American Electric Power (AEP)

American Electric Power (AEP) Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 150 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer to work for
Maintenance Welder (Former Employee) –  Waterford, OHJuly 26, 2016
I learned many new skills while working there. Co workers turned into great friends and management always got us the training we needed to perform our jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company to work at
Substation Electrician/Technician (Current Employee) –  Muncie, INJuly 19, 2016
Overall good company to work for, substation hours are great(4- 10hr days), culture needs improvement, management needs improvement, staffing needs improvement, benefits are good, good apprenticeship program.
Pros
Competitive benefits, annual performance bonus, safety #1
Cons
Young management, understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Senior Hourly Energy Trader (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 12, 2016
• Traded hourly and optimized a diverse portfolio of generating units for one of the largest utilities in the United States.
Pros
Lots of free tickets to sporting events.
Cons
Company struggling with coal plants.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hecktic
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJuly 4, 2016
I would answer calls and help customers with their bills, such as make payment arrangements, explain bill, handle power outage calls, open and close accounts,
Pros
loved helping the customers
Cons
management was disappointing at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Core Shift representative (Former Employee) –  Groveport, OHJune 28, 2016
Solid employer that treats it's employees well. There is good advancement potential and huge opportunity for anyone willing to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and reliable source of income
Field Representative IV (Current Employee) –  Chickasha, OKJune 17, 2016
Very active job with exposure to dangers in the electrical field, dogs, people with lots of driving and exposure to all elements of weather.

Company downsizing
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Exposure to elements
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Transmission Construction Line Mechanic C (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJune 13, 2016
Excellent work environment. Co workers treat everyone equally and with respect.
Experience worker always helped the new employees whenever a question was being asked
Strenuous and long work hours at times
Always room to grow at the company
Pros
Great insurance and benefits
Cons
mostly away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay and benefits
Senior Clerk (Former Employee) –  Conesville, OHApril 28, 2016
American Electric Power provided me with security and benefits that far exceeded most offered in this area, and I feel truly blessed to have worked there. When the company offered early retirement, I took advantage of their offer.

I am now looking to supplement my retirement income and would like to find a job utilizing the skills I have acquired.
Pros
Excellent pay and benefits
Cons
Glass ceiling, which is typical of many large companies
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A tale of two companies
Senior Risk Control Analyst (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 10, 2016
AEP is a very large corporation with lots of room for advancement. As with many large companies there can be politics involved. Depending on your group and management your experience will vary greatly.
Pros
Advancement in job category and plenty of room to pivot career path
Cons
Politics, Culture resistant to change, Management resistant to change.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at AEP has been a great opportunity for me.
Engineer Principal (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKApril 5, 2016
AEP treats employees fairly, and they operate with a high level of integrity. They go to great lengths to protect their public image. I have been given challenging work assignments, but also the support and resources to accomplish these tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Work
System Control Center Reliability Coordinator Sr (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 5, 2016
Working as part of the largest transmission network in the United States always brought something new everyday. Fellow employees and management took pride in the work we performed to power modern life.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Athens, OHMarch 31, 2016
Always had a paycheck. Overall good place to work. Good insurance overall fellow employees were good to work with. Enjoyed my time at AEP and the fellow employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
QA/Training (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMarch 11, 2016
Fast-paced, constantly changing, and energetic environment. Safety oriented culture. Co-workers are like family and friends. Always something to do and very little down time. Keeps you on your toes.
Pros
The poeple you work with want you to succeed.
Cons
Time constraints and deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turk Project - Managemet
John W. Turk, Jr. Project (Former Employee) –  Fulton, ARFebruary 12, 2016
Excellent personnel. Director set the guidelines, simple. Each person knew their roll and gatekeepers. Direct boss & Engineers were outstanding and helpful. If you are not contract personnel, and find a place this good, stay there forever.
Pros
Directives plain & simple
Cons
did not get to see finished Plant Project
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aep
Graphic Technician (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAFebruary 9, 2016
I like the people I work with and i like the job just want to be hired on full time and get PTO and benefits. Also would like to find a job that uses my 4 year degree.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dispatch
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHDecember 20, 2015
Really cool job working with the field reps. Taking their calls and enter in the information they provide you with and if they need something from you. Approving pay roll. Work environment was laid back but busy at the same time.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for.
Designer/Drafter CAD (Former Employee) –  Gahanna, OHDecember 16, 2015
I loved the various things I did and learned there and would like to return full-time with this company. I know this company will continue growing with all of it's reputation.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job minimal hours
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Evanston, WYDecember 16, 2015
My boss has been great to me over the years however not able to keep me busy. I would like to get at least 40 hours per week and am not bothered by 60 or 70. It is very rare i get a full 40 hour week though.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Not steady work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meter reading was a mistake
Meter Reader (Current Employee) –  Shreveport, LANovember 22, 2015
Went to become a lineman have been stuck in this job with what seems no future. They are planning to lay people off and they are doing it by seniority. I have wasted almost two years chasing a dream that i was worthy of achieving. Instead i have to hurry and find a new job to provide for my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company & fun employees
GIS Technician (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LANovember 20, 2015
The people that I worked with were fantastic. I loved how we came together and got things done. The other people in the company were great as well. The problem arose with the high amount of politics that came from management. Safety is also not one of their concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 150 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

American Electric Power (AEP) Reviews by Location