American Electric Power (AEP) Employee Reviews

Showing all 165 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging
Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Gahanna, OHJanuary 10, 2017
A typical day was challenging, because I dealt with irate customer as my main duty. But I enjoyed the challenge involved in solving the issue of the customers.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Excessive overtime due to nature of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Electrical Groundsman (Current Employee) –  Waianae, HIJanuary 2, 2017
Identify module performance issues with testing equipment. Troubleshoot, debug and repair control and motor drives on tracker equipment. Perform voltage and current checks on AC/DC systems. Perform preventative maintenance on inverters and equipment
Pros
Great pay and benifits
Cons
Short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay just no company loyalty back to the employee
Senior Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJanuary 2, 2017
Able to work alone or with a team in various locations

Fellow co-workers enjoyable to work with

No support from upper management

No recognition from upper management
Pros
Good pay and working conditions
Cons
Lack of leadership from supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, good pay, and above all, safety first.
Supervisor and Scheduling of Line crews (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXDecember 17, 2016
Top company to work for. All persons very well trained in all aspects. Excellent benefits. Always advancement opportunities. All equipment maintained and upgraded as needed. Excellent safety record.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Video Producer (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 17, 2016
Great place to work. I have spent over 15 years there. Main headquarters in Columbus, OH. Management truly cares about each employee. I would recommend working here to anyone.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
meter reader (Former Employee) –  Pharr, TXDecember 16, 2016
The work week is Monday to Friday unless you are on call. You get the training needed to do what you are assigned and management is mostly made of people who did the work they manage so they know what it is like to be out there working and are helpful when needed. The hardest part of the job is being out on call or during storms but is well compensated. The company is a family and help each other when needed
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Integration Developer (Former Employee) –  n/ADecember 14, 2016
This is a great company to work for. Great IT company fun work atmosphere and awesome supervisors and coworkers. I really enjoyed working here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very numbers driven
Customer Solutions Associate (Former Employee) –  Groveport, OHDecember 2, 2016
This job was very driven by how many phone calls you made per day- very numbers driven. You answer a ton of phone calls a day and work as if you are emergency personnell
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working at AEP
Payment Processor (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHNovember 20, 2016
I loved all my coworkers, would still be there if they wouldn't have laid off a bunch of employees, I was never fast at the 10 key but with being at AEP for so long I can now do over 10,000 key strokes
Pros
great place to work and great co workers
Cons
getting laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Analyst
Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 9, 2016
Participated in Cost Estimation Class 5, Class 4 and Class 2 to remediate applications and also various other dispositions. Analysis of effort model and data in the estimation sheet. Assist Project Manager in Project management Plan and Resource Planning
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Storeroom Attendant (Former Employee) –  Tiffin, OHOctober 23, 2016
Enjoyed the experience and training along with working with wonderful people. Good supervision and benefits, would recommend to anyone.
Pros
Very safety conscience
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Companyand benefits.
Line Mechanic C (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXOctober 6, 2016
AEP is great to work for and has great benefits. I only left because of medical reasons. The benefits were great as well. it's a large company but has a great work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and good work enviroment.
Lead Materials/Constuction Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Gentry, AR/Lawton, OKSeptember 27, 2016
Typical day to work would be anywhere from 10 to 12 hours a day from 6AM to 4 or 6PM depending on schedule. I learned how to put safety as first priority, lead group, proper decision making, computer systems, organize/inventory material, customer focus and etc.. Management was incredible never had worry about bosses breathing down your neck unless something is terrible wrong which never happened and raises were always on time. The folks I worked with were incredible, extremely knowledgeable, respectful, willing to learn and very reliable. The hardest part of the job is traveling but the per diem made that much easier. Being surrounded by good workers si what made that job the best.
Pros
Very good money, good people, and safe work enviroment
Cons
Traveling
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
In Service Inspection Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bridgman, MIAugust 17, 2016
The units were in good shape coming up at that time and the work load was manageable. Enjoyed working there, the location the city, the area around the plant was great.
Pros
Living in Michigan
Cons
Winter
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady employment with awesome benefits
MRO Field Revenue Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chickasha, OKAugust 5, 2016
Good people to work with
Lots of driving time and physical repetitious work
Awesome benefits with pension plan
My job was automated and there were only so many positions available. I was offered a severance package.
Great place to retire
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer to work for
Maintenance Welder (Former Employee) –  Waterford, OHJuly 26, 2016
I learned many new skills while working there. Co workers turned into great friends and management always got us the training we needed to perform our jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company to work at
Substation Electrician/Technician (Current Employee) –  Muncie, INJuly 19, 2016
Overall good company to work for, substation hours are great(4- 10hr days), culture needs improvement, management needs improvement, staffing needs improvement, benefits are good, good apprenticeship program.
Pros
Competitive benefits, annual performance bonus, safety #1
Cons
Young management, understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Senior Hourly Energy Trader (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 12, 2016
• Traded hourly and optimized a diverse portfolio of generating units for one of the largest utilities in the United States.
Pros
Lots of free tickets to sporting events.
Cons
Company struggling with coal plants.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hecktic
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJuly 4, 2016
I would answer calls and help customers with their bills, such as make payment arrangements, explain bill, handle power outage calls, open and close accounts,
Pros
loved helping the customers
Cons
management was disappointing at times
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Core Shift representative (Former Employee) –  Groveport, OHJune 28, 2016
Solid employer that treats it's employees well. There is good advancement potential and huge opportunity for anyone willing to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Electric Power (AEP). Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 165 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8