Find companies:
American Eagle Airlines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
161 reviews

American Eagle Airlines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Airline Pilot (Current Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 9, 2013
This is a great company to work for, despite the difficult times that are now occurring with the bankruptcy. The company has always been fair and honest to me and my coworkers are the best in the airline industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment. Always moving and fast pace
Ramp and Cargo Agent (Former Employee), Miami, FLOctober 4, 2013
Pros: flight benefits, available hours, flexible shifts
Cons: top out at $15.00
A day at this job would start with you receiving your flight assignments from your crew chief. You have to be at your station 30 minutes prior to the departure or arrival of your flight, which allows you to set up your designated area. I learned a lot from this job such as city codes,scanning programs, SABRE programs, OSHA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Boston, MAOctober 4, 2013
Pros: free flights, swaps shifts, meeting new people
Cons: pay
It was a family. I have lifetime friends. The best job i ever had. The hardest part of the job was when flights got delayed or cancelled and all airlines are full.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Days work
ramper (Current Employee), Chicago IL ORDOctober 2, 2013
Pros: daily rushes
Cons: communications
typical day starts busy parking planes unloading passenger's luggage and connecting them to other destinations, everyday is a challenge and one has to be in its toes and alert for safety, the helping of each worker is very crucial in the final goal about this job, pushback planes on time so our passengers can reach their destinations on time, there – more... are times when a plane arrives late and since this is a crucial time arriving-departure flights extra efforts are needed on certain groups of rampers in order to comply with departure times, it is very rewarding to finally see a plane and its passengers to see on their way to their destination. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A normal day at Eagle.
Airframe & Powerplant Mechanic (Current Employee), DFW AirportSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: flight benefits, good hands-on experience.
Cons: no hollydays, no weekends.
Go through a briefing at the beginning of the shift and review a production sheet, Perform different tasks such as; inspections, shecduled, unscheduled maintenance, phases and much more. I learned many major tasks specially under pressure of having to complete the job by a certain time due to a scheduled flight that same morning. I enjoyed more when – more... they would get me involved in new and different tasks. Management was never involved with any of the workers, only when there were major issues. But other than that there was no connection in between, some co-workers were a bit rational amongst eachother. I was basically there to do my job and get it done. Never did I care to form part of that typical crew which would always talk and criticize others. The most enjoyable part of the job was the learning that was involved, all the qualifications that I earned such as Engine Run/Taxi, Up- Loading FMS/GPS Data Base and others. And the flight benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for an Airline
Operations Agent (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: travel privilages. you will fly free.
Cons: low wages
Working for an Airline can be great. Should you do it as a hobby and not a career. A typical day can go from running smoothly to chaos in the matter of minutes. High paced, high strung individuals and passengers. If you are not a friendly and proactive individual, working for an airline is not for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Fleet Service Clerk (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 28, 2013
Pros: driving and coworkers
Cons: management
This has to be the worst job every. As a LCD (local driver) it was ok. You have a lot if down time in between flights and that's a plus on a hot day. But as far as being a good job its not a place for a woman to be. And management does not care if your hurt, sick or someone passed away, they want you at work regardless. Its sad to see people who work – more... there and they are always depressed or complaining. That's a reason why I'm trying to find something else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very rewarding, fast paced job
CUSTOMER SERVICE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Flint, MIAugust 27, 2013
Pros: co-workers
Cons: sporadic hours, change hours every three months.
I worked for American Eagle Airlines for Five years. It is here that you learn a lot about customer service and conflict resolution. The hardest part of the job are the hours. There can be times when you are working several hours over your regular shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you need personal time, become a F/A
Flight Attendant (Current Employee), Miami, FLAugust 24, 2013
Pros: away from home and your wife
Cons: hard to eat healthty
Easy piece Japanese
The hardest part of the job is that some days u spend to much time at the airport.
First year you don't really make much money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to start
A & P Mechanic (Former Employee), DFWAugust 23, 2013
Pros: learned a lot and met alot of gooood people.
Cons: manegment
Great place to start and learn, but Management is horrible. The Union TWU is worthless.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 18, 2013
Great work in environment. Able to meet many new people at any time of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 12, 2013
while working at American eagle Airlines i enjoyed the work day the people there are very nice and careing, typical work day would be in the many warehouses cleaning areas and inventory control
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Portage, MIAugust 5, 2013
Pros: cheap stand by flights
Very few possibilities for promotion. You will have to move to be promoted to a higher level than supervisor. Easy work but not a good industry to build a career. There are a lot of uncertainties in the regional airline business, including job security and pay. Employee contact bids are up every three years or so and you may find yourself out of a job – more... depending on what regional company wins the bid. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work. Very nice working environment
Fleet Service Clerk (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 29, 2013
Pros: pretty good amount of down time in between working
Cons: bad weather
Worked the night shift from 1:30-10. Learned how to load and unload aircrafts, how to hook up a GPU (Ground Power Unit) to the aircraft, how to marshall aircrafts to be parked and of course how to push back aircrafts from the gates to prepare for take off. Management was pretty friendly and understanding for the most part and I rarely had complaints – more... about my co-workers work ethics. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the weather in the winter time since the job was outdoors. The most enjoyable part was everything else! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Fleet Service Clerk (Former Employee), Durham, NCJuly 25, 2013
Great Place To work at. Managers take care of the ones who really put in work and follow assignments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the jobs is helping others.
Station Agent (Current Employee), Joplin, MOJuly 20, 2013
Pros: love fast paced work, and work better on a quick timeline.
Cons: on a few days a week i am there from 1:00 to 10:00, and be along for the majority of it and not be able to go get somthing to eat or drink.
At my current job I work the ticket counter issuing boarding passes.
I issue bag tags and recieve the money for checked bags. I also ticket people and recieve the money from that transaction.

