Find companies:
American Family Insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
272 reviews

American Family Insurance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great
Insurance Claims Adjustor (Current Employee), Englewood, COJuly 3, 2014
Great hours and benefits, however the training was lacking and lots of negative feed back from employers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agent Market Assistant
Marketing/Agent Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 2, 2014
Pros: very informative
Cons: company downsized
Learned the business of Insurance and great networking opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company with great employees
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOJuly 2, 2014
American Family Insurance is full of great supervisiors and employees. The company is great about training new employees to ensure that they are successful in the areas for which they were hired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace with friendly staff
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Fort Collins, COJune 27, 2014
American Family Insurance is a great company to work for. As an office assistant I am not qualified for quoting or creating policies, but I typically am involved in data entry, answering phones, organization, and a lot of computer work. The management in my office is very nice and accomodating to my life schedule. The co-workers are always very friendly – more... and helpful. I've learned a lot about the importance of accurate data entry. The hardest part of the job is staying organized between all of the client policies and paperwork. I have also found this to be my favorite part of the job because I love to organize and I enjoy seeing how it helps my co-workers and manager work more efficiently on their tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked this position
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Minneapolis MNJune 26, 2014
Cons: language barrier
My only issue here was a language barrier.

I was unable to make sales due to the majority of the book of business speaking Spanish only.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 23, 2014
Pros: job culture, environment; job ethic
Cons: communication
A great company and job culture to work for I enjoyed working for this company. Very down to earth management and employees. The work culture made the work environment sure a great and fun place to be. There are positive and negative in all companies but I can say there were more positive than negative. This company seemed to understand the balance – more... within employees concerns and making the job a better place to work. But with all companies things can be better to fit all that are involved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Licensed Producer (Current Employee), Northfield, MNJune 17, 2014
Good place to work. .....................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice office in a beautiful area
District Sale Manager Assistant (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 14, 2014
Pros: flexible not micro-managed
Cons: n/a
I enjoyed it, had a terrible boss, but absolutely no reflection on the company. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chances for growth and advancement
Marketing Representative (Former Employee), South Jordan, UTJune 13, 2014
Pros: ability to work on own time
Cons: lack of training
I was only a part time marketing representative but in the few months I was there we had multiple system changes. They supposedly had just spent billions on a new quoting system that was supposed to be more accurate, but it didn't seem so. Drivers with bad driving records were getting better rates than before, but the good drivers premiums seemed to – more... increase. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make no Mistake - Contegent Workers Are Second Class Citizens
SEO Strategy Specialist (Former Employee), Madison WisconsinJune 13, 2014
Pros: extravagant dining opportunities while wining & dining preferred vendors
Cons: limited development support
In my time here I displayed exceptional results in search engine optimization increasing organic traffic by over 150% in the first year.

Striving to connect multiple departments in working together for a single voice, while educating each department I came in contact with on search engine optimization best practices.

As a contractor the company ensures – more... your exclusion in all company wide events to ensure you know your place.

I was asked to hide reports demonstrating the misuse of hundred f thousands of advertising dollars and contract was immediately terminated for working with a department on their campaign after the "chosen vendor" repeatedly spent their money on advertising on "how to knit sites" which displayed 100% bounce rates and zero added value to their marketing strategy.

This was done with the blessing of the department as well as my peers - but was quickly dismissed when the paid search budget manager complained about it.

It is really upsetting when you give so much time and dedication to your team and cannot participate in something as trivial as bring your daughter to work day.

My manager was privately voted across the entire department as the most absentee manager often coming in late if at all.

In more times then not other department initiatives were purposely delayed because other departments with more "popular" managers received special treatment preventing developers the time to handle projects that were often necessary and already proving substantial ROI.

I cannot count the number of times I was requested to "put people off" because "between you and me..." type of conversations.

This was a truly disheartening experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall okay place to work. I worked for my father in his agency.
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee), Pekin, ILMay 31, 2014
Pros: working for my dad, getting time off when i wanted, customers
Cons: no benefits, direct and indirect sales, constant company changes in policy, pricing.
Selling insurance was never a dream of mine but when my father asked if I would be willing to get licensed and help out with his agency, I couldn't refuse. I thoroughly enjoyed working with customers and helping them protect their assets. It made me feel good when American Family was there to help people during some of the worst times of their lives, – more... but a salesperson I am not. I was able to work part time for him and make enough money to survive, but I couldn't ever get excited about the job. Wouldn't change working with my dad all those years for anything and for that reason, the position I held will always be priceless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Casualty Claim Adjuster (Current Employee), Madison, WIMay 29, 2014
Enjoyable and friendly work environment that encourages growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance Producer
Licensed Insurance Producer (Former Employee), West Valley City, UtahMay 28, 2014
Pros: wonderful boss and coworkers
This is mainly a sales job, and I learned that I am not a salesman. I learned lots of office skills and customer service skills, as well as how to sell things. It was definitely a good opportunity and I dont regret it, but like I said I am definitely not a salesman and now I know for sure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Multi-Line Sales rep (Former Employee), Augusta, GAMay 27, 2014
I had great coworkers that I truelly enjoyed working with. Very relaxed style of management not a lot of micro-managing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Agent Assistant (Former Employee), Janesville, WIMay 22, 2014
I loved working for this company. Coworkers were always nice and willing to lend a helping hand. I still keep in touch with everyone in the office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Analyst (Current Employee), WIMay 19, 2014
Pros: work life balance
Cons: benefits have been scaled back in recent years
Great company to work for. Undergoing a lot of changes for the better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Casualty Claims Sr. Adjuster (Former Employee), Westerville OhioMay 19, 2014
American Family is a great place to work. Due to Corporate restructure our office was closed. I was not in a position to relocate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 13, 2014
Pros: friendly enviroment
no benefits
teamwork
assisting customers
relaxing
family friendly enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Agency Sales Manager (Current Employee), Norcross, GAMay 13, 2014
Job work life balance is important to this company
Co workers are helpful and knowledgable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Benifits, hours 37.5 part time
Licensed Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Clive, IAMay 9, 2014
Pros: start at 9am
Cons: 1/2 hour lunch, sales
I do not like sales I think Insurance is high pressure for everyone. I have always been running an office. Since the economy change I had change careers to Insurance because I was promised a job. So 3 years later I see the pressure of sales and I do not appreciate this line of business

1 2 3 4 5

About American Family Insurance

American Family Insurance offers auto, home, life & annuities, health, business and farm & ranch insurance. We’ve – Read more