Find companies:
American Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,202 reviews

American Express Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't trade this experience for anything!
Phone rep, Team Lead/Mgr, Quality Analyst (Former Employee), Greensboro NCJune 30, 2014
Pros: constant incentives to promote employee morale, diversity counsels, opportunities to advance/relocate
This was my first true corporate job! Overall, a GREAT company to work for! It taught me impeccable communication skills and how to improve my overall leadership skills. I worked in several departments for the 15 years I was there. I learned so much and am appreciative for the opportunity afforded me. I loved co-workers most of the time, sometimes the – more... management proved a little challenging. My last few years there, I could tell it was time for me to move on...I had become complacent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No reliable
Manager (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLJune 27, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: company lost contract
The company shut down and we all had to find other jobs. I really didn't like that west lost the contract.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of innovation
Lead Technical Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 26, 2014
Pros: employee centric
Cons: project volume can be high
Interesting concepts and always on leading edge of innovations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for; Good opportunities for advancement
Relay Operator (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJune 26, 2014
Pros: picnics for employees, good healthcare, good co-workers
Cons: hard job, no advances
Answer calls. Approve or disapprove card purchase. Answer questions about purchases made on account. Atmosphere was good to work around. Some of the managers were helpful whether you were on their team. Co-workers was pleasant and helpful. The hardest part is when a customer called in and you were unable to understand their language and you have to – more... explain to them as best as you could to explain to them to help them understand their account. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers and my manger before he retired. T – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Plantation, FLJune 25, 2014
Good company to for they take care of their employees and wonderful work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Project Manager (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJune 24, 2014
It has been a great experience working for American Express.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
absolute great company
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), margate floridaJune 23, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: shorts breaks
lovely place great benefits caring company stand for nothing but the best a place you can grow into a company you want to work for because they care about there employess
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptionally well run company
Marketing Operations Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 22, 2014
It was a grand environment to learn risk taking, focused creativity and the best of customer service. Fond memories of Amex.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Los Mitigation Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 21, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: to demanding, micro management
Call center in bound / out bound , advise member credit change , payment fraud , close account .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overal rating three
Account Transfer Associate (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJune 20, 2014
A typical day at work was busy and professional. What I learned about American Express is the importance of the business aspect of employment. My manager was very professional and helpful. My co-workers were team orientated. The hardest part of my job was the stress of the year end deadline. The most enjoyable part of my job was being successful in – more... completing a account. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to start a fun career
Interim Team Leader (Former Employee), UtahJune 17, 2014
Pros: multiple employee benefits, competitive bonus structure.
Cons: difficult to advance into higher position.
While working for American Express I was exposed to many different opportunities and positions. Overall, my employment there was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company Ever
INTERNSHIP (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 17, 2014
Best company I ever worked for! Everyone is so supportive. Amazing building right next to ground zero, you can see the memorial from the office windows.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Movement opportunities
WSLN New Hire Coach (Current Employee), Plantation, FLJune 17, 2014
Great advancement opportunities. The job can be extremely stressful and mentally exhausting. Offers great vacation and health care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Customer Service (Former Employee), miamiJune 17, 2014
Process payment, Explain why there were changes made to the account and close accounts upon request,Process redemptions, explain and solve billing disputes, Process payments and Sales
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Tape Liberian (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 17, 2014
Pros: full time job
Cons: on your feet 12hrs plus more if your shift change didn't show for work.
American Express was a very busy environment. I was on my feet 12 hours for my work hours and looked up numbers on Dislike holder that contain CDs. These CDs then had to be entered into a Computer silo that read numbers, and when the number came up missing, the management office of American Express would call and ask for numbers. Numbers were clients – more... who were with American Express. Very discreet and Tiring work environment. Also data had to be entered into computers to update information from CD like case. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Sr. Network Engineer (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 17, 2014
I enjoyed all the day i have working there
i learned many from my seniors and colleagues
very good management
Friendly co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Customer Care Professional OPEN Small Business/LMS (Former Employee), Greensboro NC, Phoenix AZJune 17, 2014
Flexible scheduling
regular training
management is friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Work Environment and Work Life Balance
Customer Care Professional (Current Employee), Taylorsville, UTJune 16, 2014
Currently as an American Express Employee I could not be more satisfied with the company. They treat their employees well and compensation is not bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative company, great corporate culture
Director of Business Planning and Strategy (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 16, 2014
American Express is a well respected global brand with160+ years of history, and continues to innovate and remain competitive globally. Employees are encouraged to take risks, think out of the box, and move laterally across the organization to broaden skill sets and experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Employee and Labor Relations Manager (Current Employee), Plantation, FLJune 9, 2014
Great benefits, competetive wages and bonuses.
The HR team at is very knowledgeable and helpful.

About American Express

Each day, American Express makes it easier, safer and more rewarding for consumers and businesses to purchase the things they – Read more

American Express Photos