American Golf Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hypocritical
Manager (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaMay 19, 2017
Keep expectations low. Understand growth and development are not at the top of the priority list. Good place to get a start in the industry, hard to stay as a long term career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No coperate support,
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Acworth, GAApril 24, 2017
No Regional support from RD's. Basicly whatever Keith wanted he got. He managed the entire company on his own emoitions. My RD did not support me at all. He said he would talk to Keith but never got back to me with any answers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Lead Sales and Marketing Director (Former Employee) –  Geneva, ILApril 21, 2017
great company. they promote from within and keep you engaged and excited. lots of fun competitions and incentives. fun atmosphere to work in. go americangolf!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Golf course and beautiful banquetvenues
Bartender/Server (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAApril 6, 2017
Working for American Golf has taught me how to work as a team, leadership skills as well as salesmanship. AGC has a very professional work environment, with a family like feel.
Pros
Free golf
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highschool job
Golf Cart Attendant (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMarch 28, 2017
worked here while going to school it was a fun laid back job didn't pay well but was a good experience. learned a good work ethic. the management was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always doing something different
Maitenance (Current Employee) –  Dacula, GAAugust 27, 2016
coworkers get along and work well
enjoyable part is working
constantly fixing things through out the day
hardest part of the job digging
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Woodland Hills, CAJune 29, 2016
assisted customers & their needs.
customer service skills.
co workers were all kind & hard working.
no hard parts to job. it was all basic customer service.
i enjoyed my position & duties.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring place to work at
Server,Bus Boy (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAAugust 15, 2015
It was my part time job while i went to high school, only worked weekends and didn't mind since i was 18 years old. It was really slow most of the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long learning career
General Manager, Highland Park Country Club (Former Employee) –  Highland Park, ILAugust 6, 2015
I worked for 18 years for the worlds largest management company. Started as a volunteer and became a Regional Manager, winning the first ever General Manager of the Year Award.
Pros
Great training, lots of locations, I saw the whole country
Cons
Easy to get lost in the crowd for some but not me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAJuly 6, 2015
I was able to cover the whole areas of accounting. I was looking this kind of accounting jobs since I graduated from college. It was a great opportunity to work for American Golf. At the beginning the team was great but many of them left. Downsizing. Over all I had a great time. I gained a lot.
Pros
Great working and learning experience
Cons
Bad losing great people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about the bottom line
former food and beverage director (Former Employee) –  Killearn Country ClubDecember 11, 2014
Went to work for a run down property. No air conditioning in banquet room half the year. No heat through the winter. Roof leaking. Rooms for rent havent been updated since building them in the 60's. Poorly managed by the general manager. American Golf cant get rid of the property because of an iron clad lease so they will not spend the money for repairs.
Pros
none
Cons
General Manager is lacking in people skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very nice and clean place to work with many smiling faces.
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  West Linn, ORAugust 14, 2014
This was my first job and I am very glad I got to work there. At the time of my employment there were many new hires in management in the Banquet Server department, however, my boss was very good at his job that he could almost fix anything as far as management goes. I am sure that it is the best looking place in West Linn. It is clean, the tables are shiny, the grass in green and full, but most noticeably the walls have really fancy decorations as well as nice paintings. Everyone including employees are friendly and nice which feels so welcoming. I learned a variety of things ranging from efficient ways of thinking to handling responsibility. They don't give benefits. It was very physically demanding, and that was quite hard for me to handle on a regular basis. Overall though it is a fantastic company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, GAJune 24, 2014
A great company to work for with a lot of bright minds. Since the industry is saturated, there is no room for growth at this point. The most difficult part of the job is customer relations.
Pros
Benefits and co workers
Cons
No room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well run club. Great co-workers
Membership Director (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAOctober 29, 2013
Great club and company. I learned alot. I value my time spend with AGC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
Head Banquet Food Server (Former Employee) –  Brigantine, NJJuly 13, 2013
Disrespectful mangers; treated employees terribly. Had to do the work of 4 employees for low wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look elsewhere
Food and Beverage Director (Former Employee) –  The Colony, TXMay 23, 2013
Not a place to leave your mark and grow your career. Good old boy network. C-Level management knows nothing about the facilities and people other than on a piece of paper in black and white.
Pros
Business revolves around recreation, Facilities fairly nice
Cons
No training or development, no personal or financial growth opportunities, toxic work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Keney Golf Course Assistant Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTJanuary 30, 2013
fun,fun,fun.n good people,great pay and benifits. long hours very hard labor. free golf.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and lousy pay
Associate (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 13, 2012
They expect their employees to work extremely hard with little pay. You shouldn't be called an employee but more like a volunteer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sports/Hospitality enviornment. Great people!
Director of Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAOctober 27, 2012
Coming from a structured corporation (Verizon) it is refreshing to work for a company where you can think outside the box. The autmosphere is more relaxed and the management/executives are the best.

Compensation and benefits are below market value.
Revenues are weather driven.
Pros
friendly enviornment; room for growth; ethical values
Cons
wage freeze; furlough
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Burn and Turn Company
golf operations (Former Employee) –  tallahasseeSeptember 14, 2012
I don't know what the other reviews are talking about. I was with them for 3 years and it was the WORST job I ever had. The management team only cared about themselves and would quickly stab you in the back. They ruled by fear and never realized there greatest assets.........there employees.
Pros
half price lunch and a paycheck
Cons
mandatory 2 week furlough, poor pay, poor benefits, the constant fear of loosing your job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Golf Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

American Golf Corporation Reviews by Location