Find companies:
American Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,220 reviews

American Express Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overal rating three
Account Transfer Associate (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJune 20, 2014
A typical day at work was busy and professional. What I learned about American Express is the importance of the business aspect of employment. My manager was very professional and helpful. My co-workers were team orientated. The hardest part of my job was the stress of the year end deadline. The most enjoyable part of my job was being successful in – more... completing a account. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to start a fun career
Interim Team Leader (Former Employee), UtahJune 17, 2014
Pros: multiple employee benefits, competitive bonus structure.
Cons: difficult to advance into higher position.
While working for American Express I was exposed to many different opportunities and positions. Overall, my employment there was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company Ever
INTERNSHIP (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 17, 2014
Best company I ever worked for! Everyone is so supportive. Amazing building right next to ground zero, you can see the memorial from the office windows.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Movement opportunities
WSLN New Hire Coach (Current Employee), Plantation, FLJune 17, 2014
Great advancement opportunities. The job can be extremely stressful and mentally exhausting. Offers great vacation and health care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Customer Service (Former Employee), miamiJune 17, 2014
Process payment, Explain why there were changes made to the account and close accounts upon request,Process redemptions, explain and solve billing disputes, Process payments and Sales
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Tape Liberian (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 17, 2014
Pros: full time job
Cons: on your feet 12hrs plus more if your shift change didn't show for work.
American Express was a very busy environment. I was on my feet 12 hours for my work hours and looked up numbers on Dislike holder that contain CDs. These CDs then had to be entered into a Computer silo that read numbers, and when the number came up missing, the management office of American Express would call and ask for numbers. Numbers were clients – more... who were with American Express. Very discreet and Tiring work environment. Also data had to be entered into computers to update information from CD like case. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Sr. Network Engineer (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 17, 2014
I enjoyed all the day i have working there
i learned many from my seniors and colleagues
very good management
Friendly co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Customer Care Professional OPEN Small Business/LMS (Former Employee), Greensboro NC, Phoenix AZJune 17, 2014
Flexible scheduling
regular training
management is friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Work Environment and Work Life Balance
Customer Care Professional (Current Employee), Taylorsville, UTJune 16, 2014
Currently as an American Express Employee I could not be more satisfied with the company. They treat their employees well and compensation is not bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative company, great corporate culture
Director of Business Planning and Strategy (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 16, 2014
American Express is a well respected global brand with160+ years of history, and continues to innovate and remain competitive globally. Employees are encouraged to take risks, think out of the box, and move laterally across the organization to broaden skill sets and experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Employee and Labor Relations Manager (Current Employee), Plantation, FLJune 9, 2014
Great benefits, competetive wages and bonuses.
The HR team at is very knowledgeable and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work.
Travel Agent (Former Employee), NCJune 8, 2014
It was a nice place to work. I really liked my work mate. It was a good company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Production Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 5, 2014
American Express Publishing was a great place to work. It will be missed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 4, 2014
I worked for Amex for 24 years. I left the company in 2002. My last position was working for the CFO. There were no "hardest part of my job." The most enjoyable part of the job was all of it. It was my job. I went to work, I went home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for.
Mailroom Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 4, 2014
I learned how to complete the inventory process and was able to visit many retail stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place, and then not lovely
Web Developer, Amex Publishing (Former Employee), Sixth AvenueJune 3, 2014
Pros: walk to work.
Cons: petty abuse and harassment.
The web development area was extremely dependent upon the quality of lower managers. We lost some very good people, and the inexperienced, inept characters who replaced them made the place go belly up. The two main magazines both lost their community sub-sites, and many of the special pages built during the previous few years are broken. Nearly everyone – more... who worked there in 2011 is gone now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
SharePoint Developer (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 3, 2014
This is a company where one can work with good mind set and good hierarchy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Stay at Home Mom (Current Employee), Manchester, NJMay 29, 2014
I had the ability to work my way from being a customer service representative to a Team Leader.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Learn Grow
Clerical Administration (Former Employee), New York New YourMay 29, 2014
Pros: bonus for your work
Cons: they had to move
I worked at American Express for 17 years and I each department that I worked in I gain knowledge of what was expected to our customers, it was a fast pace environment an you either sink or swim and for me it was a learning experience to combine the amount of time I take to a customer verses handling the problem but after coaching you meet your goals – more... and move on to something different. I must say with the knowledge that I have it has prepared me for any situation whether the customer is happy or sad at the end of the call they have to want to stay with the company an be happy that they called in, it's about service and that is what I have learned. Flexibility is another be ready for any and everything you never know what the next call will be and you have to adapt. Working at American Express was like family where everyone knew your name an if you needed help they were there to assist in any way, life and balance was a plus working for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly motivated, self started and works well with others
Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee), Plantation, FloridaMay 28, 2014
Working at American Express was great. American Express is a company with a lot of great benefits, diversity, teamwork and room for advancement.

About American Express

Each day, American Express makes it easier, safer and more rewarding for consumers and businesses to purchase the things they – Read more

American Express Photos