AMERICAN BOOK COMPANY Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyon higher up is bais and unfair
Order Fulfillment (Current Employee) –  Jefferson City, TNMay 11, 2017
No matter where I went I was always talked down to and treated like I was a dog. It's just a terrible and depressing place to work. No matter how good at your job you are, you are treated like a nobody. Every department is poorly managed as well. People are only in the positions they are in because they are close to someone higher up.
Pros
stable hours
Cons
unfair, unjust, messy, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest place to work
Consolidation Department Lead (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, TNApril 3, 2017
American Book COmpany has poor management and they promise job security but is not the case. No advancement opportunities unless you are in a clique. This place is also a drug haven,
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proofreader for company
Proofreader/Intern (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, GAMarch 17, 2017
Proofreader internship for American Book Company which provided me with many opportunities to edit print and digital content according to master project guidelines and style checklists.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, TNNovember 1, 2016
Great job. Fast paced on some days when needed to be and others not so much so. Which that worked just as well. Friendly environment. Great teamwork. Supervisors were always very helpful in making sure the jobs were complete in a timely manner. I would definitely recommend this job to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNSeptember 21, 2016
Come in ,look at the order sheet and plan my day. The hardest part was not knowing if i would have enough pickers that day to keep the production lines going. My co workers made me show up everyday because they were enjoyable.
Pros
benifits
Cons
turnover rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and Experience
Line Lead/Order Picker/ Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, TNMarch 8, 2016
A typical day consisted of traing 10-12 temporary workers to meet production daily. As a line lead it was responsibilty to make sure counts were accurate merchandise packaging labels were correct.
Pros
making production
Cons
not making production
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Consolidation (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, TNSeptember 9, 2013
I liked working there,and the people that i worked with were great
Pros
plenty of break times
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced work, quick advancement.
Wholesale Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, TNJuly 12, 2013
Every day was different in that every customer had specific needs and time requirements. I was the management and was responsible for production. I worked with a diverse group of people including a daily rotation of temp employees.
Pros
High paced work
Cons
Had peaked in terms of promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
IT Specialist (Current Employee) –  Jefferson City, TNJuly 10, 2013
I have refreshed my skills with Microsoft based systems, Active Directory and have learned new things.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover and no opportunity to advance
Analyst and Project (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, GAJune 22, 2013
Constant change and continuous retraining of new employees. Pay is low and there has been no effort to increase my earnings over the past 2 years even for a cost of living adjustment
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work envirenment
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, TNApril 30, 2013
all in all it was a pretty good job. started our day by removing stickers or getting orders ready for shipping
Pros
got overtime
Cons
no heat in the building
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers, Somewhat Flexable Schedule, everything else was negative.
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, GAMarch 30, 2013
Co-workers are awesome. Management is very disorganized with unrealistic expectations, and no clear direction as to what is expected of you. This is not the kind of place you go for a long term career. It is a small company that is family owned and ran. If you are not a family member I would be hesitent to work here.
Pros
co-workers, somewhat flexable schedule, vary rarely brought work home
Cons
nepotism at its finest, very disorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, GAJanuary 8, 2013
easy to work with staff, long standing, professional business. Learned time management skills and production
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Printing
Production Printing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, GAJuly 12, 2012
Basic Functions: Using approved guidelines, manages the process of
manufacturing printed materials into finished products such as answers
keys and books
Specific Responsibilities
Operate the high speed copy machines (Printer Center Pro 1050, 6500,
and Xerox) and monitor their digital computer systems
Operate the bindery-production machinery which does the cutting,
folding, gathering, gluing, stapling, trimming and finishing of books
Train helpers in the safe and proper operation of bindery-production
machinery and schedule maintenance and repairs for equipment
Keep operations manual up-to-date
Keep other facility informed as to availability in helping them with
performance of their duties
Track all maintenance required by production equipment
Maintain quality control procedures in production area
Perform other related duties as assigned
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AMERICAN BOOK COMPANY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.2
Culture
2.8

AMERICAN BOOK COMPANY Reviews by Location