Find companies:
American Esoteric Laboratories
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

American Esoteric Laboratories Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security questionable
Problem Resolution Specialist (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 30, 2014
Pros: free lab testing for employee and close family members
Cons: job security
great place to work, learning various testing. management okay,co-workers okay, location. Customer Satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TYPICAL DAY AT AEL IS VERY BUSY
CLINICAL TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Memphis, TNFebruary 22, 2014
AEL IS A VERY INTERESTING JOB AND IS ALSO VERY DEMANDING JOB,IN WHICH YOU ARE DEALING WITH PATIENTS HEALTH
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat professional
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Memphis,TNJanuary 14, 2014
A typical day at AEL was good .
I've learned to take blood and other specimens in a timely manner.
Management-n/a
I had some nice co-workers
To me all the traveling
Was meeting new patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is what you have to look forward to if you decide to join.
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 6, 2013
Pros: you won't be micromanaged
Cons: everything
This is by far one of the worst, unorganized companies I have ever worked for. The management is terrible and the pay is even worse! They do not stand behind their employees at all, at least the good ones. If someone says you did something then it's their word over yours. They do not care if you are at fault or not. They will not listen nor take into – more... consideration what you have said. They have employees who are rude and they know it but they just move them from one site to another. They are always understaffed because employees call-in on the regular especially on payday!! They even allow people to remain employed who have given another employee's name as their own name to a patient after being rude to that patient. They lie to clients about being a "stat" laboratory, but in actuality they have up to four hours to actually perform the test and report the results. Their starting pay for phlebotomist is about $9.35/hr. For a single person expect to spend almost $130 per pay period on subpar insurance. My advice only come for the experience and get the hell out of dodge!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice hours, flexible, and benefits
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 23, 2013
My days are typically fast paced. There is never a dull moment.
I love each day helping patients and making them smile. A lot of people have an opinion about a venipuncture, but I like to put them at ease to what people have to say about the "Vampires" (so they call us). The hardest part of the job is when someone may have gotten terminally ill, or – more... lost a love one. But I enjoy knowing that I helped making in making a difference in someones life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Secure work
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 8, 2013
Pros: set schedule
Cons: benefits not great, pay not great
I liked working for this company but, I was not getting paid what I was worth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No structure
Patient Account Representative (Current Employee), memphis,tnApril 28, 2013
Pros: it's a job
Cons: the job itself
At this job its all about WHO YOU KNOW!!!!! You cant get ahead. No advance move and if u do go to another dept no money is involved. Never over a quarter raise
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest
Medical technologist (Former Employee), Not TNMarch 19, 2013
Pros: 5% matching towards retirement, no weekends, fairly decent pay, nice coworkers
Cons: a lot squeezed onto each worker, non-communication and mistrust between upper management and employees, sub-par insurance, terrible lis
The good: great coworkers, no weekends, regular work hours, pay somewhat close to what you'd make at a hospital, up to 5% matching for retirement, will work with you for medical leave

Now for the rest. It is inexcusable for a laboratory network of AEL's size to have such an archaic, clumsy computer system. It requires a tremendous amount of 'work-arounds' – more... and re-work. It's an MS-DOS type system like you would expect from the 1980s. As a matter of fact, it is so bad that we lost a major client within weeks of implementation, since they weren't receiving any reports. As for pay, it is somewhat in the ballpark of what you would expect in a hospital, but there is no pay scale. So you could work there for years and have someone with no more experience leap-frog you in pay, for no discernible reason. After technically being part of AEL for a full year, we still had no employee handbook. As for retirement, it is very nice that you can get a 5% match. However, AEL employs a lot of lower-paid employees who cannot afford to contribute, and therefore, get nothing. I realize that is the name of the game nowadays, but we had a much better system before that benefitted everyone. Furthermore, the insurance is not great. We had Blue Cross, which was replaced by Cigna (which carries a $1500 deductible, and requires travel to find in-network dentists). I suppose my major critique has to do with the fact that we were bought out, but no one had the gumption to just flat out lay us off to start with. They short-staffed us via attrition, let the entire thing implode on itself, and then started doling out pink slips. We pressed and pressed for information all along, but were met with silence and feigned ignorance. And this was after we were told "we're not coming in here to make major changes or lay people off. That's not our business model."

So the long and short of it is this: if you are in a lab being bought out by AEL, watch for red flags and get your resume ready. Don't listen to anything anyone tells you. They want to retain their business during a transition, and will say what they need to in order to keep things running. When they enforce a hiring freeze, hit the door. If you are going to one of their longer-standing labs, it might actually become a decent place to work, if they get rid of LabGem. It is truly such a handicap to all aspects of the lab. It is even incapable of creating a manifest, so there's no way to track what was shipped when. You just have to work backwards from a pending log. Otherwise, the pay is okay and you don't work weekends (except Memphis). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run, don't walk from this company, especially if they are buying yours out
Med tech (Former Employee), The SouthMarch 15, 2013
Pros: no weekends, company match on retirement contributions
Cons: no job security, squeezing every last drop out of employees, non-communication between management and staff, complete emphasis on the bottom line rather than employee welfare, ridiculous management, no pay scale or employee handbook
Our company was bought out. AEL promised that they would not lay off any employees, because that is not part of their business model. We all thought, "how nice." What they failed to mention was that the changes they would implement would be so awful that no one would want to continue working there. The LIS is an MS-DOS-type menu system that should have – more... been abandoned with the Commodore 64. It requires so much re-work, and it was so flawed when it was implemented that we started losing clients immediately. They weren't receiving their reports! They took all our incentives and replaced our insurance with Cigna, which carries a $1500 deductible. No more TB skin tests given to employees. No more continuing education offered. I mean, it is totally bare-bones. No coffee service, no water cooler. And as for retirement, yes, there is a match (up to 5%), but their emphasis is so heavy on lower-paid employees, and they are not able to afford to make their own contributions. It's all geared to be as cheap as humanly possible. I truly have never seen an organization so big be so bad. And FYI: they HAVE started laying people off. If your company is about to be bought out by them, get your resume out, pronto. – less