When the plane arrives I go to the gate area, and become a gate agent. I drive the jetbrige over to the plane and hook up the adapter to let the passengers out.

I – more... make the appropiate announcements reguarding valets bags, then I collect all the valet bags and place them on an upload cart.

I then service the aircraft with whatever the flight attendant might need. Then I begin the boarding process. I use three different screens to close out passengers, to close out weights and balances, and to close out the flight completey in decs and print a performance review for the captain. Then I bring the paperwork up to the plane, and when they are done going over it, then they hand me the signed flight release, and I pull the jetbrige and put the final entries into the res screen. Then all the OPs paperwork must be done, as well as the fuel entred into decs. Then I have my atak to closeout and count, Then I sign for my atak and someone else signs to witness that I dropped the amount I was suppossed to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flight Opp
Commander (Former Employee), ShreveportJuly 18, 2013
Able To Meet Customers,Able To Travel AND eNJOY tHE wONDER tHE wORLD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun work environment
Lead Station Agent (Former Employee), TexasJuly 18, 2013
Pros: travel benefits
Cons: shift bidding
There is never a dull moment when working at American Eagle. This job gave me the opportunity to meet new people, and travel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Station Agent (Former Employee), Abilene, TXJuly 16, 2013
Pros: flight benefits
Baggage download and upload.
The most enjoyable part of the job would be baggage claim.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company forgot about me... literally.
Station Agent (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 13, 2013
Pros: i wouldn't know.
I am an aviation student, and I was so excited when I was hired on to work the line with American Eagle. I was hired, told I would receive the new higher paperwork via email (which I did), and I told I would receive further correspondence via email after the completion of my new higher paperwork (which I also did).

I completed all necessary forms, – more... sent everything in, and I received a call from the station manager to keep an eye out for yet another email containing start dates, and training materials (which I never received) I called the manager roughly a week later, as this all took place over a major holiday weekend, curious as to when I should be receiving such items. I was rudely informed that I no call no showed my training shifts, and I still hadn't competed the online training materials. I explained that I never got such things, and he ridiculed me as if I was lying. I later received an apologetic phone call explaining that I was accidentally left off of the email mailing list. Unfortunately, I wouldn't have been allowed to jump into training midway through, and I was informed that I would have to wait until they had a new group of new hires before I could complete training. Since they send someone out to the airport from the corporate office to conduct such training, it would have been a major waste of their time to conduct training for just one individual.

Two months go by and I'm still waiting eagerly to begin training... I am still in contact with my station manager, and still receiving small regular paychecks for paid holidays, and minimal hours in order to keep my employment status. Although I am not allowed to work since I haven't completed the mandatory training, the station manager was still clocking me in for a couple hours per week so their payroll system wouldn't automatically drop me from employment due to not clocking in for extended periods of time.

It's been three months now and I decide that I cannot do this anymore. I need to find employment and I need to make some real money. I began seeking employment elsewhere, and I sent in my letter of resignation. A few weeks later I receive a bill in the mail from American Eagle Airlines... they wanted their money back. I was paid roughly 400.00 dollars over the course of my 3 and a half month employment. I was paid because my station manager was clocking me in so I could keep my employment status, and now that I decided that this just wasn't cutting it, they want their money back, and they gave me 60 days to comply before sending me to collections. How low. – less

About American Eagle Airlines

American Eagle Airlines

American Eagle Airlines Photos