American Greetings Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AG is a greative place to work
Corporate Freelance Digital Photographer (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHNovember 16, 2017
As a CG-17 freelancer I was only allowed to work 1000 hours per year. No benefits, no PTO, no job security plus I got a 1099 at the end of the year. Not a bad way to make a living and have fun in a creative environment.
Pros
Fun creative people
Cons
no benefits or job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We worked for 8 hours day and had one hour for lunch everyday.
Production Coordinator, Trade Communications (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHNovember 16, 2017
The culture is creative and laid back in some areas. I learned
about time management and trouble shooting skills.
Management was different depending on your area of
the building so corporate and some loose. The hardest part
was some unrealistic due dates on Catalogs.
Receiving product one day and thinking you can get everything
completed in day. I meet a lot of great long last friends and
talent people at American Greetings. And worked on some really
fun project.
Pros
Boss would take us out to lunch and pay for it.
Cons
Health care cost alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Greeting
Retail Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 16, 2017
This company is low management, . You make your own hours and have different locations. Plan-o-grams followed for product placement.Other than that good company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not enjoy
Maintenance Technician and Electrician (Current Employee) –  Danville, KYNovember 13, 2017
Very cut-throat. management was very poor. Even supervisors have been caught sleeping on the job. Ridiculous. This is the company you want to work for if you want to be lazy and get by with it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place to work
Merchandiser (part-time) (Current Employee) –  United StatesNovember 12, 2017
I would retire from here if there were more hours. I liked my job. Hours were flexible which were important because I have a child at home. hardest part of the job was all the lifting because of no organization at Wal Mart.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poductive but little hours given
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  NYNovember 12, 2017
A great way to get engaged with your co-workers and be independent. However, part time means at least 15 hours and every week so far I got 4 or 6 hours mostly. Its like whats the use, I barely get anytime to do much. There's no rewards or updates about how the store Im working in is progressing.
Pros
You work on your time
Cons
Barely any hours for work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced workload and flexible hours
Part time merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHNovember 9, 2017
American Greetings is a wonderful company to work for no matter where you are working in the company. Management does an excellent job of motivating people to perform to the best of their abilities.
Pros
Flexible Work hours
Cons
Travel
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AM greetings
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, OHNovember 8, 2017
this place wasn't the best to work for. it was a seasonal position but the management was not very good abcd efgh I jklmnop qurstuvx wiejks djdkdkdkdk
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work atmosphere but lacks room for advancement
Machine Specialist (Current Employee) –  Osceola, ARNovember 7, 2017
Each day is a new challenge as far as assigned work. I'm someone who really enjoys a challenge. I've learned a great deal when it comes to working with others while training them. Most of all I've learned that patience, consistency, integrity, and confidence goes a long way when it comes to day to day routines. The culture at AG is somewhat laid back but management seems to be more concerned with placing more responsibility on those who do exceptional work; yet there is no incentive or reward for its employees. The most enjoyable part of the job is the responsibility I have to make decisions when it comes to the production of my work and training of employees. Working at my own pace and being looked upon as a leader, at my skill level, are also a plus.
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere, Work pace
Cons
Healthcare, lack of incentives, overall morale
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Work Environment with poor pay/benefits
Part Time Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  San Marcos, TXNovember 7, 2017
I did not enjoy this job. Physically demanding and a lot of driving around. Pay is terrible and equipment is old and outdated. Very disorganized company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about American Greetings?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time worker for American Greeting
Part-Time Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Woodbury area NYNovember 4, 2017
It was too stressful standing on my feet and doing the displays. My manager was really nice and professional. The pay was very low I was able to work near my home. American Greeting demand speed in putting up the card displays. I quit it was too stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  UtahOctober 31, 2017
Chose the job because I could fit it around my busy work schedule. Hours are extremely flexible, although working around the holidays is manditory. Need to update their technology. They aren’t compatable across devices and this makes doing your job difficult. You can choose to work alone or in groups.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its good
HAND FINISHER (Former Employee) –  Osceola, AROctober 29, 2017
American Greeting was an amazing job. The process was very easy and quick to catch on to if you pay attention. I would go back if i had the opportunity to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working hours
Merchandiser (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Brunswick, GAOctober 29, 2017
Work independently and flexible hours. Some heavy lifting, Sometimes paperwork confusing. High turn over in supervisors. flexible hours make it easy to work at your convenience,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great manager and a fun product
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHOctober 29, 2017
Part time position working as vendor.
Management valued their workers and very good at training and providing support.
Great combination of physical and mental work load.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  TNOctober 29, 2017
enjoy the hours and what I do.
work independently
great people to work for and work with.
You have the flexibility to work when you want as long as you get your accounts done within the scheduled week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced work environment with growth opportunity
Audit Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 26, 2017
Generally enjoyed my time working at American Greetings. Strong company culture with many people staying within the company for their entire careers. Offers growth opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Bardstown, KYOctober 24, 2017
Good place to work. It has a union. Not a hard job at all. Many skilled job opportunities. Hard to ever get on first shift!! Need 10 or more years to even get it!
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company but hours are on a store need basis.
Merchandiser/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 20, 2017
Nice company and good contact with territory mgr, if needed. More store management service skills.Must be able to open boxes and put product away accurately within given time-frame. Sometime have to set-up displays for seasonal items.
Pros
flexible hours for people in need of a 2nd, job
Cons
promos are not delivered timely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Relaxed work environment
PTM (Current Employee) –  Olney, ILOctober 20, 2017
Relaxed work environment, supervisors and management are excellent, very self-motivating work culture, salary is great compared to my area. Ability to work when you want to, with the exception of mandatory due dates for activities, and it gives you the opportunity to work closely with people of all backgrounds which is great!
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Greetings. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 575 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5