Find companies:
American Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,216 reviews

American Express Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people to work with. Everyone shares their knowledge so it is not lost to the coany.
Manager - Internal Control (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 8, 2014
Pros: training, travel, room for advancement
Cons: late nights for certain groups
The people are wonderful and the culture is very much inclusive. Leaders have tried to improve life/work balance by giving days off with pay to make up for late nights. Amex provides training on policies so that all employees receive the same message. It is a great place to start your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work; fun relaxed environment
Executive Assistant, Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 8, 2014
For the most part, everyone is nice and willing to teach, if you are willing to learn. It is a good environment to work in. Each day brought it's own set of challenges. There is a cafeteria onsite, and restaurants and shopping in the building.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of fun
Fraud specialist (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 7, 2014
Pros: great bennifits
Cons: not so great with management.
Amex is a great company to work for, but when its time for change you have to move on...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and fun place to work
Customer Care Rep (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 5, 2014
Pros: nice work attmosphere, nice people
Cons: no health insurance, low pay
Sales and account management for American Express, telephone sales with approximately 150 calls per day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place great people
Print Operator /Mailing clerk/Billing and payments (Current Employee), Weston, FLJuly 2, 2014
Pros: great healthcare
Cons: the long hours
long hours but fun at work
learn people skills
learn management skills
Great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth Opportunities
Project Manager (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 1, 2014
AMEX is a good place to learn and grow and establish your self and build solid unterstanding of today's growing IT industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Service Delivery Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 30, 2014
Great place to work.
Nice work/life balance.
Very good people with a diverse culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't trade this experience for anything!
Phone rep, Team Lead/Mgr, Quality Analyst (Former Employee), Greensboro NCJune 30, 2014
Pros: constant incentives to promote employee morale, diversity counsels, opportunities to advance/relocate
This was my first true corporate job! Overall, a GREAT company to work for! It taught me impeccable communication skills and how to improve my overall leadership skills. I worked in several departments for the 15 years I was there. I learned so much and am appreciative for the opportunity afforded me. I loved co-workers most of the time, sometimes the – more... management proved a little challenging. My last few years there, I could tell it was time for me to move on...I had become complacent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No reliable
Manager (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLJune 27, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: company lost contract
The company shut down and we all had to find other jobs. I really didn't like that west lost the contract.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of innovation
Lead Technical Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 26, 2014
Pros: employee centric
Cons: project volume can be high
Interesting concepts and always on leading edge of innovations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for; Good opportunities for advancement
Relay Operator (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJune 26, 2014
Pros: picnics for employees, good healthcare, good co-workers
Cons: hard job, no advances
Answer calls. Approve or disapprove card purchase. Answer questions about purchases made on account. Atmosphere was good to work around. Some of the managers were helpful whether you were on their team. Co-workers was pleasant and helpful. The hardest part is when a customer called in and you were unable to understand their language and you have to – more... explain to them as best as you could to explain to them to help them understand their account. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers and my manger before he retired. T – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Plantation, FLJune 25, 2014
Good company to for they take care of their employees and wonderful work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Project Manager (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJune 24, 2014
It has been a great experience working for American Express.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
absolute great company
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), margate floridaJune 23, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: shorts breaks
lovely place great benefits caring company stand for nothing but the best a place you can grow into a company you want to work for because they care about there employess
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptionally well run company
Marketing Operations Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 22, 2014
It was a grand environment to learn risk taking, focused creativity and the best of customer service. Fond memories of Amex.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Los Mitigation Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 21, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: to demanding, micro management
Call center in bound / out bound , advise member credit change , payment fraud , close account .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overal rating three
Account Transfer Associate (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJune 20, 2014
A typical day at work was busy and professional. What I learned about American Express is the importance of the business aspect of employment. My manager was very professional and helpful. My co-workers were team orientated. The hardest part of my job was the stress of the year end deadline. The most enjoyable part of my job was being successful in – more... completing a account. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to start a fun career
Interim Team Leader (Former Employee), UtahJune 17, 2014
Pros: multiple employee benefits, competitive bonus structure.
Cons: difficult to advance into higher position.
While working for American Express I was exposed to many different opportunities and positions. Overall, my employment there was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company Ever
INTERNSHIP (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 17, 2014
Best company I ever worked for! Everyone is so supportive. Amazing building right next to ground zero, you can see the memorial from the office windows.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Movement opportunities
WSLN New Hire Coach (Current Employee), Plantation, FLJune 17, 2014
Great advancement opportunities. The job can be extremely stressful and mentally exhausting. Offers great vacation and health care.

About American Express

Each day, American Express makes it easier, safer and more rewarding for consumers and businesses to purchase the things they – Read more

American Express Photos