American Express Employee Reviews in United States

Found 1,841 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 23, 2016
entry level job until they closed the facility - but unlike what happens today - Amex hired a recruiting agency to help all employees to find jobs - people we offered to move to lower cost locations - Amex was a class act!
Pros
class act
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Taylorsville, UTJuly 22, 2016
I have been with American Express for 3 years now. I have learned a lot about the banking industry and how to help people in a calm manner.
Unfortunately, I don't see room for advancement for me here. I was not fortunate enough to go to school for a degree and most positions, regardless of qualifications, require a degree.
I enjoy working with people on a team, but I also enjoy being left to do my job, the way they I can do it.
I enjoy being able to help clients when they are in a bad situation, it gives me a sense of satisfaction when they really appreciate the help I can provide.
On the other side of that, there are some people you just can't please no matter the situation, so that is tough.
Pros
cafe, work life balance, vacation, benefits
Cons
short lunch, very strict on staying on the phone, not even for bathroom breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies to work for
Corporate business manager (Former Employee) –  VEJuly 22, 2016
Good salaries
Good benefits
Training and development
Career path
swaps and cross training
Winning Culture
team building
Pros
Career Path
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for
Sales Sourcing Executive (Current Employee) –  VirginiaJuly 19, 2016
AMEX is an amazing company to work for. Supportive in every single way an employee needs. Virtual office makes it a lot easier to have a family and still be able to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay but no job security
Centurion Card Services Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLJuly 18, 2016
American Express pays well but don't expect to retire there. They open and shut departments every quarter and if you don't continue to move around than you will eventually become a part of the great number of great workers that have lost there jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
German & English Language Business Analysis
Business Analyst III (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UT 84119July 17, 2016
• Develop technical solutions to Business Problems.
• Analyze Data and make recommendations for Process Improvement.
• Plan, Organize, and Manage Projects.
• Support Management and Senior Staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just an intern
Intern IT (Former Employee) –  Desert Ridge, AZJuly 15, 2016
i was just an intern but everyone i have met was nice and hard workers. everyday i spent with them was a new learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure and fun at work
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Hawthorne, CAJuly 15, 2016
AmEx I would say is a great place to work. Although it is a diversified environment, once can feel the warmth. The atmosphere is friendly yet professional and there are great opportunities for career advancement.As an analyst, I could bring in value to the business with constant improvements and the support of my peers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Intern, OPEN SalesForce Delivery (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 14, 2016
Great company, great culture. For the people. They are all about employee development. Creating their next leader.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive work environment
QA Test Lead (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 12, 2016
Interactive work environment with lots of portfolios, each having its own individual projects which helps in your career growth
Pros
Multiple projects and team work
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about American Express?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace for sales driven individuals!
Customer Care Professional (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 12, 2016
Lots of opportunity for sales and bonuses! You have the potential of making 6-figures on the phones, even more than your direct leaders.
Pros
Cafe, 401k match
Cons
Short lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sr.Java/J2EE Developer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 8, 2016
It is a good experience, the company has good work culture. it is one of the best experience and a learned a lot during the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Java Developer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 7, 2016
A Good Experience and comfortable to work in the Environment. Enjoyed the work environment. One of the best experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best call centers I worked at.
Customer Care Professional (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 6, 2016
I leanerd alot about customer service and banking information and technology. The work wasn't too difficult and there was alot of support to help me. I made some great co-worker friends that I still stay in touch with to this day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, always restructuring
Marketing Manager, Global Network Partnerships (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 5, 2016
Great company, great people. Every year there seems to be a restructuring which creates anxieties. Overall, solid work-life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sr. Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 5, 2016
Its a very good place to work. Nice work environment and a very helpful to team to work with. One can learn multiple technologies and can get a good exposure to cross technologies
Pros
Work environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Developer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 4, 2016
Good place to work and employee friendly organisation.
They will try to upgrade there systems upto date and provide good effecient and technology driven systems.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glance
Input Code Operator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 3, 2016
It's a workplace that if you work hard and fair you have a chance to advance.
Good people.
Training was constantly available.
Pros
Civilized
Cons
Pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work.
Vacation Consultant Tour Dept (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 29, 2016
nice place to work. but had a large turn over of employee. it was hire, train, fire. but other than that American Express is a nice Company to work for.
Pros
has training to keep you up on new things.
Cons
large turn over
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace but long hours into the night
Business Consultant (Current Employee) –  Plantation, FLJune 28, 2016
While I was at Mash Management I had great experiences there, however I was not to fond of the hours being I was there till 5 in the morning. I like working during the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 2,925 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0