Find companies:
American Family Insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
275 reviews

American Family Insurance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for and would still work for the company if consolidation of offices had not occurred
Medical Services Specialist (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJuly 21, 2014
Worked independently as the only RN in the Branch Claims office in Wichita, KS. Typically started at 8:00 am and worked until 5:00 pm. The company provided the opportunity to have a flex day every 2 weeks, so I had every other Friday off. Reviewed 30-40 first party and/or third party files a month, depending on the complexity. Learned medical coding – more... in addition to some legal aspects in accordance with Kansas law. Learned appropriate treatment and duration of treatment for soft tissue injuries. Worked with great claims adjusters and managers in the office who were the ones that referred files. Also answered and explained many "desk" consultations. Other RN's working for the company, albeit in other offices/states, were tremendous and very supportive throughout my employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSR for an Agent
Licensed Customer Service and Sales Representative (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSJuly 20, 2014
Scheduled appointment for the agent. Made contact calls to current and potential customers. Gave quotes for home, auto, boat and life insurance. Wrote policies for new and current clients, then input all the information into the computer systems. It was a very small office. Management was great. The hardest part of the job was making the new business – more... quotas for each month. The most enjoyable part of the job was that you got to know the customers and create connections with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Care Center Auto Representative (Current Employee), maryland heights, moJuly 19, 2014
Very diverse company with great pay. they also have great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Individual agents vary
CSR (Current Employee), Saint Peters, MOJuly 17, 2014
Pros: hour long lunches
Cons: no health care benefits, no paid overtime
I genuinely enjoy insurance and had planned to work for this company in hopes to further my career. It is not the company itself I dislike, it's the individual agent's way of running his office. I prefer to work for someone (and for a company) tyhat appreciates their employess, treats them fairly, and sets them up for success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great
Insurance Claims Adjustor (Current Employee), Englewood, COJuly 3, 2014
Great hours and benefits, however the training was lacking and lots of negative feed back from employers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agent Market Assistant
Marketing/Agent Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 2, 2014
Pros: very informative
Cons: company downsized
Learned the business of Insurance and great networking opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company with great employees
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOJuly 2, 2014
American Family Insurance is full of great supervisiors and employees. The company is great about training new employees to ensure that they are successful in the areas for which they were hired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace with friendly staff
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Fort Collins, COJune 27, 2014
American Family Insurance is a great company to work for. As an office assistant I am not qualified for quoting or creating policies, but I typically am involved in data entry, answering phones, organization, and a lot of computer work. The management in my office is very nice and accomodating to my life schedule. The co-workers are always very friendly – more... and helpful. I've learned a lot about the importance of accurate data entry. The hardest part of the job is staying organized between all of the client policies and paperwork. I have also found this to be my favorite part of the job because I love to organize and I enjoy seeing how it helps my co-workers and manager work more efficiently on their tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked this position
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Minneapolis MNJune 26, 2014
Cons: language barrier
My only issue here was a language barrier.

I was unable to make sales due to the majority of the book of business speaking Spanish only.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 23, 2014
Pros: job culture, environment; job ethic
Cons: communication
A great company and job culture to work for I enjoyed working for this company. Very down to earth management and employees. The work culture made the work environment sure a great and fun place to be. There are positive and negative in all companies but I can say there were more positive than negative. This company seemed to understand the balance – more... within employees concerns and making the job a better place to work. But with all companies things can be better to fit all that are involved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Licensed Producer (Current Employee), Northfield, MNJune 17, 2014
Good place to work. .....................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice office in a beautiful area
District Sale Manager Assistant (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 14, 2014
Pros: flexible not micro-managed
Cons: n/a
I enjoyed it, had a terrible boss, but absolutely no reflection on the company. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chances for growth and advancement
Marketing Representative (Former Employee), South Jordan, UTJune 13, 2014
Pros: ability to work on own time
Cons: lack of training
I was only a part time marketing representative but in the few months I was there we had multiple system changes. They supposedly had just spent billions on a new quoting system that was supposed to be more accurate, but it didn't seem so. Drivers with bad driving records were getting better rates than before, but the good drivers premiums seemed to – more... increase. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall okay place to work. I worked for my father in his agency.
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee), Pekin, ILMay 31, 2014
Pros: working for my dad, getting time off when i wanted, customers
Cons: no benefits, direct and indirect sales, constant company changes in policy, pricing.
Selling insurance was never a dream of mine but when my father asked if I would be willing to get licensed and help out with his agency, I couldn't refuse. I thoroughly enjoyed working with customers and helping them protect their assets. It made me feel good when American Family was there to help people during some of the worst times of their lives, – more... but a salesperson I am not. I was able to work part time for him and make enough money to survive, but I couldn't ever get excited about the job. Wouldn't change working with my dad all those years for anything and for that reason, the position I held will always be priceless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Casualty Claim Adjuster (Current Employee), Madison, WIMay 29, 2014
Enjoyable and friendly work environment that encourages growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance Producer
Licensed Insurance Producer (Former Employee), West Valley City, UtahMay 28, 2014
Pros: wonderful boss and coworkers
This is mainly a sales job, and I learned that I am not a salesman. I learned lots of office skills and customer service skills, as well as how to sell things. It was definitely a good opportunity and I dont regret it, but like I said I am definitely not a salesman and now I know for sure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Multi-Line Sales rep (Former Employee), Augusta, GAMay 27, 2014
I had great coworkers that I truelly enjoyed working with. Very relaxed style of management not a lot of micro-managing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Agent Assistant (Former Employee), Janesville, WIMay 22, 2014
I loved working for this company. Coworkers were always nice and willing to lend a helping hand. I still keep in touch with everyone in the office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Analyst (Current Employee), WIMay 19, 2014
Pros: work life balance
Cons: benefits have been scaled back in recent years
Great company to work for. Undergoing a lot of changes for the better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Casualty Claims Sr. Adjuster (Former Employee), Westerville OhioMay 19, 2014
American Family is a great place to work. Due to Corporate restructure our office was closed. I was not in a position to relocate.

1 2 3 4 5

About American Family Insurance

American Family Insurance offers auto, home, life & annuities, health, business and farm & ranch insurance. We’ve – Read more