American Crystal Sugar Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Coworkers
Ag Intern (Former Employee) –  East Grand Forks & Crookston, MNMay 28, 2015
The Ag Department in East Grand Forks and Crookston were very determined workers. They were very capable and willing to help me as the intern. It was a very positive and encouraging experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Site Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDApril 18, 2015
Great Place to work
Challenging Environment
Great Co Workers
Great Leadership
Flexible Hours
Great Job Handling Touch Situations
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay for someone without a degree but with great work ethic
PULP DRIER FIREMAN (Current Employee) –  Crookston, MNSeptember 16, 2014
I applied for a manufacturing technician and received the job. I was paid fifteen per hour starting. I worked very hard at any task that was given to me and learned whatever I could learn about the factory.

One supervisor was impressed with my work ethic and commitment and promoted me to a job that paid six dollars more per hour.
Pros
good pay for someone without a degree but willing to work hard and to learn.
Cons
many women can get away with not doing anything or showing up.
Was this review helpful?Yes30No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Payroll Clerk (Former Employee) –  Crookston, MNMarch 28, 2014
Work with garnishments and child supports, review of time and attendance, other duties as assigned.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging job.
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  East Grand Forks, MNOctober 29, 2013
Working 12 hour days made it easy to get overtime at least one week per month.
You worked three weeks and then had a week off.
You were eligible for their 401-K plan when hired.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benifits, High pay rate
CNC Machinist/Programmer (Current Employee) –  Drayton, NDOctober 6, 2013
ACSC in Drayton is a real solid workplace. I have a great job and benefits for my family and myself. I could probly retire here if I wanted to with no problem for the next 30 years.
Pros
benifits, wage
Cons
some employees, union politics
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Place To Work
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Crookston, MNSeptember 2, 2013
I was a Production Supervisor in the Crookston, MN plant, I was able to see not only the Management side of things but also the union side as well. This is nothing short of a hostile work environment for not only the union folks but also the lower management folks as well. I was called into the office numerous times for not only stupid stuff that typical employees complained about but for things that made no sense at all! Everything is hush hush around the plant, the pay is very substandard for the union environment, however the pay was good for the production supervisors. My boss made 98,000 a year for sitting on his butt doing nothing but emails when I made 60,000 working my tail off. I received no formal training what so ever!!!! I also never even received new employee orientation, I was just handed a white hat and said here you go now figure out your job. As a manager you should be trained on company policies and procedures so you know what your enforcing. I have been in the food industry for over 15 years and at this plant anything with common sense is strictly out the door. Once again this is a very poor place to work unless you have exhausted all other avenues. If possible get in with the union so you have a leg to stand on when American Crystal thinks you did something wrong!
Pros
managment wages
Cons
short or no breaks, low wages for union personal, favortisim
Was this review helpful?Yes27No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place but no time for life out of work.
Production Operator (Current Employee) –  Moorhead, MNNovember 12, 2012
I work a rotating work schedule, one week 8-4, two days off then 7 days of 4-12 then two days off, and 7 days of 12-8am.
Pros
good pay.
Cons
hostile work enviroment and no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes35No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work until employee lock-out in 2011
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Moorhead, MNJuly 2, 2012
Was a good place to work until employee lock-out in 2011. Before this time I enjoyed working with the employees and management at the Moorhead facility.
Pros
decent pay and benifits
Cons
some of the management were uncaring about the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No9

Want to know more about American Crystal Sugar Company?

Ask a question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture