Find companies:
American Family Insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
282 reviews

American Family Insurance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Billing Care Bilingual Representative II (Current Employee), Phoenix AZAugust 20, 2014
Pros: great training
Cons: have to be licensed
Answering phones to assist with access to customer accounts for explanation of balances and process payments. Use multiple computer screens to access information for customer input, and update personal information. Direct customers to the proper channels as other questions arise. Trained to apply the necessary skills and abilities to provide customer – more... service support, assisting agencies and customers with any billing related inquiries. Acquires a working knowledge gained through extensive training to quickly resolve problems in an unscripted care center environment. Complete work task management referrals and calls within established time frames, including the necessary documentation. Demonstrate effective communication and customer service skills.
I enjoy working with all my coworkers. The hardest part of the job is not being able to assist a customer with their needs. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I am able to comfort and put at ease a customer when financial difficulty arises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claim adjuster
Casualty Claim Desk Adjuster (Former Employee), Pewaukee, WIAugust 17, 2014
Company changes forced offices to close 14 of 20 offices. Changes in workload, adjuster morale, very poor work/life balance. Burnout.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Agent in Training (Current Employee), Ellenwood, GAAugust 13, 2014
Busy,
answering phones helping customers,
Great environment.
helpful environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is not right fit for me
Auto Insurance Representative (Current Employee), Madison, WIAugust 12, 2014
The job is not a right fit for me with my past years of medical billing and training new hires.
benefits are great however your denied time off when needed due to not having enough staff.
Having a day off to free your mind is very important to performance.
I thought the postion was for med pay claims and they placed me in a call center enviroment where – more... your timed on all you do and have to follow their schedules they create for you.

I have asked the company to place me in a different role due to my back round. They will not do so unless their is an opening. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a typical day - always something different happening
Licensed Office Assistant (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: no backup and no benefits.
Write applications, contact customer about insurance needs, wants. bill collecting,
Learned all types of needs for insurance customers.
management is a little hap-hazard.
no co workers other than agent/owner
no feedback or backup if something is not correct. Each agent works differently

AS a whole the clients are lovely and easy to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace casualty claims
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Eden Prairie, MNAugust 4, 2014
Pros: company, salary
Cons: long hours
Inbound & outbound phone calls, made to customers and claimants.
Assessing comparative negligence to accidents when comparative is needed
Explaining determination of liability/coverage/ claim process
Determining coverage
Working in team environment and also independently.
Taking care of vehicle damages/property damages
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the job working with insurance my typical day was answering the phone and either fulfilling the clients request or transferring the call to the app
Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Centralia, WAJuly 26, 2014
Pros: it was a job five days a week and know weekends.
Cons: only a part-time job.
On the job working with insurance my typical day was answering the phone and either fulfilling the clients request or transferring the call to the appropriate person. Worked on billing doing late pays, cancellations, and any other issues concerning a clients account. I would help the other fellow employees with various responsibilities such as setting – more... up folders and mailing out temporary insurance cards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for and would still work for the company if consolidation of offices had not occurred
Medical Services Specialist (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJuly 21, 2014
Worked independently as the only RN in the Branch Claims office in Wichita, KS. Typically started at 8:00 am and worked until 5:00 pm. The company provided the opportunity to have a flex day every 2 weeks, so I had every other Friday off. Reviewed 30-40 first party and/or third party files a month, depending on the complexity. Learned medical coding – more... in addition to some legal aspects in accordance with Kansas law. Learned appropriate treatment and duration of treatment for soft tissue injuries. Worked with great claims adjusters and managers in the office who were the ones that referred files. Also answered and explained many "desk" consultations. Other RN's working for the company, albeit in other offices/states, were tremendous and very supportive throughout my employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSR for an Agent
Licensed Customer Service and Sales Representative (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSJuly 20, 2014
Scheduled appointment for the agent. Made contact calls to current and potential customers. Gave quotes for home, auto, boat and life insurance. Wrote policies for new and current clients, then input all the information into the computer systems. It was a very small office. Management was great. The hardest part of the job was making the new business – more... quotas for each month. The most enjoyable part of the job was that you got to know the customers and create connections with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Care Center Auto Representative (Current Employee), maryland heights, moJuly 19, 2014
Very diverse company with great pay. they also have great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Individual agents vary
CSR (Current Employee), Saint Peters, MOJuly 17, 2014
Pros: hour long lunches
Cons: no health care benefits, no paid overtime
I genuinely enjoy insurance and had planned to work for this company in hopes to further my career. It is not the company itself I dislike, it's the individual agent's way of running his office. I prefer to work for someone (and for a company) tyhat appreciates their employess, treats them fairly, and sets them up for success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great
Insurance Claims Adjustor (Current Employee), Englewood, COJuly 3, 2014
Great hours and benefits, however the training was lacking and lots of negative feed back from employers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agent Market Assistant
Marketing/Agent Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 2, 2014
Pros: very informative
Cons: company downsized
Learned the business of Insurance and great networking opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company with great employees
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOJuly 2, 2014
American Family Insurance is full of great supervisiors and employees. The company is great about training new employees to ensure that they are successful in the areas for which they were hired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace with friendly staff
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Fort Collins, COJune 27, 2014
American Family Insurance is a great company to work for. As an office assistant I am not qualified for quoting or creating policies, but I typically am involved in data entry, answering phones, organization, and a lot of computer work. The management in my office is very nice and accomodating to my life schedule. The co-workers are always very friendly – more... and helpful. I've learned a lot about the importance of accurate data entry. The hardest part of the job is staying organized between all of the client policies and paperwork. I have also found this to be my favorite part of the job because I love to organize and I enjoy seeing how it helps my co-workers and manager work more efficiently on their tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked this position
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Minneapolis MNJune 26, 2014
Cons: language barrier
My only issue here was a language barrier.

I was unable to make sales due to the majority of the book of business speaking Spanish only.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 23, 2014
Pros: job culture, environment; job ethic
Cons: communication
A great company and job culture to work for I enjoyed working for this company. Very down to earth management and employees. The work culture made the work environment sure a great and fun place to be. There are positive and negative in all companies but I can say there were more positive than negative. This company seemed to understand the balance – more... within employees concerns and making the job a better place to work. But with all companies things can be better to fit all that are involved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Licensed Producer (Current Employee), Northfield, MNJune 17, 2014
Good place to work. .....................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice office in a beautiful area
District Sale Manager Assistant (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 14, 2014
Pros: flexible not micro-managed
Cons: n/a
I enjoyed it, had a terrible boss, but absolutely no reflection on the company. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chances for growth and advancement
Marketing Representative (Former Employee), South Jordan, UTJune 13, 2014
Pros: ability to work on own time
Cons: lack of training
I was only a part time marketing representative but in the few months I was there we had multiple system changes. They supposedly had just spent billions on a new quoting system that was supposed to be more accurate, but it didn't seem so. Drivers with bad driving records were getting better rates than before, but the good drivers premiums seemed to – more... increase. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About American Family Insurance

American Family Insurance offers auto, home, life & annuities, health, business and farm & ranch insurance. We’ve – Read more