Find companies:
American Heart Association
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
117 reviews

American Heart Association Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
satisfying and understanding group
BLS Instructor (Current Employee), The Dalles, ORAugust 12, 2013
Pros: understand the area
Cons: i am so far away from the training center
.They seem to understand the groups that live here and wish to make it has painless as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adm. Asst. nice,
Sales (Former Employee), IowaAugust 9, 2013
Pros: nice admnistrative assistant person
Cons: poor manager with huge ego, poor work/home balance, no job security
I would not work or support the American Heart Association, which I am sad to say. I worked here for literally 2 weeks before being let go because they didn't think I had the "computer skills" necessary. I was up front from the very beginning that I was not a computer wizard, but always learned the system needed for my position. I was told "no problem – more... we will teach you." They had an Administrative Assistant so I'm not sure what the problem was. As far as work - life balance, there was none. In the 2 weeks that I worked there, I worked during the day in the office or out in the community and had meetings 2-3 nights a week with volunteers. I had no children at home so this worked for me, but if you have a family at home this would be diffucult. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Organization who takes great care of employees
Corporate Events Director (Current Employee), Flint, MIJuly 22, 2013
The organization is wonderful and takes great care of employees in regards to family time, healthcare, incentives etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was rarely in the office
Territory Account Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 15, 2013
Pros: opportunity to help educate on how to save a life
Cons: work life balance
• A typical day at work consisted of setting meetings and closing deals
• I learned endurance, perseverance and management skills
• Management was pretty hands off
• My co-workers were friendly and team oriented
• The hardest part of the job was the current competition and my territory
• What I liked most about the job was selling against some pretty – more... tough competition even though our price was higher – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The day flies by due to the fast-paced environment
Event Specialist (Current Employee), Decatur, ALJuly 8, 2013
Pros: fast-paced, great people to work with, salary and benefits, and getting to watch an event come together
Cons: high and unrealistic expectations, heavy work load, and long hours
Answering emails and phones, scheduling appointments for my directors, checking in with my volunteer committees to make sure fundraising events are progressing, process income and expenses from events, entering data into event database softwares, and planning events, such as scheduling meetings with event venues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting experience
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAJune 12, 2013
Good experience volunteering. Would do it again, management was decent with the event we participated in. Our school was in charge of collecting blood pressures and BMI readings from anyone who was interested in seeing their blood sugar levels.

