Find companies:
American Family Insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
272 reviews

American Family Insurance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tell us about:
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Former Employee), MinnesotaDecember 9, 2013
Tell us about:
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained knowledge in a field I had not been exposed too.
CSR (Former Employee), Haysville, KSDecember 3, 2013
The company was great to work for; however the local office was not a suitable fit. I enjoyed the customers and assisting them with billing. I felt very confident in myself for acquiring my KS state insurance license.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Role
Senior Sales Reporting Analyst (Former Employee), Madison, WINovember 29, 2013
I was a contractor for 3 months before my tenure was ended abruptly. I was brought to help with the work load, and I was never integrated into the team. Got a call at 8 PM and notified that my contract had been ended. Not very professional in any way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible hours and great people to work for
Agent Assistant (Former Employee), Auburn, INNovember 24, 2013
It is a very laid back place to work in an office setting. I learned a lot about the industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced office job
Agency Specialist (Current Employee), Walla Walla, WANovember 21, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Open the office. Return all phone messages. Update daily tracking charts and customer accounts. Apply payments left in the drop box over night. Send out client notices the appropriate staff member to contact clients. Call clients on past due billing accounts. Resolve any billing issues with clients. Process and policy changes. All office filing. Order – more... office supplies. Process clients applications and ensure we have all the correct information and documents have been signed and dated. Apply payments received throughout the day. Prep new client files. Schedule appointments. Call clients to set up account reviews.

While working here I have gained the knowledge of insurance. The hardest part of the job is keeping a tight schedule to meet company deadlines. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with great customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall working experience very Poor
Customer Service rep (Former Employee), Parker, CONovember 14, 2013
I worked for an agent in Parker and the learning experience was great, but over all the agent was degrading and disrespectful to employees and some customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Receptionist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 13, 2013
Answering phone calls
Receiving payments

Learned how to be a multitasker
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful but rewarding
Director of Marketing/Advertising (Former Employee), Tucson, AZNovember 13, 2013
Created print advertisements that contributed to audience awareness of our agency
Under my direction, the marketing team brought in new accounts and increased sales by 11% in one period per strategic sales analysis
Designed and implemented updated marketing programs for Renters Insurance
Cold called numerous new leads daily that brought in new accounts; – more... followed up on unrealized leads monthly
Designed a detailed spreadsheet used to track each target market. Monthly review and analysis of potential clients interested in our product, tracked incoming telephone leads and their origination, and close rate of each lead
Weekly in person follow-up sales calls with Apartment Managers to track customer interest and discuss which Marketing programs are generating the most leads for the purpose of customizing our updated Marketing Collateral and programs to maximize our return on investment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Policy Sales & Service Representative (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 6, 2013
The work environment along with the staff is what keeps me coming back every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Policy Sales and Service Representative II (Current Employee), Saint Joseph, MONovember 1, 2013
Pros: overtime
Cons: working saturdays
Gained a lot of valuable experience and increased insurance knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked here for approximately 1-yr
Sr. Claims Adjuster (Casualty Department) (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 1, 2013
Pros: decent salary/hours/location, nice facilities
Cons: dealing with death, having to make hard decision pertaining to settlements and payouts.
Sr. Claims Adjuster in the Casualty Department
Management was poor, detached
co-workers (some) were full and engaging
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the customer interaction
Licensed CSR/Office Manager (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZOctober 31, 2013
Very challenging but rewarding environment. Loved the interaction with all the clients and the self gratification knowing that we were selling a great and stable product. Agent was great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment.
Licensed Representative (Former Employee), Palatine, ILOctober 23, 2013
Pros: great customers.
Cons: prices increases.
I learned their new computer system. The hardest part of the job was the long drive it was about 30 miles. Management is still a current friend. A typical day at work very productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training program
INSURANCE SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 19, 2013
As an Agent In Taining (AIT), I've learned a lot about insurance sales. I've been able to sell muliple lines of insurance to both current clients as well as prospective clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would think twice
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Englewood, COOctober 18, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: no work/life balance, long hours, weekends, micro managers
The company outside of the claims department might be a good place to work. The claims department is over worked and under staffed. No work/life balance, management seems to have a "burn 'em and turn 'em" attitude, there is a very high turn over rate. The pay for performance "raises" are a joke when the max you can receive is .25 cents. The only good – more... thing about working in claims is the job security, but I would recommend doing so with a different insurance carrier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with a diverse staff
Medical Services Manager (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 12, 2013
Pros: working with staff
Enjoyed working each day with always a new experience or scenario to resolve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Licensed Insurance Assistant
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Stratford, WIOctober 8, 2013
Pros: office was close to home. had some good co-workers in the begining
Cons: office manager was very difficult very poor trainer would not admit when she made mistakes, pay was low and bonus incentives where always changing, agent did not network locally to get new leads
Slow office environment. Quoted insurance for P & C found best rates to fill customer needs. Often was out quoted by other insurance companies. Solved billing disputes, called on past dues. Setup Customer reviews for agent to go over coverages, and sell Life insurance. Processed payments. Performed changes for customers policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Catastrophe Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), St. Joseph, Mo. Catastrophe Claims Service CenterSeptember 26, 2013
Increased my knowledge of working residential fire and tornado claims and customer relations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Corporate Environment
Legal (Former Employee), Englewood, COSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: little to no employee incentives.
Not a bad place to go to everyday, but the raises are small and there is little opportunity for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and ever changing work place with great co-workers
CSR (Current Employee), Boulder, COSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: salaried position plus commission and holidays paid off
Cons: contracts between employer and employee can change at the employer's will.
There are so many facets to insurance everyday I learn something new. My days are filled with daily paper work tasks as well as soliciting and writing residential and commercial policies. Each business type requires different kinds of policies and coverage that need to be researched before writing. There are many stipulations to what the client or business – more... can and can't do to be eligible for insurance and I find the researching of this to be the hardest part of the job. As insurance is so important I would never want to write a policy that was incorrect or didn't provide sufficient coverage for the client.
It's very rewarding when clients are happy with the service I provide and they often let me know that they appreciate all the help I have given them and that they can count on me to get things done. Also, my coworkers and I get along so well. We all work together to help each other and can count on one another. – less

About American Family Insurance

American Family Insurance offers auto, home, life & annuities, health, business and farm & ranch insurance. We’ve – Read more