– March 19, 2013

There actually IS still a water cooler, but there was a fight to keep it. Also, I thought this review failed to go through, so there will likely be another one following it that does at least present some of the positives. My apologies for the double posting.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience
Clin Tech (Current Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 11, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits, consistent management style and a sense of fairness to all employees
Cons: the ael operations is a 24/7/365 operation. however patient care has not time frames
The partnership this organization has formed with other Physicians is remarkable. Their correct lab results enhances patient care and their quick turnaround times are fantistic!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get laboratory experience.
Clinical Technician (Current Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 29, 2012
If you love helping people AEL is a wonderful place to work at. The people are lovely and they will help whenever and however they can.

unknownael – January 22, 2013

I worked for this company as a courier and it was the worst mistake of my life. This company has caused me poor health conditions due to the stress level and racism. SB

– March 11, 2013

I have found AEL to be an excellent company to work for and with. I rate them as a First Class Organization!!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Give results t doctors offices and hospitals.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 26, 2012
Take calls from doctors office and hospitals to gives patient results.
resolve problems with specimens.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being crossed trained on different jobs is a great asset
Clinical Technician (Current Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 21, 2012
Pros: shift i now work which is 7:30-4:00
Cons: benefits
I enjoy the working with the edit management team. My co-workers are enjoyable to be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
CLINICAL LABORATORY TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 7, 2012
I learned a great deal about the process of lab tests and how to prepare specimen and the preparation of lab tests. It was a very valuable work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not A Good Company To Work For
Clinical Tech (Former Employee), Memphis,Tn 1701 Century Center Cove AELAugust 1, 2012
Pros: there are no pros for this job only cons
Cons: breaks are too short you get a 15 min break and a 30 min break but you work 3-11:30pm or 8-4:30am, they don't want you to talk at all they want complete silence for the entire shift, no pay raises, bad management & supervision
The pay is unreasonable due to the amount of work they want produced. The shift differential pay is split on 3rd shift you are paid base pay for 4 hours and the shift premium pay for the other 4 hours. Management is terrible and majority of the supervisors are the same except one. The upper management is also terrible I never met or seen any of the – more... people in the upper levels of the company and they are in the same building as us. You are barely trained and any little mistake reflects on your part and not the lack of training. Also they lie and say they will be flexible with your school schedule in the interview until that time arrives and its the complete opposite. This company prefers that they are your main priority and that any other job or type of school is unimportant. Scheduling off days is completely difficult because you can schedule a day(s) months in advance and still not get those days off. If you get sick at work you are required to work 6 hrs before you can go home and you will still get penalized for it and get a half of a point deducted. A old rule of being sick and calling in was that you had to give a 24 hr notification that your gonna be sick (which I never understood that you know when your be sick ahead of time) but they changed it eventually. Although that changed the job assumes you can never get sick and they are very inconsiderate of their employees well being. The entire lab is not like this but the LSS Dept is the worse dept to work in.

P.S. pay raises are very slim most people who worked here for many years said they never get one and when they did it was only 5 cents. Oh yeah the supervisors come to work mad with personal issues and they take it out on the employees.

Overall I had a bad time working for this company and something needs to be done about ASAP!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A start-up laboratory with a good idea...that feel flat
Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 6, 2012
Pros: great opportunity, good compensation
Cons: changing business model that competed with larger established companies
I had a wonderful opportunity to join this new company that had a beautiful business model. The beginning role was as Marketing Manager, later becoming Sales Manager. It was a great experience to start at ground-level. The worst part was the company selling out to the competition and having no job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highest quality, customer and patient focused laboratory service
Senior Account Executive Manager (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMay 31, 2012
As a dedicated sales professional, I have determined over the past eight years I have a calling, a standing and a mission to represent and promote the most optimal and personalized laboratory service in the medical arena.

As the medical industry changes from year to year, I pride myself on staying true to my stand and fixed focus of successfully promoting – more... and delivering the highest quality, customer and patient focused product exceeding market expectations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace environment with co-workers.
Clinical Technician (Current Employee), Memphis, TNApril 12, 2012
Pros: healthcare, parties
Cons: short breaks, pay unreasonable
A typical day at work is getting my tools together to put in my work station and sitting at an computer putting in patient information and specimen types, labeling their specimen, and sending the specimen off to the testing areas thats required.
I have learned how to use the LabGem software and noticing what kind of specimen I have recieved and etc.
Management – more... is trouble in my opinion, their not so understanding when it comes to you and your family.
Co-workers are loveable here and there is nothing hard about the job.
The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to know my co-workers and learning how to work in an laboratory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you work for benefits. Don't expect to have fair management.
Accessioner (Current Employee), Nashville, TNApril 5, 2012
This is a great job to start at if you are trying to build your resume. If you are a lab tech this would be a good job. Benefits are awesome. Hours are some what flexible. My supervisor is awesome but the big man there is not fair.