Though I had a difficult time restraining myself from the other volunteers performing capillary punctures – more... (by OSHA standards they were performing them incorrectly and possible harm to patients), I had fun talking with my partner and discussing the next days assignments in our injections course. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non Profit Company
Technology Coordinator (Former Employee), Lancaster, PAMay 26, 2013
Pros: travel
Cons: no professional growth
I provided desktop, laptop and event support for 300 users within a five state area (West Virginia, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Kentucky, Ohio). Traveled throughout those states doing on site and remote support, completing numerous office moves, computer refreshes, networking equipment replacements and new hire orientations. The hardest part of the job – more... was not getting respect from the AHA home office departments and no room for professional growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Administrative Assistant/Data Entry (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 8, 2013
Great place to work at and the people are very nice. Very good Company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring Cause
Senior Director, Go Red For Women (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 7, 2013
Pros: volunteers, flexible work environment
Cons: unrealistic expectations
The American Heart Association is a great place to work with incredible co-workers and volunteers. Days are never the same and each day you are challenged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Set-up For failure
Event Assistant (Former Employee), Gulfport, Mississippi & Mobile AlabamaMay 6, 2013
Cons: stress, stress and more stress
This company only cares about money. Upper management don't have a clue on operating the programs that are used daily therefore they expect you to snap your fingers and have a project done. I worked out of the Gulfport Mississippi office for the Alabama office only to find out there is no office in Alabama. Everytime I haf to drive over to Mobile I – more... had to meet the Director in the parking lot of Resturants, Starbucks, etc. or else they would use the bank conference room. They Directors are very disrespectful and don't care about you having a family because most of them are bitter, single or don't have kids. They talk behind each others back instead of being woman enough to settle things. It's sad to sad working for AHA is only setting yourself up for failure. It's too stressful for the littlke anount of money they pay – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Creative place to work.
Individual contributor, Communications (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 30, 2013
Pros: great location
Cons: low pay for non-exec employees
When I worked there, there was a focus on the 37.5 hour week - which was great for work-life balance and it forced you to get a lot done in a short period of time. The people were extremely talented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trust me you do not want to work here!!!
Fundraiser (Current Employee), TexasApril 27, 2013
Pros: indeed is a pro...there are so many other companies that post on indeed.
Cons: toxic and stressful environment!
I wish I would have read some of the reviews before I accepted a position with this organization. The environment is toxic and stressful. Management is inexperienced and petty. Co-workers are at odds with each other because that they it will help them score points with management. Fundraising goals are unattainable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A career well spent
Director (Current Employee), DallasApril 27, 2013
Pros: mission, people, benefits
If you are going to work for a living, you might as well do something great while you are at it. American Heart has a great mission, fighting heart disease. AHA is a nonprofit, working work hard to make every donor dollar count, so we constantly try to do more with less, but the progress we make is very fulfilling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE!
Director of Development (Former Employee), Hampton Roads, VAApril 25, 2013
Cons: everything from upper management/leadership, lack of training, unattainable goals, misled during hiring process, expensive healthcare considering it's a healthcare nonprofit
I had been so excited to work for AHA based on their mission of creating a healthier community. However, my dreams were soon dashed as the organization's true colors began to show. Very little training and very little time to build a volunteer base for 4 brand new events. Goals were unattainable and concerns were quickly dismissed by management. Direct – more... supervisor lacked leadership abilities and overall abilities to connect with people. They claim to have the health of individuals in mind, but that mission was not even upheld by their own staff and forget about work/life balance, as there is none! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization to work for, flexible hours, good benefits
Fundraising and Special Event Director (Current Employee), Augusta, GAApril 21, 2013
Great job if you are organized, self motivated and sales oriented.
Is very high pressure and you're expected to reach goals that are sometimes unattainable. Not much support or training and basically alone working a large territory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Administrative Support Specialist (Former Employee), Augusta, GAApril 18, 2013
Pros: fun place to work
Enjoyed working with all the events
Enjoyed working with co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allows me to be flexible and to meet all types of people
CPR, AED and First Aid Instructor (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 11, 2013
Pros: having the ability to meet various types of people
Cons: need more work hours
Typical day at work consists of preparing to teach a 3 hour class. This includes checking registrations, equipment for class, preparing rosters and other necessary paperwork to be forwarded to American Heart Association. I am currently a contractor for American Heart Association, thus,allowing me to be flexible. I get great enjoyment from training and – more... utilizing great customer service skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in and team work atmosphere.
Development Specialist-BearBryant/GoRedforWomen (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 4, 2013
There is a lot of energy and the office is always bustling. Management wants you to grow and there is something new to learn everyday. I work in fundraising but the office has people who work in healthy equality and community relations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding job when you know that you are selling for a purpose and are making such a great impact!
Fundraising (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAMarch 17, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, school schedules, milage and paid holidays
Cons: a lot of personal time required for administrative catch up, low pay, lack of mobility
A typical day at work is to travel from school to school for meetings regarding implementing health education while raising funding for our mission. I am working with teachers, administrators, and nurses- all of whom feel underpaid and underappreciated, so they like the fact that this company gives so much credit to the role they play in children's – more... lives and helping to be a voice to our mission. The hardest parts of the job is holding volunteers/teachers accountable to what they agreed to do, as well as having such aggressive dollar goals in a sufferring economy. This is a very rewarding job when you know that you are selling for a purpose and are making such a great impact! I used to feel that I was a great salesperson, but once you have the challenge of selling something intangible, you know you have the people skills and talents it takes if you are successful. I am now addicted to Non-Profit, I just wish there were more opportunities to grow in other departments of the AHA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place To Work!
Fundraiser (Former Employee), Texas AffiliateMarch 10, 2013
Pros: i can't think of any
Cons: too many to count
Think before you sink! The environment at AHA is toxic! Upper Management is abusive and condescending. Individuals that bring in the money can consider themselves as being in the "In-Crowd". Once you are "In-Crowd" then you can behave as you please. Hours are insane, fundraising goals are unattainable and there is no such thing as work-life-balance.

About American Heart Association

The American Heart Association (AHA) is a not-for-profit organization devoted to the fight against heart disease and stroke (both – Read more