American Airlines Employee Reviews

Found 1,012 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Rservations Support Agent (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 29, 2016
We all treated each other like family. Someone looses a family
member, we all grieve. Everyone in the department attends the
funeral.
Pros
Anything you need, someone knows where to get it. Profit sharing
Cons
No raises for 4 years
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i hate to rate them
Baggage Claim Agent (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 29, 2016
no benefits , low pay. was my first job moving away from home so it was better than nothing and i got a lot of different job offers because of this so it was good but pay and the management were horrible. they did not know how to operate. us employees ran the show and that place was a mess without a handful of us workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for. Very flexible and good benefits
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 28, 2016
Pleased to provide quality customer service to VIP's and frequent flyers as well as the families that saved up for their first vacation.
Good co-workers that were friendly and helpful.
Pros
Benefits. Medical, flight
Cons
Space available only flight benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooling & Heating
Fleet Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 28, 2016
during the summer there was no one Air Conditioner on at all even with the stand up fans on. But once the temperature dropped the Heating unit would be on almost 90 degrees with no lowering at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super Duper
Fleet Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas,NVOctober 27, 2016
I started working for America West Airlines, we merged with US Airways and then we merged with American Airlines. I am proud to be retired from this airlines. They care about their people.
Pros
fast paced
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working from home made job very feasible
Tariff Agent (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 26, 2016
American Airlines is an excellent company to work for and a very trusting company to do business with. I enjoyed when
i worked in office around fellow co-workers. We worked hard, encouraged one another, worked together, enjoyed company rewards and holidays. The management team was excellent. They provided us with adequate training and tools needed to do our job. The most difficult part of my job was abrupt and angry customers. The most enjoyable was being able to help as many customers as possible, making sure their needs are met!
Pros
Free unlimited flight benefits, frequent pay elevation
Cons
Traffic when working in office
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work enviroment due to corporation restructuring / merger
Sr. Business Analyst / QA ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 24, 2016
The hardest part of the job was dealing with uncertainty. Employees experience bankruptcy, corporate merger, loss of benefits and some layoffs. The combination created an extreme anxiety in the work place.
Cons
No flexibility in scheduling / work location. Working virtual was not allowed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Flight Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 23, 2016
Amazing company to work for. Amazing co-workers.
A typical day at work helping flight attendants with questions and assisting with flights. I enjoy helping with flight attendants needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Reservation Agent (Former Employee) –  Cary, NCOctober 21, 2016
I was a reservation agent at American Airlines and enjoyed working there. I didn't experience any discrimination, and felt very welcomed and accepted.
Pros
flying benefits, health benefits, room for growth in the company
Cons
No maternity leave, schedule changes every couple of months
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proffesional company and great management
Flight Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 19, 2016
You work with a people from all over the world. It has a great management team that help you with anything you need.
We assist flight attendants on anything like admin, parking, schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No time to fly
Catering agent (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 19, 2016
It was way better when it was still US Airways, American Airlines have given its employees raises but then turn around and cut their hours. Leaving full time employees to only 12 hour a week shifts. The veterans who have been there for 10 plus years call out and collect sick pay, leaving the rest to struggle and try to get flights out on time. With less people, missing stock and bad management American Airlines is headed for a crash landing.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Linux Systems Administrator (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 19, 2016
Generally a good laid back environment to work in. Immediate managers are pleasant to work with. Some of the tools are antiquated, but that is changing.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine
American Airlines Purser (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 11, 2016
Is fine to fly on and has nice airplanes and service I think
The routes to London and Frankfurter and Paris are nice to travel and serve twining a tea and cakes and a Homade breakfast at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Reservation Representative (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 10, 2016
The people are great and professional but the health insurance could be a lot better. The company can make you do mandatory overtime when there is extreme weather, can be a hard job on some days.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Hard Work, Constant Change!
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 8, 2016
As a flight attendant, there seemed to be no method to the madness. Each day, each flight was so different from the last.

Training was one of the most emotional and rewarding experiences of my life.

Most of the crews I flew with were very professional and friendly people.

The hardest part is adapting to constant change. Over time, it gets easier. Waking up at 2am to start my day is no fun, but the pay off is I'm done my mid-afternoon.

The pay off to all the blissful craziness is having a fun crew to bond with and a long layover in an amazing city. Instant memories!
Pros
Free travel, make your own schedule
Cons
Reserve
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Maintenance Support Person (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 7, 2016
Working on ground support equipment was exciting and being around airplanes was the best part. flight benefits were great the guys in shop were nice and would teach you when needed
Pros
flight benifits
Cons
supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting management
Assistant check-in (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 4, 2016
I was contracted through bags to work with american airlines, The management with bags is not very pleasant there is a lot of favoritism and gossip between co workers. i Would say the most enjoyable would be helping customers getting checked in.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
unenjoyable management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Release Engineer
Release Engineer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 30, 2016
Designed effective planning for SCM and implemented the setup of the Environment
Wrote Ant and Ant scripts to build Java/.NET code using Subversion repositories
Managed builds and wrote Ant build scripts for Java/ WebLogic based applications
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 28, 2016
It was a fun exciting exspirence I met a lot of interesting people, and got to explore my options.
A typical day at work was very busy and fast pace. I enjoyed my co workers who were very team oriantated. the most enjoyable part about the job was the free flights and opportunity to see the world.
Pros
Free flights
Cons
Paid biweekly
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge Client to work for
QA Tester (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 28, 2016
so happy to be a part of their tech- history and i would love to get back again if i get any chance for a new project,

Added a lot to my IT software testing experience
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Airlines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,130 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9