Find companies:
American Electric Power (AEP)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
96 reviews

American Electric Power (AEP) Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people are great to work with.
various positions (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMay 27, 2014
Pros: gym, cafe, cafeteria, parking garage.
Cons: they promote people who don't want to be promoted and those who do are stuck in a deadend.
Great place to work good people who put safety and service first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice atmosphere
Data Administrator-Accounts Payable (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMay 13, 2014
Excellent company to work for. Great benefits. Great group of people. Good salary and geat hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance is good!
Human Resource Representative (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMay 6, 2014
Company of accounts and engineers! Not a lot of andvancement, running so lean that it is difficult to gain valuable experience. When jobs do open, the company is only looking for senior level individuals that can "hit the ground running". The work has to get done so there is not a lot of room for entry level employees to learn and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a mom and pop operation
Top Helper/ Electrician (Former Employee), Walterboro SCApril 30, 2014
Pros: company vans
Cons: no pay advancements
Good if you just need work for short time, no advancement opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good saftey program
Sub-Critical Boiler Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Beverly, OHApril 23, 2014
Good group of people to help in what ever way they could.
They were shut down due to the strict coal regulations and unability to refuel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment to work in
Eastern Transmission Planning Engineer (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 26, 2014
Typical day at work involves checking emails, attend meetings, working on existing projects, and/or devising new alternative to mitigate reliability issues associate with system performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a Good Company
Enrollment (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 13, 2014
Pros: employee events
Cons: advancement
Overall a good company to work at in the end. Advancement was hard but the experiences learned was worth it in the end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Workers Compensation Manager (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: old culture resistange to change
Cons: steady and stable
care about there employee and safety. they have a old culture and that could make it hard for new comers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing to be a lineman
Lineman Apprentice (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJanuary 29, 2014
Working out side enjoy the life as a apprentice. Management was great as well as the people I worked for. Nothing hard about linework. Always still learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Instrument, Control, and Electrical Technician (Former Employee), Louisa, KYJanuary 21, 2014
Excellent work environment. Competent management. Employees are valued and respected. Compensation and benefits are excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so great
Station electrician (Former Employee), Lawton, OKJanuary 16, 2014
The station in Lawton was very tough to work in. It's hard to learn from people that are hostile 80% of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fulfilling
Kelley Temp Service (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: the training process and utilizing the skills that i learned in the field.
Cons: the position held was temporary.
The typical day while working with the American Electric Power Company was exciting for me. I was hired on as a temporary employee. The assignment that I was given was new and fulfilling during the time. The management staff were professional and patient with me. My co-workers were phenomenal and worked together as a team/unit. The most enjoyable part – more... of the position that I held as a temporary employee was that I was able to learn the trade. I was introduced to skills that I utilized quite well in the field as a AEP meter reader. I was also introduced to many residential as well as commercial and business clienteles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am stuck and going nowhere with this company.
Senior Material Analyst (Current Employee), Moundsville, WVJanuary 3, 2014
A typical day at AEP consists of getting a job assignment from management and being able to communicate with co-workers to complete the task. The most difficult part of the job is being able to multi-task the required work load.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good stable enviroment.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 30, 2013
Pros: compensation
Cons: opportunites for advancement somewhat limited
Compensation was very good. A good stable environment. Many good years there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
journeyman electrician
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 13, 2013
I mainly learned more about controls and terminations.
the people i worked for was great and the environments was suitable for construction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive atmosphere with team work assistance availiable
Helpdesk service technician (Former Employee), Columbus OHDecember 9, 2013
Pros: weekly lunches sponser by other recruiting company
Cons: paying for parking
Answering between 60-100 calls a day, the calls were only limited to 5-7 minutes. Tickets system was base off of Service Now. The management was open minded to take suggestions and was able to give positive feed back. The hardest part of the job was not being able to used you complete skills in assisting customer due to the time limited. The enjoyable – more... part was able to have a atmosphere where the team work as one – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good culture and values, excellent compensaton/benefits
IT Systems Analyst (Former Employee), tulsaNovember 3, 2013
the external consulting firm reviewing and restructuring all areas of the business has had a a very negative impact on IT and shared services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no commitment to thier people
Customer Operations Senior Associate (Current Employee), Groveport, OHOctober 28, 2013
Pros: my hours
Cons: to many unproductive requirements
AEP could do better in employee - relationships. I find it to be just a means of paying my bills at this time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment and good company
Accountant (Current Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 22, 2013
Great Company
Great benefits
Great Work/life balance
Enjoyable part is working with great people
Hardest part is working in a old school culture, so advancement isn't easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all around good employer
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANCE (Former Employee), Canton, OHSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: boring
A typical day at work would include checking weather report. Looking over attendance, so that if anyone called off the reconnects and disconnects could be transferred to another Specialist. Answering questions from Supervisors, and field personnel regarding customer's accounts.