Find companies:
American Electric Power (AEP)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
94 reviews

American Electric Power (AEP) Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun and professional work enviorment
CDL Driver (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: free gas card weekly pay
Cons: major overtime
-[Only driver/courier to log 7,000 miles with no accidents or violations.]
-[Served as liaison and helped develop delivery schedule with new overnight service company located at airport.]
-[Initiated “orange cone” system, which reduced backing accidents in courier group and earned company safety award.]
- Pick and Load telephone poles to be set in location – more... at commercial home communities being built. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently a stressful place due to many cost cutting activities
Portfolio Investment Planner (Former Employee), Columbus OhioJanuary 21, 2013
AEP is finding itself in a difficult environment. As an electric provider that is largely based on burning coal, AEP is finding it challenging to compete with providers based on burning gas and'or utilizing nuclear.

Therefor AEP is cutting costs by reducing staff and eliminating benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding position. I felt part of the management team.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Oologah, OKDecember 27, 2012
Pros: instant result of my decisions and input.
Cons: corporate office was sometimes disengaged.
One woman office. Handled busy phones, responsible for $30 million budget consisting of O&M and Capital projects. Processed all accounts payable. I learned to make independent decisions concerning day to day operations of the plant. My co-workers were supportive and sharing. The hardest part of the job was relating to the corporate office which was – more... located in the East and values and operations were sometimes polar opposites of those in the mid-west. The enjoyable part was feeling I made a difference and was appreciated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in call center
Customer Service, Senior (Former Employee), Hurricane, WVDecember 24, 2012
Never a dull moment, Always learning new laws,information
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No official design - but did many different things
Field Project Engineer (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INDecember 5, 2012
Outside everyday - troubleshoot alot
Think on your feet and make decisions
Laid back management
co-workers communicate well
Hardest part for me was no board design
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always interesting work to be accomplished. Solid team members.
Manager, Technical Skills and Process Optimization (Former Employee), Columbus, OHNovember 30, 2012
Organization is committed to its goals. Views itself as a public service as well as committed to shareholders. Experiencing transition at this time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Billing Specialist
Customer Service Rep/Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Hurricane, WVNovember 23, 2012
Pros: fortune 500 company, great health care, long-term employment
Cons: midnight hours, un flexible schedule, call center enviroment
Answering phone calls from AEP's 11 state territory. Mostly dealing with billing questions. Adjusting bills, setting up payment agreements, extensions. Also dealing with commercial accounts. Inputing new customers in to Virtual Agent computer system. Faxing, filing, mailing documents to customers and agencies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for engineers
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioNovember 7, 2012
Pros: cafeteria, employee discounts at dell, hp, verizon, at&t, benefits
Cons: inconsistent rules throughout company and they vary from department to department, limited advancement opportunities for non-engineers.
However, if you're not an engineer, your advancement options are limited. Benefits are outstanding and work/life balance is terrific - depending on the boss you have. Some bosses are still stuck in the 50's mindset of a regular 8 - 5 job, others are not. For the most part, there's a lot of flexibility. Great bunch of folks to work with although AEP's – more... taken the whole "sensitivity" thing to new heights with its Ethics & Compliance Dept and policies. Common sense in some cases would be nice! Good location downtown Columbus although having to pay for parking (albeit subsidized) is a pain. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Coordinator (Former Employee), Gahanna, OHOctober 30, 2012
There are more contractors working in this building than full time folks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
External Affairs Manager (Current Employee), OhioOctober 18, 2012
Positive experience, competitve salary and benefits. AEP is on the cutting edge of energy initiatives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good size company to work for
SENIOR SCHEDULING ENGINEER (Current Employee), Columbus, OHSeptember 4, 2012
Very friendly people
Team work oriented
Good company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe, Productive, and Enjoyable workplace
Coal Equipment Operator (Current Employee), John E. Amos PlantSeptember 4, 2012
The position is responsible for safely conveying quality coal to the plant, unloading shipments of coal by railroad and river barges, and storing/ reclaiming coal. Additionally, the position involved Preventive Maintenance and Inspections on equipment to ensure a safe, productive workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Example: Productive and fun workplace with ping pong table
Cost Coordinator / Material Coordinator (Former Employee), New Haven WVAugust 5, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: bad management
sucessfully dealing with all types of contractors on every level of the project.
I learned to sucessfully control all aspects of the project.
My management only cared about themselves and not the employees.
my co workers are ok to work with.
dealing with my supervisors.
most enjoyable pert of my job was when i went home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Customer Service Managing Account Specialist (Former Employee), Groveport, OhioAugust 3, 2012
Pros: great pay, great benefits., training progam one on one
Cons: you have no life with this job, getting yelled at everyday by angery customers
The call center services 11 states. So, if there is a storm, outages,utility problems you could be working all night. Which is mandatory. You have no life with this job, The benefits are great!
The pay is also great. There is more to the Electric Bill then just talking to angry customers about their bill. You have a script to follow for example at the – more... end of each call you must say ' Is there anything else I can help you with?' With this not said you get points taken away. Every call is recorded and you have a time limit. I had a great supervisor. She is the best one at the company. I think. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A difficult place to work!
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Groveport, OHJuly 20, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: not the best work atmoshere.
Very stressful, and unorganized. The schedules were very hard to get use too, you never knew when things would change. Had alot to learn, and alot of multitasking. I think that management needs to focus on more important things than they do. I worked very hard and did the best I could do, had perfect attendance ...while others did not care about there – more... jobs, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Contract Risk Analyst (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 16, 2012
Learned a lot, very flexible hours. Had a lot of exposure to different areas of the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AEP
Station Engineer (Former Employee), OHJuly 7, 2012
AEP is a good company. Lots of training opportunities and the people are nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and comfortable workplace setting
Fleet Dispatcher (Current Employee), Convent, LAJune 29, 2012
• Manage self and others in support of safe and incident-free operations.
• Coordinates barge movements as requested by customers in conjunction with Port Captain, vessel crews, crew dispatcher, operations and maintenance staff, and terminal operations.
• Talks to customers to ensure great customer service and prompt delivery of their product.
• Responds – more... to emergency situations and communicates according to established procedures.
• Uses independent discretion and judgment when executing requests for barge movement under general supervision.
• Responds to operational problems in a timely and efficient manner.
• Participates in operational training including river time aboard tugs.
• May assist in arranging travel for vessel crews to and from boarding destinations.
• Produces and completes customer billing information, reports, and other internal records and reviews for accuracy.
• Responsible for prompt and regular attendance as scheduled.
• Other duties and responsibilities as assigned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good Career
Departmental Assistant - Quality Control (Former Employee), Bridgman, MIJune 26, 2012
Pros: great advancement opportunities
Cons: was laid-off
I loved my job is an understatement. I wanted to retire from there. I loved everything I did, I was given many opportunities, training, additional responsibilities, advancement, benefits, i could go on and on
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting enviroment
Graphics Tech and Drafting (Former Employee), Roanoke, VAJune 23, 2012
As a contractor I did the duties of a full AEP level employee (and in my case more because of my background in tech support) for a fraction of the income. A little lopsided but that's how their system works. It takes 10 years or so to graduate to actual AEP employee. I couldn't continue in the holding pattern.