to be able to work with smart, intellectual and engaging staff. I feel so glad to be a part of this team. Most importantly, everyone here is dedicated to helping those less fortunate find jobs. I feel blessed every day because I am able to work in a job I love, at a company I love, while helping people who are struggling to find employment achieve their goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior National Account Executive
Senior National Account Executive / Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 9, 2016
I learned how to become a harder worker and trouble shoot problems! Competitive environment! I was an experience that I will never forget!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beginning point
Corporate Representative/Event Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMarch 16, 2016
Enjoyed helping people get to the next level in life, I am currently still employed looking for career advancements. company needs better leadership
Cons
rude boss
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Rewarding
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 2, 2015
I enjoyed working with the client and other co-workers at America Works. I also found this job very rewarding. The hardest part was dealing with unhappy clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company.
HR Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 11, 2015
Enjoyed working there. Learned a lot. Loved the staff.
The hours are great. My Boss worked with my schedule. We were like a family.
Pros
Learned a lot, and loved the people I worked with.
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Extremely STRESSFUL PLACE TO WORK
Sr. Desktop Support Engineer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 10, 2015
Pros
Assisting people with getting employment. team/effort Owners of company try to-be fair Job Titlesmeans-NOTHING Manager is friends with staff members that she trains and mentors @ work and out of work (personally)

Cons
The Management is difficult to work with (especially over time) No Justice Not Flexible overtime pay. Constant changes and updates NO ADDENDUMS...No record KEEPING

Advice to Management
To rotate manager to different office locations Managers should be evaluated by staff Value the Staff
Helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place To Work
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  MarylandMay 19, 2015
Give you unrealistic goals to meet with persons who have no work experience, no desire to work and/or criminal background issues. Staff has a constant turnover due to unfair management treatment.
Pros
You can change the lives of those who are hopeless
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what not to like.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 15, 2015
Had to work hard and stay on task . all ways a lot going on.
Had the chance to do a lot of different jobs with in the company.
I liked that they would help learn something new if asked or showed interest in something.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, Great environment, and Horrible leadership
General Labor Worker (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 4, 2015
move, repair, and adjust office equipment for a company that was taking over a prior companies office space. all while trying to determine which key belongs to which door.
Pros
Constant Work
Cons
False Promises of Future Employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable work setting.
Corporate Representative for Veterans (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 1, 2015
Clients are great, nice location and great co-workers. A typical work day is very busy and a lot is expected from this position. This position is not for everyone, it is fast paced, and detail oriented.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough place to advance
Recruiter/ Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Far Rockaway, NYJanuary 26, 2015
Social Service Community
9-5 off on weekends
I learned about social services in NY
Coworkers go with the flow
Hardest part of the job is the lack of structure
Helping people find work work is the most enjoyable

Different job duties than what I signed up for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
America Works works for the people
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 11, 2014
I interned here and for the brief time i was there i felt like i belonged in an office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
America Doesn't work
My title change more I can remember (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYMarch 2, 2014
This company is simply a total lie. They will promise you a lot of things; however, when the time comes to receive benefits or PTO, the company will say not yet. I also don't want to forget, there is no Human Resource.

You will work without contract and nothing is on paper. They going to move you around and change your title/job duties faster than the weather.

There is no management, and even there are management as to their "title" they absolutely don't know what employees are going through.

The only good thing about this company are the co-workers, they are well educated, nice, sympathetic, and we really help each another to get through the day faster.
Pros
Co Workers
Cons
No contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Administrative Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 3, 2013
Very challenging, but being able to help people achieve a level of self sufficiency is very rewarding. Co-workers are helpful and management is very informative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive position that promotes from within.
W-2 Program assistant (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 21, 2013
A typical day at the job would be building resumes, helping out with mock interviews. What I've learned is the skills and ability to handle large volumes of customers and crowd control. i also learned to be proficient in Microsoft Suite.My co-workers are very helpful in giving me very through training.
Pros
I get to work with different walks of life.
Cons
It is only a temporary job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible CEO and Founder
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 18, 2013
Do not work here because:

- High bureaucracy & politics
- Management do not care at all for their employees
- Ungrateful Management
- No HR (no offer letter when I started, I just knew my salary during my first day, low pay and there is no Christmas bonus)
- Holiday work days are crazy (you have to work day after Fourth of July, Thanksgiving, Christmas & New Year)
- No HOLIDAY leave during the Christmas season
- You are clueless of your accrued days of leave because there is no system on how you earn it
- And the list goes on....
Pros
Half-day before a Holiday, Hardworking and over-qualified colleagues
Cons
check full review
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at America Works. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9