Find companies:
American Family Insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
288 reviews

American Family Insurance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was always learning new things with a big company.
Receptionist (Former Employee), Phillips, WISeptember 9, 2014
As a receptionist at American Family, I would answer phones, submit insurance forms, collect payments, keep up on emails, faxing and filing papers, making courtesy calls and double checking all work. I learned so much at American Family about insurance, but most importantly you can't be afraid to ask questions. The hardest part of it all was trying – more... to remember everything about insurance, it's a lot harder than people think. The experience was nice though! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good environment to work
Sr Java Developer (Current Employee), Madison, WISeptember 8, 2014
Productive and good environment to work

I learned lot of insurance business knowledge, Management is very professional, good team to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
CTC Service Line Representative (Current Employee), Madison, WISeptember 8, 2014
Little to no career advancement opportunities were available at this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional
Office Manager-Agent in Training (Former Employee), Osceola, IASeptember 5, 2014
extensive background in supervision, management, banking and insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and friendly place to work for.
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Madison, WISeptember 4, 2014
Used Agile methodology in supporting system development cycle, Learned a lot here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistant job with security
Records Retention Assistant (Former Employee), Madison, WIAugust 20, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: mundane
A typical day at this job was very similar to every other day. Our job duties were to take physical copies of insurance policies and convert them into digital format. Following we would receive more physical copies of policies and convert them again into digital formats. The job itself was consistent but monotonous. I worked the job for 2 years and – more... left when i was given an new opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Billing Care Bilingual Representative II (Current Employee), Phoenix AZAugust 20, 2014
Pros: great training
Cons: have to be licensed
Answering phones to assist with access to customer accounts for explanation of balances and process payments. Use multiple computer screens to access information for customer input, and update personal information. Direct customers to the proper channels as other questions arise. Trained to apply the necessary skills and abilities to provide customer – more... service support, assisting agencies and customers with any billing related inquiries. Acquires a working knowledge gained through extensive training to quickly resolve problems in an unscripted care center environment. Complete work task management referrals and calls within established time frames, including the necessary documentation. Demonstrate effective communication and customer service skills.
I enjoy working with all my coworkers. The hardest part of the job is not being able to assist a customer with their needs. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I am able to comfort and put at ease a customer when financial difficulty arises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claim adjuster
Casualty Claim Desk Adjuster (Former Employee), Pewaukee, WIAugust 17, 2014
Company changes forced offices to close 14 of 20 offices. Changes in workload, adjuster morale, very poor work/life balance. Burnout.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Agent in Training (Current Employee), Ellenwood, GAAugust 13, 2014
Busy,
answering phones helping customers,
Great environment.
helpful environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is not right fit for me
Auto Insurance Representative (Current Employee), Madison, WIAugust 12, 2014
The job is not a right fit for me with my past years of medical billing and training new hires.
benefits are great however your denied time off when needed due to not having enough staff.
Having a day off to free your mind is very important to performance.
I thought the postion was for med pay claims and they placed me in a call center enviroment where – more... your timed on all you do and have to follow their schedules they create for you.

I have asked the company to place me in a different role due to my back round. They will not do so unless their is an opening. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a typical day - always something different happening
Licensed Office Assistant (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: no backup and no benefits.
Write applications, contact customer about insurance needs, wants. bill collecting,
Learned all types of needs for insurance customers.
management is a little hap-hazard.
no co workers other than agent/owner
no feedback or backup if something is not correct. Each agent works differently

AS a whole the clients are lovely and easy to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace casualty claims
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Eden Prairie, MNAugust 4, 2014
Pros: company, salary
Cons: long hours
Inbound & outbound phone calls, made to customers and claimants.
Assessing comparative negligence to accidents when comparative is needed
Explaining determination of liability/coverage/ claim process
Determining coverage
Working in team environment and also independently.
Taking care of vehicle damages/property damages
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the job working with insurance my typical day was answering the phone and either fulfilling the clients request or transferring the call to the app
Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Centralia, WAJuly 26, 2014
Pros: it was a job five days a week and know weekends.
Cons: only a part-time job.
On the job working with insurance my typical day was answering the phone and either fulfilling the clients request or transferring the call to the appropriate person. Worked on billing doing late pays, cancellations, and any other issues concerning a clients account. I would help the other fellow employees with various responsibilities such as setting – more... up folders and mailing out temporary insurance cards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for and would still work for the company if consolidation of offices had not occurred
Medical Services Specialist (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJuly 21, 2014
Worked independently as the only RN in the Branch Claims office in Wichita, KS. Typically started at 8:00 am and worked until 5:00 pm. The company provided the opportunity to have a flex day every 2 weeks, so I had every other Friday off. Reviewed 30-40 first party and/or third party files a month, depending on the complexity. Learned medical coding – more... in addition to some legal aspects in accordance with Kansas law. Learned appropriate treatment and duration of treatment for soft tissue injuries. Worked with great claims adjusters and managers in the office who were the ones that referred files. Also answered and explained many "desk" consultations. Other RN's working for the company, albeit in other offices/states, were tremendous and very supportive throughout my employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSR for an Agent
Licensed Customer Service and Sales Representative (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSJuly 20, 2014
Scheduled appointment for the agent. Made contact calls to current and potential customers. Gave quotes for home, auto, boat and life insurance. Wrote policies for new and current clients, then input all the information into the computer systems. It was a very small office. Management was great. The hardest part of the job was making the new business – more... quotas for each month. The most enjoyable part of the job was that you got to know the customers and create connections with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Care Center Auto Representative (Current Employee), maryland heights, moJuly 19, 2014
Very diverse company with great pay. they also have great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Individual agents vary
CSR (Current Employee), Saint Peters, MOJuly 17, 2014
Pros: hour long lunches
Cons: no health care benefits, no paid overtime
I genuinely enjoy insurance and had planned to work for this company in hopes to further my career. It is not the company itself I dislike, it's the individual agent's way of running his office. I prefer to work for someone (and for a company) tyhat appreciates their employess, treats them fairly, and sets them up for success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great
Insurance Claims Adjustor (Current Employee), Englewood, COJuly 3, 2014
Great hours and benefits, however the training was lacking and lots of negative feed back from employers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agent Market Assistant
Marketing/Agent Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 2, 2014
Pros: very informative
Cons: company downsized
Learned the business of Insurance and great networking opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company with great employees
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOJuly 2, 2014
American Family Insurance is full of great supervisiors and employees. The company is great about training new employees to ensure that they are successful in the areas for which they were hired.

1 2 3 4 5

About American Family Insurance

American Family Insurance offers auto, home, life & annuities, health, business and farm & ranch insurance. We’ve – Read more