AMERICAN FRIENDS SERVICE COMMITTEE Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
former employee (Former Employee) –  latin americaAugust 8, 2017
management is not great, learned very little during the job, workplace culture is not ideal, the most enjoyable part i would say is having the opportunity to help others
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Idealistic and hard working organization for social justice
Administrative Associate (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 19, 2017
AFSC has 100 years of dedication to social justice and advocacy for marginalized groups to its name. For a small organization it covers a lot of territory both in the US and abroad with numerous small offices working tirelessly on issues like community peace building, immigration reform, ending mass incarceration, and human rights.
Pros
Being part of a dedicated staff working in communities
Cons
Budget instability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Youth Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 7, 2017
We protested important issues to the city council. Mosaics were made from old furniture to be sold on the internet. We also protested immigration laws that we felt were unreasonable.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Getting glass cuts on your hands.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Connections
Intern (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 16, 2017
The most enjoyable part of working for AFSC was the connection made with the students. You really got to know everyone on a personal level that felt genuine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship!
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJanuary 5, 2017
Very hands-on internship experience. Worked with various cultures and diverse people in order to create a better community!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social justice oriented service
Volunteer Student Mentor (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 9, 2016
Devoted to creating a more socially just environment for people to live. This organization focuses on organizing communities around various social justice issues to impact the life outcomes of constituents.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Youth Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 26, 2016
The Friends Committee provided me with an abundance of knowledge pertaining culture, society and health. My years there were exciting and very informative.
Pros
network
Cons
benafits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LA 70113April 23, 2016
I loved my coworkers and the work. It was great to go out into the community and see the impact that our work made. My supervisor was amazing and very understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont want to write nothing
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 16, 2016
Rate this company*required
Overall rating*
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great culture
Grants Unit Intern (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 22, 2015
Great learning experience of grant writing. I learned about prospect research and wrote grant for program of interest.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't generalize, but my experience was amazing
Internship (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTSeptember 14, 2015
The AFSC is a huge organization with offices in many states. I had a atypical experience while trying to help a group of wonder Quakers implement an office in Connecticut. I only worked with them for a summer. I had an amazing experience. If you have the opportunity to work with AFSC I strongly suggest doing so.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working here
Program Facilitator (Current Employee) –  Jessup, MDMay 22, 2015
I like that the company is involved in the community. I get to meet a lot of great people working for them. The network is extensive.
Pros
meeting great people
Cons
certain processes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy to be here
Youth Peace and Justice Intern (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 12, 2015
A typical day everyone is in early. Business is conducted in an orderly manner. I learned that there are a wealth of resources at my disposal. My co-workers and management are the most enjoyable part of my job because there is open communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just an internship
Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 6, 2014
This was just an internship for a few months, so nothing too exciting but everyone is very nice and willing to answer any questions you may have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people with lots of support who really care about working to help people
Diversity/Tolerance Intern (Former Employee) –  Office of the Carolinas, NCMarch 22, 2014
I would recommend this for a volunteer or internship opportunityl
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the internship
Advantage Sales and Marketing (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCFebruary 6, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed the internship.



Management was very helpful and wiling to teach
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling and open environment
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 13, 2014
No day was typical. It was. Always something fresh and exciting going on. I learned how to interact with people from so many different walks of life. Management drove us to be the best on an everyday basis, she was the epitome of what I would want a manager to be. My co workers were a motley crew,but we got along for the common good of the program. The hardest part of the job was not knowing how long you were going to have a job. The most enjoyable part of the job was easily passing out meals to impoverished families.
Pros
purposeful and fulfilling work
Cons
not knowing if you were going to have a job from week to week
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent values; treatment of employees needed work
Country Representative (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 29, 2013
The Quaker values of the organization are very special. The p executive leadership in place in 2007 was not good, especially in International Programs and the top executive, which was non-egalitarian in contradiction with Quaker values.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-Profit organization based on Quaker Values
AmeriCorps Vista Volunteer  (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJune 19, 2013
Working as a VISTA volunteer with the American Friends Service Committee was an extremely rewarding experience. Everyday was a new challenge. I was able to organize events, meet great people, and learn more about Quakerism.

Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AMERICAN FRIENDS SERVICE COMMITTEE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3

AMERICAN FRIENDS SERVICE COMMITTEE Reviews by Location