Find companies:
American Girl
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
65 reviews

American Girl Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal
Bilingual Trainer (Seasonal) (Former Employee), De Forest, WIDecember 20, 2014
Pros: you can go back every year
Cons: they send you home a lot
It is an OK seasonal job. Dont expect anything else. The chances are very slim to get a full time all year-round position. People work for the company strictly during season only. Mostly migrant workers. When none in season full time worker stand around most of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love working with kids you will enjoy the job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 17, 2014
Wasn't my ideal job at first, my it does grow on you. Interacting with girls and people from all over is the most exciting experience. The atmosphere is always cozy and fun. Never a dull moment here!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only If Your A people Person
Loss Prevention Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 17, 2014
You work with everyone very close. Long busy days. They go by Fast. The costumers most of the time give you what you give them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love The kids
Line Cook/Server/Runner/Dishwasher (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNDecember 12, 2014
Pros: free lunches, near shopping stores
Cons: not the best pay scale.
I really enjoyed the friendly environment and working with the kiddies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
merchandising handler (Former Employee), chesterfiled, moNovember 20, 2014
a typical work day is helping girls with there thing and making a there day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Direct Service Associate (Current Employee), Wilmot, WINovember 17, 2014
call center employees are well trained and there is a lot of resources to help you as you service customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Associate Art Director, Magazine (Former Employee), Middleton, WINovember 10, 2014
Pros: cheap lunches, great coworkers, great perks like free tickets to movie theaters, museums, and gyms.
Cons: not a very stimulating environment
I worked as an intern and grew to an Associate Art Director of magazine. I really loved my intimate team of writers and designers and miss working for American Girl very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The truth about American Girl
Seasonal Supervisor Trainer (Current Employee), DeForest, WINovember 9, 2014
Pros: the day i find different opportunity.
Cons: management, opportunity for advancement, training
Your job performance does not matter at AG. The only thing that matters is if you are willing to .... (I think you can fill in the rest). Management is biased against males. What training they have is very poor at best and job performance is not taken into consideration when advancement opportunities are posted. Yes, I am a very disappointed full time – more... employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with amazing people
Loss Prevention Agent & EHS Committee Lead (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNOctober 14, 2014
Pros: tons of workplace parties/ potlucks/ fun stuff/ awards/ recognition days
Cons: short breaks, rude customers
I worked at American Girl for a little over 2 years in the Loss Prevention Department and it was the best job I've had yet. The people are amazing, everyone gets along and even management and store associates get along great. I was required to fill out paperwork on a daily basis during store opening/ close, watch the escalators and yell at misbehaving – more... children messing around on the escalator, fill out any accident reports or incidents that occur involving customers or employees, watch cameras and pull any necessary video footage required, assist customers with any complaints or inquiries they may have. The hardest part about working here was getting hours and not having any benefits or paid time off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Unloader/Sorter (Current Employee), DeForest, WIOctober 11, 2014
Pros: different jobs everyday
Cons: non
I learned a lot of techniques during this job and learned about the cmpany before it bacame part of Mattel. The management staff are incredible and work to help you do better everysingle day. A lot of my co-workers were friendly and great to work with. The hardest part of my job was working in several different places at a time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Productive and fun workplace
Sales Representative/Cashier (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 27, 2014
Great place to work at, friendly dependable co-workers and the management is great. There are always opportunities to grow with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Girl provides a friendly and fast paced work environment!
Direct Service Associate (Former Employee), Wilmot WisconsinAugust 21, 2014
Pros: i loved the discounts, fellow employees, and little contests!
Cons: the employment was seasonal only however, i always looked forward to returned every year!
Every day we provided premier customer service to every caller! We valued our customers orders, suggestions, and concerns. At American Girl we would multitask though various programs while assisting our customers by phone. The management provided us with constructive reviews so that we may better assist our callers. The people and atmosphere were second – more... to none and I enjoyed coming to work. The product and the service behind the scenes is fun and I really miss working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Loss prevention (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 27, 2014
Pros: discounts on lunch
Cons: short breaks
Overall fun place. Good environment. The staff is very nice at the time I was working there. The loss prevention team was awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Atmosphere
DHS Associate (Former Employee), HoustonJuly 19, 2014
I loved working at American Girl. The atmosphere was always light and my co-workers where amazing girls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Culture and Fun environment to work
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 18, 2014
A typical day included overseeing the daily Bistro operations in both Kitchen and Front of house. This particular restaurant model required heavy administrative work in which I took care of. I managed a total of 45 associates, 4 supervisors, and 2 salaried managers. I would say the most difficult part of the job was once I became a mother it became – more... harder and harder to work all the hours the business required. The most enjoyable part was that I was a part of streamlining many AG processes throughout the company. I worked closely with corporate on a daily basis, providing them feedback, and being part of committees to improve the Quality of customer service in our restaurants. I mostly enjoyed all the traveling/training I'd get to do. I trained 95% of all restaurant Managers across our locations in the US.
In my new venture I'm looking for something M-F, where I can utilize my administrative, payroll, and customer service skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience
Line cook (Current Employee), Miami, FLMay 5, 2014
Pros: one free meal for boh
Cons: lack of movement
I have learned a lot about how to manage a restaurant here. The company overall is great. They have a "play day" each year where you have a paid hour to play games and hang out in the break room. The hardest part was lack of hiring up within the company. I worked hard to grow but I didn't get the chance to.
Most of the managers were dedicated to having – more... fun and making this a great place to work. If there had been more opportunities to move up within the company, I would have loved to stay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Picker Packer (Former Employee), DeForest, WIApril 2, 2014
Pros: felt like a family, did a a lot for the employees to make them comfortable
Cons: no benefits.
My nights if work there were always enjoyable, never had a dull day.
I learned a lot about the company, and about my fellow workers.
Management was well, a lot of good people who deserved their rank.
Hardest part, was the super late nights.
Most enjoyable, that it didn't even feel like work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doll Store
Operations Associate (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 31, 2014
It's a good company to work for, everyday brings a different experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working for Wal-Mart
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 25, 2014
Pros: raise every year on your hire date, chance for advancement, working with mix cultures
Cons: no overtime, low start out pay
Walmart was a very fun and clean business to work for. I got multiple skills from working there and the chance for advancement in secure long as you stay with the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mattel company - good benefits
Sales (Current Employee), American Girl Place NYMarch 24, 2014
Family feel, fun setting, bureaucratic management. Coworkers are nice and care about one another. A lot of training. Not enough growth opportunity.

1 2 3 4

About American Girl

Pleasant Rowland introduced American Girl dolls in 1986 as a historically-themed alternative to Barbie and the Cabbage Patch Kids. – Read more