Find companies:
American Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,303 reviews

American Express Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and well paid company
Senior Customer Liason (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLJuly 22, 2014
Pros: being able to resolve cardmember's issues
Cons: management
I love my co workers and the great perks. What I love most was resolving the cardmembers issues regarding credit or conflicts with establishments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the work, busy and slow seasons
Analyst (Current Employee), Marietta, GAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: learning something new always, very interesting work
Cons: the slow seasons are very very slow, little to no amex work each day, but i keep busy with tasq customer service work during slow time periods.
My typical days begins with checking three queues. Each queue has requests from our merchants for serveral different things. They made need application adjustments, new terminals, new PC tools, or general inquiries that need attention. I analyze applications for risk and approve them to be moved on to the next step in their set up of an American Express – more... account. I also work customer service for TASQ Technoloy. (I work in the TASQ facility, but I am also a contract employee of American Express) TASQ is shipping facility for many credit/debit providers. Most of my work is systematic. I use Microsoft Office, Oracle, and many Amex databases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to learn and advance from!
Corporate Card Program Specialist (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 21, 2014
Feedback is very much apart of the culture at American Express. Receiving feedback from peers and superiors provide an excellent source of learning effective communication skills.
I've created long lasting personal and professional relationships at American Express.
The most difficult moments of working at American Express was the competitiveness of – more... advancement. The most enjoyable moments of working at American Express was understanding constructive criticisms and feedback to improve on my personal brand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Connections based advancement
Marketing Manager, Consumer Services (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 21, 2014
Many re-organizations within the company lead to job insecurity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Airport
Boston- Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: 4 day work weeks (2 "day" shifts)
Cons: your night shift would be depended on the last plane out and if your plane was late, you had to wait for it to depart. they wanted us to know all about the airport
The day started with helping fellow associates get into their workstations and making sure they had access to their working drawer. (each terminal had a certain opening time and had to be there to be sure it opened on time) communicated to shift leader for those associates who were late or covering for others. Go through airport security (TSA agents) – more... open all stations by 8am (some mornings I had to be at the airport at 4am to open at certain terminals) then call/ Instant message around to all stations making sure they had enough currencies in addition to United States Dollars. Cross sell gift cards, travelers checks, balance working till, work up against the clock and people waiting for you to sell currencies (afternoon sales were huge) technology issues while using the network, computer crashes, not having enough currencies or US dollars, filling out Currency Transactions reports for certain transactions, copying passports for internal use, using a watch list and checking customers name to a data base. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best in Class excellent Customer and Employee service
Business Analyst II (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 21, 2014
Pros: tuition reimbursement
Cons: location
This Company is and operates the way they say they do they train their employee to be part of a global best in class team, they offer opportunity for growth, offer many courses and tools to do your job above and beyond of what is expected. The company is very high on diversity and welcome difference as a plus to the business which makes working with – more... others wonderful!
The hardest part of my Job is being laid off due to re-engineering and after working for American Express for 24 years it was hard to say good bye to a family. My first two years I was a temp but it never seemed like I was due to how this company treats their employees with respect and equality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very strong and good comapny to work for
Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 17, 2014
Pros: a lot of perks when worked as a team
Cons: good benefits promotions
I went from data entry to computer operations great steps to a higher level
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great brand great coworkers
Collector II (Former Employee), phoenix, AzJuly 15, 2014
Pros: great people a new adventure with each call
Cons: bonus structure
the day to day of the job was the same to help customers resolve delinquency what made the job fun was the coworkers was a well supported environment. the team atmosphere was always a pick me up.. with all the changes in our industry management didn't fight for wronged workers out of fear of recourse.. managed by fear which sometimes made for a stressful – more... situation... 98% of the job was great – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
ccp wharehouse (Current Employee), Weston, FLJuly 15, 2014
Pros: benifit
Cons: extra days off
my review at it is a very fun place to work the one thing about my jos is that you have to pay good attention to what you are doing cause you dont wantto get cards member mix up or send out the wrong statement out to the wrong coustmer. the hardest part the job is it is a 12 hour shift and you have to stand to do your work. i overall rating is a 10 – more... at american express – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company & Highly Talented People
Product Development (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 13, 2014
Great company, hands down. Talented people and lot of opportunities for someone to grow vertically.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A PLACE WHERE WORK CAN STAY AT WORK
Dedicated Support Analyst (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 13, 2014
The balance is like nothing I have personally experienced in this position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 11, 2014
Pros: culture
Cons: there are no cons
American Express has been a great place to work. They have a culture of customer engagement and employee appreciation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy office setting, time went so fast
Travel Coordinator for NJ customer locations (Former Employee), Clifton, NJJuly 10, 2014
Pros: discount on travel
Cons: we were laid off due to the internet
A typical day was starting at 9am at my desk connected to a headset taking calls from clients to book their business travel. I learned so many things, listening to the clients needs and booking trips all over the world. Air, car and hotels. Booking a reservation quickly and correctly for each traveler.Management was very helpful when any questions or – more... concerns came up. Unusual requests were met effectively. My co-workers and I were a great team working and helping each other. The hardest part was when 911 happened and people really wanted to be home with family members, but the airports were shut down. All car rentals were sold out. The most enjoyable of the job were many things. One would be having many happy clients with nice reviews. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stiffling enviroment with poor leadership
Travel Counselor (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 10, 2014
Pros: smart and good clients
Cons: management, call center mentality
The travel department is in trouble. There is a manager who has no management skills and micromanages. Team Leaders are solely based on choosing "yes men" for the manager. No experience team leaders are chosen over highly qualified and experienced colleagues.
Co workers are extremely competative. The compensation is poverty level with the "benefits" – more... impossible to use. The "agent stay" program is never available and the travel perks are a 10% discount at 5 star hotels that no employee can afford.

I enjoyed my clients. Amex is looking for call center people not travel professionals. They do not care about their platinum or centurion card holders and treat them as if they are cattle to be shuffled. Don't have any opinions and don't expect to make any money, they change the goals yearly and each quarter "tweak" them which means you will make less and less each "bonus" (which is taxed at 40%) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good environment to work with a fun and learn activities.
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 8, 2014
Pros: work from home
Cons: old infrastructure.. need to be renewed
It was an awesome experience working for American Express. Given a good opportunity in future, would always like to work for American Express again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Company
Travel Agent Specialist (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great management
Cons: yearly lay offs
American Express is also a very all over Diversified Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Strategic Corporate Service CCP (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great benefits, work life balance policy's and ability to advance or move within the company.
Cons: main hubs are located in arizona, not a lot of virtual options.
Its easy to say that you left a job, not the job left you. I had to relocate and leaving this job was the hardest choice I have ever had to make. American Express is a great company to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people to work with. Everyone shares their knowledge so it is not lost to the coany.
Manager - Internal Control (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 8, 2014
Pros: training, travel, room for advancement
Cons: late nights for certain groups
The people are wonderful and the culture is very much inclusive. Leaders have tried to improve life/work balance by giving days off with pay to make up for late nights. Amex provides training on policies so that all employees receive the same message. It is a great place to start your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work; fun relaxed environment
Executive Assistant, Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 8, 2014
For the most part, everyone is nice and willing to teach, if you are willing to learn. It is a good environment to work in. Each day brought it's own set of challenges. There is a cafeteria onsite, and restaurants and shopping in the building.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of fun
Fraud specialist (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 7, 2014
Pros: great bennifits
Cons: not so great with management.
Amex is a great company to work for, but when its time for change you have to move on...

About American Express

Each day, American Express makes it easier, safer and more rewarding for consumers and businesses to purchase the things they – Read more

American Express Photos