Find companies:
AMERICAN FAMILY CARE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

AMERICAN FAMILY CARE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worse unprofessional place ever!
Payment Processor (Former Employee), AlabamaOctober 18, 2014
Pros: 15 min breaks to take a breather
Cons: pay sucked, healthcare to expensive
This is a elementary school playground with horrrrrrible pay. Racial, Rude and ignorant behaviors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
MEDICAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Clarksville, TNOctober 8, 2014
A typical day on the job was spent taking care of the patients and maintaining a good workflow .Hardest part of the job was turning away patients that couldn't afford care. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping people get better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours and fun
Medical Assistant / Lab Tech (Current Employee), Mobile, ALOctober 6, 2014
I started out as a fire watch and moved on to Office Manager, I worked with the company for a while. We traveled all over the place, that was the best part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This COMPANY NEEDS TO BE SHUT DOWN IMMEDIATELY!!!!!
Lab Tech (Former Employee), TennesseSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: not a thing!!!
Cons: everything single thing about this company
This company should be shut down for Insurance fraud, which they have been sued for before, but it is still going on. The company is unprofessional in all kinda ways. When I was interviewed for the position they promised a pay raise after my 6months that I haven't seen one dime of. They will cross train you in areas that you have to be certified to – more... do it state law. The corporate management and office management does not recognize there workers. they look down upon there workers and the thing about it is they have never had any kinda medical background in there lives. The pay is awful very very very awful. the physicians that work have no idea what the heck they are doing ,they look up demonstrations on Youtube to see how its done. we have complained about a physician so many times to our manger and to our corporate office and they will not do anything about it. even when he is doing illegal practices and running up patients insurance bills so he can have that physicians bonus. THIS COMPANY NEEDS TO BE REPORTED AND SHUT DOWN IMMEDIATELY!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day at AFC
X-ray tech (Former Employee), Pelham, ALSeptember 4, 2014
Long hours with very low pay. Micro management. Patients were the most enjoyable part of this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skills and daily duties
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee), Sandy Springs, GAAugust 20, 2014
Greet and triage patients.
Assist physicians with procedures.
Perform diagnostic quality x-rays while maintaining ALARA.
Obtain and send out laboratory tests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning
Medical assistant (Former Employee), IrondaleAugust 19, 2014
I leaned so much from AFC I learned how to draw blood, do Iv's, and how to run a lab. I started my day at 730 I triaged patients called in medications, ran EKG, blood draws, and set up for any procedures that were to be done. The people I worked with were great but not much of team players which I believe everyone needs to work together and be a team – more... . We were always busy never time to rest I loved it, made the day go by faster – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Experience
Payment Processor (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 15, 2014
Pros: not a very strict enviroment, staff is caring, pay is ok.
Cons: workload can get kinda hectic toward the end of the month.
I actually love my job and coworkers. My boss is very nice and understanding. They have made me feel very comfortable. True enough, the work load can get heavy, but it is job security in my opinion. I personally like the job itself, and the people I work for. Great place to learn new skills and for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical staff
Certified Medical Assistant / Lab Technician (Former Employee), Vestavia ALAugust 14, 2014
Pros: likable people to spend time with
Cons: healthcare short to no breaks and long hours
Open Lab, run quality control on all tests and equipment. Assist when needed, blood draws and perform all tests required for patients.
I really loved the people I worked with and enjoyed my time there. Hardest part was seeing people sick and unhealthy.
I love to perform phlebotomy and keeping things in great running order. Keeping tract and sending – more... out labs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place
nurse (Former Employee), Orange BeachAugust 8, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: hardly no lunch break, the pay was not good, and no good management skills
One of the worst companies, I have ever worked for. You had to work through your lunch break or had no lunch, even working the long hours. Rude, lazy young people working, who did not about the patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great job
Patient Relations Coordinator (Current Employee), Opelika, AlAugust 5, 2014
Pros: local manager is great
Local manager is great and willing to work with you on things you need help with. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Overall enjoyable place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Family Care - Gardendale, Al
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Gardendale, ALAugust 5, 2014
Pros: the patients.
