Find companies:
American Family Insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
323 reviews

American Family Insurance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Be!!!
I/S Student Intern (Former Employee), Madison, WIDecember 19, 2014
Pros: excellent!!!
Cons: i can get lost in those building.
I'm in my office all day coding. Worked with three other interns as well. They were great and very smart and talented at what they do. Managements are the best. They always walk in with a great smile that lighten up my day. We need more managements like American Family Insurance specifically to the managements I worked for only though. The hardest part – more... of the job is when the systems are down or something is not working and it makes my productivity go down. I most enjoy working with the other interns. We got to share our talents, ideas, thoughts, and life outside of work. I love the people more than probably love the job itself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rating
Casualty Claims Adjustor (Former Employee), Eden Prairie MinnesotaDecember 15, 2014
American Family is a great company to work for with management that really listens to the employe's and the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked there 26 1/2 years let me go after I got condition in my feet would not but me on the desk.
Property Claims Field Examiner (Former Employee), Eden Prairie, MNDecember 9, 2014
Pros: great co-workers and benifits
Cons: hostel management, telling me to kill my self, and because of a medical condition let me go.
I worked 70 to 80 hours per week in the field , I got a condition wear I could not climb roofs because of the heat up on the roofs during the summer. I asked for a desk job because there were openings at that time. My reviews is 2013 were one of this highest in the four offices, but during a meeting we were talking about all the hours we were working – more... and I brought up the hours I worked for great customer service when upper management told me in the meeting in front of everyone to put a gun to my head, pull the trigger and be done with it. Every one was shocked , They told me that I did not meet the criteria of a property adjuster because I could not climb roofs. They let me go in an e-mail how impersonal is that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
QA Manager (Former Employee), Madison,wiDecember 7, 2014
Pros: new technologies to explore
Cons: additional skills required for inbuilt applications
Typical Day at Work - Usually all prior few days for production we have experienced typical days as the current project I am working is health care and we get frequent changes from government (cms) .

Learned- Should very closely work with business and technical team to make sure teh QA assumptions matches desired output .Reviews are conducted on each – more... phase of testing like test plan review, test case review , test results review.

Management - work friendly and supportive management

Co-workers- Competitive and friendly working culture

Hardest part of job - Requirements changes, No proper requirements, incomplete requirements and impact analysis

Enjoyable - Successful release with business team satisfaction and team appreciations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate-first job
Insurance Agent/ Office Manager (Current Employee), east point gaDecember 2, 2014
• Ensure that each customer receives outstanding service by providing a friendly environment, which includes greeting and acknowledging every customer, maintaining solid product knowledge and all other aspects of customer service.
• Assist in processing and replenishing merchandise and monitoring floor stock.
• Aid customers in locating merchandise.
 – more... Participate in year-end inventory and cycle counts.
• Assist in floor moves, merchandising, display maintenance, and housekeeping
• Assist in completing price changes within the department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Family Insurance
American Family Insurance (Former Employee), Merrillville, INNovember 28, 2014
Answered Phone Calls, Filed Papers & Cleaned
Management was Great
Co-workers all worked well together
Enjoyable part of the job was the Clean, Stress free work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
struggle
CSR (Former Employee), Perry, IANovember 20, 2014
Due to the difficulty in communicating with customers, this was not the best fir for me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail store job meet a lot of interesting people
Office Manager (Former Employee), Tualatin, ORNovember 14, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours but not open too late
Cons: sometimes not having the "good" manager.
As retail jobs go Home Depot is one of the better stores to work for. If you are lucky to get the "good" department manager it is a fun job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very nice exposure I got working with Teva Pharmaceuticals
Sr. SharePoint Developer (Former Employee), Madison, WINovember 13, 2014
It was very nice exposure I got working with Teva Pharmaceuticals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Agent Assistant/Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Ramsey, MNNovember 13, 2014
The best part about this job is my co workers and overall work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Full Licensed Insurance Agent Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 10, 2014
It is a nice job, just the office size is small, hard to promote and raise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent workplace and define goals and objectives
Producer (Current Employee), Naperville, ILNovember 9, 2014
Manage your time and production. I have a great partner to work with. Everyday is a learning curve meeting new client and solving their needs.
The hardest part is selling new policies and it is very enjoyable interacting directly with clients and sharing ideas with my co-worker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Intern (Former Employee), Delano MnNovember 7, 2014
Sold insurance contracts, maintained current customer accounts, assisted in the claims process, and worked on direct mail/phone marketing campaigns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wounderful company to work for.
Furniture- Building Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Madison, WINovember 3, 2014
I have worked for a wonder company for 15 years as a furniture installer /Building maintenance. I worked closely with the floor coordinators and moves relocation analyze. My experiences in facility working is carpenter, patch and paint, rolled rubber roofing, concrete, black topping, work on machines maintenance and furniture installation. Assemble, – more... install , repair furniture, equipment and systems furniture. Support to trade function such as carpenters, engineers, electricians and equipment maintenance. also have the ability to read blue prints. Worked on computers with word , Microsoft and Excel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Senior Policy Processor (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOOctober 31, 2014
Working on all aspects of issuing policies for new business, there always something changing and new things to learn daily. I had a great supervisor and my co-workers were helpful, friendly and great to work with. I enjoyed my job and the people I worked with. The hardest part of the job was constant changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working in this company
UI Developer (Current Employee), Madison, WIOctober 30, 2014
I learnt many things in this company while working with the team also there is no stress on the employees from the management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Research Process Operations Analyst (Current Employee), Madison, WIOctober 27, 2014
Overall, a nice place to work. The management I worked with is very supportive and great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work environment
Agency Sales Management Assistant (Current Employee), Pewaukee, WI & Phoenix, AZOctober 24, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: poor recognition
Flexible schedules
ASMA position juggles a number of different tasks in a single day, production reporting and tracking, recruiting of staff and agents, expense management, admin. of dst office, and supporting the field in the following areas: onboarding, training, marketing, sales, event coordination and facilitation, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time
Agency Sales Manager Assistant (Current Employee), Peoria, ILOctober 15, 2014
I really have enjoyed working here. The job is always changing, which keeps me on my toes. I have learned how to deal with many different personalities of those that I work with. I have learned how to motivate and train someone to be successful. My co-workers are the best. We have an awesome support system between us and I know that I could ask any – more... of them a question about something and one of them will know the answer and vice versa. I have never had to be afraid of being judged. Management is good. The hardest part of my job is to see someone not succeed. The most enjoyable part of my job is to celebrate the successes, big or small. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough place to work, but the experience was invaluable.
Insurance agent (Current Employee), PhoenixOctober 14, 2014
Pros: company car. great kamradrie.
Cons: long days, hard work, difficult customers.
I always say that the two best things I did for my career were starting to work for Enterprise and quitting working for Enterprise.

1 2 3 4 5

About American Family Insurance

American Family Insurance offers auto, home, life & annuities, health, business and farm & ranch insurance. We’ve – Read more