American Electric Power (AEP)

American Electric Power (AEP) Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 152 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy enironment
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  USAMay 29, 2015
Interesting role supporting Snr. Management
Learned the operations of providing electricity to customers
The hardest parts of the job was long hurs
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large corporation that provide many job opportunities throughout my 20 years.
Manager, System Help Desk (Former Employee) –  TulsaMay 18, 2015
The culture of AEP was very open and honest. The employees that worked hard and took pride in their work were rewarded. The daily work was based on the corporate business plan (both a 10-year and 5-year plan) so we all understood our role in making our company successful.
Pros
Very good employee development programs
Cons
Numerous restrictions based on utility board (federal, state, and local) requirements.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Production Welder (Former Employee) –  Winfield, WVMay 2, 2015
A good place to work depending on the location. The pay is great and so is the benefits. Only downside is they are a coal driven company. Coal is not a bad thing but the government thinks so.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
2nd Mate (Former Employee) –  Paducah, KYApril 27, 2015
If you want to be gone for 28 days then home for 28 days this is the job for you. The pay is great and the benefits are the best most place do not offer anymore. The work is hard but you are still making money.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hard work for good pay.
Junior clerk (Former Employee) –  Delaware, OHApril 11, 2015
AEP is good to me. I love the benefits. Their training is excellent.

You must be flexible. Hard work is always rewarded. I started as a clerk. Did banking for AEP. Worked with petty cash. Balanced my cash drawer and the office. Was the supply clerk. I was an office supervisor.. I have worked with computer programmers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 10, 2015
Great place for working mothers excellent benefit packages. Flexible hours are great for busy working parents. Great people to work eith
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good steady work
Maintenance Mechanic, Machinist (Current Employee) –  Rockport, IndianaFebruary 27, 2015
Enjoyed working here for many years. Co workers are like family. Just like everywhere else insurance is getting more expensive and they are cutting benefits. However for the area it is still a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
SENIOR CUSTOMER SERVICE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  hurricane wvFebruary 27, 2015
handled day to day operations of 11 states using PSC rules to help clients open, close service, trouble tickets, outages, payments taken
Pros
family oriented
Cons
mandatory overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, hardworking, and collaborative environment
Structuring Analyst (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 14, 2015
Structure and price large wholesale power contracts, monitor costs associated with power delivery and develop risk mitigation practices to ensure costs are properly accounted for.
Pros
management, fast paced enviroment, constant change
Cons
longer than normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company had it's pros and cons
Field Contract Manager (Former Employee) –  Winfield, WVFebruary 13, 2015
This was an okay good company to work for, as the pay was good. However, they were very disorganized at the corporate level and communication between corporate units was nonexistent.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Distribution Dispatcher III (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 31, 2015
Held multiple positions at this large corporation over 30+ years. The last 8+yrs I spent in the Distribution Dispatching group as a Dispatcher III. The work was fast paced and required someone comfortable at multi-tasking.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth your time
Deck Hand - River Operations Division (Former Employee) –  Lakin, WVJanuary 24, 2015
If you are going to work out on the river I suggest another company other than this. It does pay more and they do have decent benefits but the promotion sucks and they have a click and if you are not apart of it then watch your back. I have seen good people get fired for minor infractions. I would work for Archer Daniels, Marathon or someone else if I was wanting to work on the river.
Pros
pay is decent and benefits are good
Cons
back stabbing, clickish, promotion sucks. you will be in your position for a while
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First rate Organization
Fuels Contract Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 22, 2015
Dallas based company - well run, lean .

People who from bottom to top did the right thing, rewarded success and set very high integrity standards.

Learned that big business can be run by savvy individuals that can maintain both Wall street success and a first class employee environment that challenges and promotes employee and business growth.
Pros
opportunity to grow from college green to mature business professional
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meets Basic Standards
Work Week Manager (Current Employee) –  Bridgman, MIJanuary 18, 2015
If you want your life to be all about the job and only the job this is the place to be.
Pros
good compensation and benefits
Cons
terrible work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at John Amos Plant, AEP
System Owner Senior (Current Employee) –  Winfield, WVDecember 24, 2014
Most of the people are great to work with. Enjoyed coming to work each day. Leaned a lot about project management and maintenance planning.
Pros
bonus, good benfits
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The AEP - DC Cook Experience
Senior Auditor and Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 3, 2014
AEP - DC Cook was a great place to start my career. I learned a tremendous amount while working there and was able to travel around the country evaluating suppliers. This allowed me to learn a lot from how different products we use at a nuclear plant are fabricated. I got to meet a lot of new people and felt like family there as well.
Pros
close to home, good pay and benefits
Cons
during outages - stress levels would rise in most co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable to work for (Contract Employee)
project management and cost analysis (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKNovember 29, 2014
8 hour day
developed design abilities
management excellent
co-workers were excellent
Pros
good working conditions (employees & workplace)
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  ILNovember 4, 2014
A great working environment with opportunity. It is pleasure to work for an organization that touches so many.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subject to micromanagement, mangement poorly communicates
Contractor through Sun Technical (Current Employee) –  MichiganOctober 13, 2014
Company claims to be a team-oriented place. However, it is anything but that. As a contractor, you are treated as lowly and replaceable. Process to get a permanent position is unclear and is subject to "who you know," as opposed to based on merit.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Large Corporation with many options for relocation and advancement
Transmission Substation Engineer II (Former Employee) –  Athens, OHOctober 9, 2014
I worked in Transmission-Substation group. Never a dull moment. Lots of new construction and maintaining older equipment. Each day is different and exciting.
Pros
great benefits and good people
Cons
you tend to get lost in a large company.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 152 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

American Electric Power (AEP) Reviews by Location