Cons: management is terrible. you never get off on time. low pay.
Not a good place to work at all. If you cross train learn everything you can and leave immediately!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady pace work envirment. Undertrained staff.
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Wetumpka, ALJuly 11, 2014
A typical day at AFC consist of assessing vital signs, assisting the doctor in minor surgeries, administering medicines via injection. My co-workers, for the most part, are very nice. There's nothing really hard about this job. All my previous job were fast pace work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prioritizing my work
CLAIMS COORDINATOR (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 11, 2014
I work from home my typical day Is get up prioritize what's most important to do for that day of my work and go from there, since I work from home I really don't deal with my co-workers that much but they are great team players, I guess at the month end close we have to be closed out on the 6th it gets a little stressful, but I love my job and the people – more... I work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Medical Laboratory Technologist (Current Employee), Hoover, ALJune 15, 2014
Pros: american family care really appreciates their employees and all that they do for the company.
A typical day at American Family Care is a all around experience in the clinical setting field. I have learned multiple skills while employed with AFC. I work with experienced and some of the most skilled and caring co-workers in the medical field. The hardest part of my job is the technical aspect of my field and the accuracy it takes to maintain complete – more... precision and dedication to the patients we treat everyday at AFC. I enjoy helping the patients and the satisfaction of improving their health. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancing workplace with many opprotunities
Radiologic Technician / Trained Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALMay 19, 2014
Pros: great learning facility
Cons: 10 + hour days with no set breaks and no set lunch.
I work mainly in x-ray, but I am also trained as a medical assistant and do nursing duties. I can also work some front desk tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
Patient Relations Coordinator (Current Employee), ALABAMAMay 11, 2014
Pros: as much over time as you want
Cons: terrible hours, no lunch/break, terrible management, long hours, low pay....pretty much everything about the job.
I've worked for this company going on 2 years, and I have been miserable from day 1. The company does not care about it's employee's, management is a joke, and the hours are even worse. The Doctors they hire get all of their information on prescriptions and illness from Google/WebMD, and it's a daily turtle race to see if they can finish a patient up – more... within 3 hours. You don't get paid enough for the stress the job causes, and the rules are constantly changing so you never know what's right/wrong. I wouldn't wish this job on my worst enemy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on the job
Patient Relation Coordinator (Current Employee), Sandy Springs, GAMay 10, 2014
I love my job I enjoy my position when am helping others.Greet patients and fill in their insurance and demographics in the MIS System
• Answer phones for carry out and schedule appointments
• Review status of waiting room on a scheduled basis
• Schedule patient for follow-up appointment
• Communicate with proper employees about patient’s arrival
 – more... Process formalities and other institutional forms
• Handled cash and checks
• Provide patient with procedure for requesting medical records – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training in different areas
RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGIST/ MEDICAL ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Columbus, GAMay 10, 2014
Pros: learning different areas of the clinic such as administering injections
Cons: low pay, not enough hours, micromanagement, microphone and cameras in the nurses station so they can watch what we and do and hear what we say.
On a typical day I begin by calling back patients from the day before. I triage patients getting their blood pressures, height, weight, pulse, and O2. I will x-ray any patient that needs one. The most common x-rays are orthopedic, abdomen series, and chest x-rays. Management is on site and typically willing to work with any situation that comes up as – more... far as scheduling. My co-workers are great and we have a very good team. The hardest part of the job is not getting enough hours and dealing with the low pay scale. I enjoy helping patients and being able to not just do x-rays, but administer injections, breathing treatments, and working in trauma. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced, with great co-workers
Medical Assistant/Trainer (Current Employee), smyrna, TNApril 30, 2014
Pros: paid lunch, work as a team, manager works around your schedule the best she can
Cons: low pay, work during lunch
Bring patients back to see doctor. Get vitals, get patient information, draw labs if needed by doctor and give immunizations. Assist doctor with minor surgeries, and obtain hair follicles for companies.

1 2 3