Find companies:
American Heart Association
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
106 reviews

American Heart Association Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work enviroment, Always undergoing changes
Training Network Specialist, ECC Programs (Former Employee), Richardson, TXSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: meaningful work
Cons: not much room for advancement
Great place to work and the work can be fullfilling at times knowing you are helping to save lives. The leadership roles are constantly changing which can be annoying at times as the company is constantly changing directions and is behind when it comes to technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a deverse working envoiment with a lot of obstacles to overcome.
Matching Gift Specialist (Former Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: flexiable work schedule, family was always first.
Cons: lack of professional managment and repsect amoung team members.
A typical work day consisted of large amounts of data entry and any projects that our manager would add in. The managment was located off site which was an adjustment for me in the beginning. I enjoyed my job with the AHA simply because I was a part of something really big that helped to save lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work
Administrative Associate (Current Employee), TexasSeptember 17, 2013
The American Heart Association is an amazing place to work with great collaboration across the affiliate and great job satisfaction in knowing that your hard efforts are going to a great cause.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee), Ewing, NJSeptember 10, 2013
Great place to be around with all the people trying to make a difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Vice President of Development (Former Employee), Austin, TXAugust 30, 2013
AHA is a great company that provided me the necessary training to advance my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Student (Former Employee), Columbus INAugust 26, 2013
Studied Material
Preformed Studied Task
Test on Certification
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great HR team
Recruiter (Current Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 25, 2013
Great place to work! Top notch HR department that partners well with the management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing great work to improve the health of all americans
Director, Business Relationship Management (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 22, 2013
Great work life balance. Embracing the virtual workforce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good chance to raise money for a good cause
Team captain (Former Employee), strousburg PAAugust 21, 2013
we raised money for the american heart association.
there were walks for the heart association
and it is a very good feeling to raise money for this cause
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have a heart!!
Customer Systems Consultant (Former Employee), Glen Allen, VaAugust 12, 2013
Pros: flexible, required travel
Cons: non-profit with limited funding
Working for the American Heart Association was very interesting and the opportunity to "dig in" and participate with the non-profit organization and fundraisers. The staff was very pleasant and I enjoyed my position as it allowed me the opportunity to use my skills while leaning and applying them to another function.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
satisfying and understanding group
BLS Instructor (Current Employee), The Dalles, ORAugust 12, 2013
Pros: understand the area
Cons: i am so far away from the training center
.They seem to understand the groups that live here and wish to make it has painless as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adm. Asst. nice,
Sales (Former Employee), IowaAugust 9, 2013
Pros: nice admnistrative assistant person
Cons: poor manager with huge ego, poor work/home balance, no job security
I would not work or support the American Heart Association, which I am sad to say. I worked here for literally 2 weeks before being let go because they didn't think I had the "computer skills" necessary. I was up front from the very beginning that I was not a computer wizard, but always learned the system needed for my position. I was told "no problem – more... we will teach you." They had an Administrative Assistant so I'm not sure what the problem was. As far as work - life balance, there was none. In the 2 weeks that I worked there, I worked during the day in the office or out in the community and had meetings 2-3 nights a week with volunteers. I had no children at home so this worked for me, but if you have a family at home this would be diffucult. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Organization who takes great care of employees
Corporate Events Director (Current Employee), Flint, MIJuly 22, 2013
The organization is wonderful and takes great care of employees in regards to family time, healthcare, incentives etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was rarely in the office
Territory Account Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 15, 2013
Pros: opportunity to help educate on how to save a life
Cons: work life balance
• A typical day at work consisted of setting meetings and closing deals
• I learned endurance, perseverance and management skills
• Management was pretty hands off
• My co-workers were friendly and team oriented
• The hardest part of the job was the current competition and my territory
• What I liked most about the job was selling against some pretty – more... tough competition even though our price was higher – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The day flies by due to the fast-paced environment
Event Specialist (Current Employee), Decatur, ALJuly 8, 2013
Pros: fast-paced, great people to work with, salary and benefits, and getting to watch an event come together
Cons: high and unrealistic expectations, heavy work load, and long hours
Answering emails and phones, scheduling appointments for my directors, checking in with my volunteer committees to make sure fundraising events are progressing, process income and expenses from events, entering data into event database softwares, and planning events, such as scheduling meetings with event venues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting experience
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAJune 12, 2013
Good experience volunteering. Would do it again, management was decent with the event we participated in. Our school was in charge of collecting blood pressures and BMI readings from anyone who was interested in seeing their blood sugar levels.

Though I had a difficult time restraining myself from the other volunteers performing capillary punctures – more... (by OSHA standards they were performing them incorrectly and possible harm to patients), I had fun talking with my partner and discussing the next days assignments in our injections course. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non Profit Company
Technology Coordinator (Former Employee), Lancaster, PAMay 26, 2013
Pros: travel
Cons: no professional growth
I provided desktop, laptop and event support for 300 users within a five state area (West Virginia, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Kentucky, Ohio). Traveled throughout those states doing on site and remote support, completing numerous office moves, computer refreshes, networking equipment replacements and new hire orientations. The hardest part of the job – more... was not getting respect from the AHA home office departments and no room for professional growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Administrative Assistant/Data Entry (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 8, 2013
Great place to work at and the people are very nice. Very good Company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring Cause
Senior Director, Go Red For Women (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 7, 2013
Pros: volunteers, flexible work environment
Cons: unrealistic expectations
The American Heart Association is a great place to work with incredible co-workers and volunteers. Days are never the same and each day you are challenged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Set-up For failure
Event Assistant (Former Employee), Gulfport, Mississippi & Mobile AlabamaMay 6, 2013
Cons: stress, stress and more stress
This company only cares about money. Upper management don't have a clue on operating the programs that are used daily therefore they expect you to snap your fingers and have a project done. I worked out of the Gulfport Mississippi office for the Alabama office only to find out there is no office in Alabama. Everytime I haf to drive over to Mobile I – more... had to meet the Director in the parking lot of Resturants, Starbucks, etc. or else they would use the bank conference room. They Directors are very disrespectful and don't care about you having a family because most of them are bitter, single or don't have kids. They talk behind each others back instead of being woman enough to settle things. It's sad to sad working for AHA is only setting yourself up for failure. It's too stressful for the littlke anount of money they pay – less

About American Heart Association

The American Heart Association (AHA) is a not-for-profit organization devoted to the fight against heart disease and stroke (both – Read more