Find companies:
American Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,360 reviews

American Express Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant and Focused teams
Director-SEO, Dig Analytics, Soc, Aflt Mktng & VOC (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 27, 2014
World class people delivering world class innovation and customer focused products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff.
FINANCIAL SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 25, 2014
I enjoyed working for this company. The benefits are awesome and the training is the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fortune 500
Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 24, 2014
Working at a Fortune 500 company is awesome. I would highly recommend it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Love Currency!
Finacial Service Representative (Current Employee), East Boston, MAOctober 22, 2014
A typical day for me is coming to work and counting tons of money. I love the fact that I am able to determing currencies from all over the world. Its also a learning experience when customers tell you about there experience from different companies. Very fun place of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An organization that promoted innovation
International Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 22, 2014
Pros: mentoring agencies
Cons: short breaks
Manage internal time and labor processes which support initiatives to promote compensation accuracy. Diverse accomplishments include: Serving as the Project Lead for our Payroll Process Optimization Initiative which includes reviewing SOPs (standard operating procedures) for improvement opportunities, providing support for external pay vendor ADP, Amex – more... Human Resources, Amex Financial Business strategists, all internal business units, and technical teams. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company difficult times...
Director, Digital Customer Acquisition (Current Employee), New YorkOctober 21, 2014
Pros: 4 weeks paid vacation
American Express is a wonderful company, it's well run, the leaders act with integrity and there's an overall nod to work life balance. I work with smart and wonderful people and I've learned so much in the seven years I've been with the company.

Unfortunately the most recent regulatory environment has put immense pressure on the business and the company – more... has been forced to put too much process in place to meet the needs of the regulators. The result has made the work painful to execute and not very fulfilling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American express is a great place to work and network with others.
Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), New YorkOctober 19, 2014
Pros: great work life environment
Cons: not enough time in the day.
The leaders and co-workers are willing to help and go above and beyond to help when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good career growth
Lead Quality Assurance Manager (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 18, 2014
Challenging work environment, enjoyable, uses the latest tools in the market
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Claims Processor (Former Employee), Golden, COOctober 16, 2014
Pros: great work hours and located close to home.
Cons: short breaks.
great work place. However sometimes the management didn't seem to follow up with escalations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Vacation Specialist (Former Employee), Costa Mesa, CAOctober 16, 2014
Pros: monthly free lunches
Cons: short breaks
I have the privilege to work with Trading Places and I have gained and learned a great knowledge and experience in business management & excellent customer services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merit based career
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Boston, MAOctober 15, 2014
If you work hard, you have the potential to do very well long-term.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Executive Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 14, 2014
Pros: longevity
Cons: workplace environment
I worked for American Express for 26 years. I was an Administrative Assistant supporting over 150 employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great work life balance
Coordinator - Account Development, FXIP (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 9, 2014
Pros: networking events, work life balance, career advancement opportunities
Cons: competitors pay more, alot of turnover and too many business re-org
At American Express, you get what you put out. You must be willing to work hard, have good people skills, be a team player and most importantly, drive results. The culture is pretty nice with good perks and great work life balance depending on the line of business. Overall, there's something for everyone which gives you something to look forward to – more... if you intend ot growing a career. Most employees participate and enjoy company sponsored events which allows you and your teammates to come together outside of business hours. It's a great place to network and meet new people of all levels. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel Agent for Card Service
Travel Counselor I (Former Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 9, 2014
Pros: work from home, easy to use links, they pay for interet and high pay
Cons: feel out of the loop because your not in the offfice.
log into your phone and take Platinum customer calls. The computer they give to you to use is updated. The hardest part if this job is the hand holding of the clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office manager at Love Pool Care
Office manager (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 8, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: nothing
My most enjoyable part of this position was doing marketing and human resource related duties. I felt rewarded managing such a prestigious and successful company. The hardest part of the position was firing people. I learned valuable information about running many different programs; quickbooks, photoshop and various other computer programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Service Comanpy
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCOctober 8, 2014
Fast paced environment, with the potential of competitive compensation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lead Sales Representative and Training Mentor (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLOctober 8, 2014
Great work environment! Many opportunities to grow and develop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Service Rep (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTOctober 8, 2014
Pros: coffee, coworkers
Cons: understaffed, sometimes undertrained
I worked in the prepaid resolutions department where we handled prepaid gift cards. I would be assigned to take calls about new inquires to set up investigations from either a merchant or a consumer and to provide case numbers. I would also be assigned to resolve the cases by determining if the cards were properly funded or to notify the client to send – more... in additional paperwork by fax. I enjoyed the people on my team, they were very supportive and had a great work system to keep you busy and learning new processes. The management was great, our supervisor rotated each person on different assignments so we shared an equal work load. I also enjoyed the break room, they had the best coffee machine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Credit Analyst (Current Employee), Plantation, FLOctober 5, 2014
Pros: vacation and sick time.
Cons: dealing with individuals day in and day out.
a typical day at work: come in at 8am and leave at 630pm Monday thru Tuesday. Worked with customers(consumer) regarding extension of credit on charge cards and collections of monies due on same. Management easy to work with. Co-workers (excellent atmosphere). The hardest part of the job is saying no to customers. The most enjoyable part of my job is – more... when a customer gets off the phone completely satisfied with the work I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Culture
SharePoint Lead (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 5, 2014
Company provides excellent work cultures , so i am able to maintain job work/life balance.Company Provides lots of benefits.

About American Express

Each day, American Express makes it easier, safer and more rewarding for consumers and businesses to purchase the things they – Read more

American Express Photos