Find companies:
American Cancer Society
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
342 reviews

American Cancer Society Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, Low Pay
Executive Administrative assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 10, 2013
Pros: helping cancer patients, good benefits, generous vacation/pto.
Cons: low pay
The cause is great and if you enjoy helping people, you will like working here. However, if you know anything about working for non-profit, the pay for regular workers...very low and for managers and executives very high. You will be expected to participate in various fund-raising events, even those after hours with no pay. However, it's all for the – more... cause. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling place to work
Team Supervisor (Current Employee), Austin, TXDecember 5, 2013
The American Cancer Society providers a very gratifying place of employment. What they do not provide is competitive compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experiance
professors assistant (Former Employee), indiana paDecember 3, 2013
Pros: good experiance
Cons: one year job
I enjoyed helping the professor with the tasks that he needed me to do on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People treat you like you are family!
Data Entry Specialist (Current Employee), Austin, TXDecember 3, 2013
Working with ACS is one of the best places I have ever worked. From day one I was treated like family. Everyday at the job was a new day ..fun but yet we all worked very hard to complete our mission. We were a team!! I learned so must about the company that and what they do for families going through this time of illness. The hardest part is finfing – more... out that someone lost thier fight with cancer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No
Patient Resource Specialist (Current Employee), Austin txNovember 29, 2013
Securing resources and coordinating volunteers. It is frustrating and depressing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job
Director of Comprehensive School Health (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 24, 2013
Worked in many aspects of cancer prevention, mostly on tobacco and school health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding work and I appreciated all the hands on training I received
Event Recruiter/Coach (Former Employee), Hackensack, NJNovember 21, 2013
Pros: worked with a fun staff
Cons: the project/job was only for 6 months during the year.
After working on the project for 6 months it was easy to become like family to the staff there.
I was able to take advantage of training that was offered to me as a Patient Resource Volunteer in the hospitals and the Road to Recovery program for patients receiving treatment.
Learned how to leverage large corporations through their employee volunteer – more... programs and participation in the organizations events.
Learned how to organize and fund-raise for a large one day walk of 9,000 people and over $600,00. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and volunteers in the organization who truly cared about the mission. Expectations were high and required long hours.
Income Development Representative (Former Employee), Frackville, PANovember 13, 2013
Pros: meeting hundreds of new people
Cons: long hours - many nights and week-ends
The job was over-seeing and managing established fundraising events - and working with the committees of volunteers who were to actually run the events. The hours were very long and included frequent evening and week-end meetings and activities since most of the volunteers worked during the day. That was the hardest part of the job for me - in addition – more... to the need to be constantly lugging boxes of fundraising materials around. My car was always packed to the roof!

The best part of the job was the people and the mission. There was something very powerful about funding research for cancer that many people related to. The supervisors I worked with were great and I learned a great deal. AND I loved my co-workers. A great organization that I have a lot of respect for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteering
Volunteer (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLNovember 13, 2013
I learned how rewarding volunteering could be, It was an organization close to my heart and I participated in events with family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people to work with
Security Guard (Former Employee), San Fernando Valley, CANovember 11, 2013
A typical day started early in the morning and ended late at night. I learned that working well with other helped make the job easier. Communication was key to do well in this job. Management and the co-workers were very friendly. At times, they got stressed out, but it did not affect their job performance. The hardest part of the job denying entrance – more... to angry people who were not allowed in the event. However, by remaining calm and being friendly, I managed to do well. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a great group of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fit my career path
Board Member, Mission Delivery, Reach to Recovery (Former Employee), Albany, GANovember 8, 2013
Pros: helped the community
Met with other board members to discuss fund raising, volunteer programs and training. Mission Delivery-responsible for reaching the community, informing them of ACS programs. Reach to Recovery-paired up with breast cancer patients (I am a survivor) as a support system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall organization, but local management was awful
Income Development Representative (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHNovember 7, 2013
Every day was different, which was great. However, it was not uncommon to work an 18+ hour day. The job demanded so much from the employees and management helped little. If I didn't have a personal connection with cancer I could never have stayed with the job as long as I did. I had the most experience, but those who were starting after me got paid – more... considerably more than I did. I was promised a raise time and time again (a very earned raise) and management always messed up the process leaving me with no raise. Somehow, they even managed to give me a pay demotion towards the end of my time with the organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing work place
Administrative and Special Events Volunteer (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALNovember 7, 2013
American Cancer Society is a great place to work. Every day is different. Different types of fundraisers every month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive engaging and very exciting opportunities
Volunteer Crew Member (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 4, 2013
I only volunteered for a few events during my span with them I enjoyed networking and meeting people from all walks of life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Organized and Efficient Society
Active Committee Member (Current Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYOctober 29, 2013
•Work as a student volunteer
•I have learned the process of organizing and planning a Relay for Life event
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
American Cancer Society Assistant (Former Employee), Miami, FLOctober 27, 2013
These events may be small but they were a lot of fun being a part of. Once everyone takes part in the activities it gives me the feeling i get when I'm around family, happy and at ease . It's a lot of fun meeting new people each annual event.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteers make this job worth while
Community Representative (Current Employee), Portage, MIOctober 24, 2013
It is fast paced and FULL of goal requirements that can be hard to meet in this financial downcast.

If you love working with all sorts of people this is the job for you, but the hours are long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment in which to reach those in need of services and raising funds to fight cancer
Manager, Corporate Relations (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CAOctober 23, 2013
Pros: fast-paced, never boring pace
Cons: had a corporate office off-site that was not very effective
There was no typical day at work. Fundraising is a 7-day-a-week job that reaps great rewards. I learned I was able to run a major event while doing my own job at the same time. I had a supportive, open, non-judgmental supervisor who is still on my email list. Co-workers were for the most part as dedicated as I was and fun to work with. Hardest part – more... of the job were the long hours. Most enjoyable were the "wins" of large donations and a successful event. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Changing Something
STaff (Former Employee), Oakland, CAOctober 23, 2013
Pros: mission
Cons: management and leadership
The change from grassroots to grass top is changing the culture of an organization with a great mission. Management culture is very old school - drink from the punchbowl or be left out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
valuable experience in a team based atmosphere
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Hauppauge, NYOctober 22, 2013
Pros: good healthcare benefits and able to flex our time when the need ariss
Cons: sometimes there were time constraints when we had multiple events going on simultaneously
My experience here has given me the opportunity to broaden many life skills such as interacting with individual communities and learn how to make a difference. I enjoyed my time that I have spent here and will continue to grow as a result.

My typical day included responding to inquiries from volunteers, my peers and patients that I dealt with to find – more... rides or treatment programs. I always maintained a good rapport with managers and co-workers as we all joined together to support each other in our daily routines. Another very important part of my job was to process all donations that came into our office whether online or daily mail.

The hardest part of my job was speaking with patients who were going through their treatment and were having difficulties dealing with their prognosis. You learn to be a good listener and it made me feel good knowing that we could assist these patients with positive results. The most enjoyable part of my job was when I was able to attend events and see how many changes have taken place to support our communities. – less

About American Cancer Society

The American Cancer Society is the nationwide community-based voluntary health organization dedicated to eliminating cancer as – Read more

American Cancer Society Photos