American Home Care Employee Reviews

Showing all 50 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Management so they Fired everyone
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Columbia MOMarch 31, 2017
It took 7 new staff to run the same office that only took 3 before and the services began to fail so bad that they started shutting down branches. New management didn't really know what they were doing.
Pros
Great Clients
Cons
poor managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent agency!
Director of Marketing (Current Employee) –  Terrell, TXMarch 20, 2017
I have worked for American Home Care and American Home Hospice for 13 yrs and continue to love and respect the professional people I work with and am very proud of the compassionate care we provide.
Pros
Great staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The manager when I was there was not pleasent to work with.
Payroll Clerk/ Field Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 16, 2017
Its been many years since I worked there. However the manager that was there when I was working there was hard to please. And didnt know how to talk to people professionally.
Pros
Flexible schedule, weekly pay
Cons
Management, and general office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from American Home Care
March 20, 2017

This review is not about the American Home Care in Terrell, Texas but in Kansas.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work, too bad it was bought out by Encompass
RN Case Manager Home Health (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 9, 2017
This company no longer open for Home Health services. It was a wonderful place of employment and the whole staff cared whole heartedly about providing top notch quality care to the community. Too bad they were bought out from Encompass Home Health. Everything went south after the buy out.
Pros
The ideal workplace that supported you as a clinician, andsupported home/work balance! They strived to keep and value their employees, and advance you as rightfully deserved.
Cons
Bought out by Encompass!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from American Home Care
March 20, 2017

This review is not about the American Home Care in Terrell, Texas. The Agency has not been bought out by Encompass

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Personal Care Assistant (PCA) (Current Employee) –  West Plains, MOFebruary 27, 2017
It doesn't pay really that good but its money, its good to get paid weekly. The trave payl isn't the best. The communcation isn't the best as well
Pros
Weekly pay, good people, great enviroment
Cons
Hours, communication, travel pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from American Home Care
March 21, 2017

This review is not about the American Home Care in Terrell, Texas.
This Agency is located in MO

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i would definitely work here again if i had the chance
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hannibal, MODecember 14, 2016
i would have to say that this has been the best job i have ever had most of my co workers were amazing and my residents were so awesome. although we had some of our residents and staff were hardheaded i loved everything about this place
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a decent place to work
Trainer/PCA (Former Employee) –  Rolla, MOJuly 12, 2016
American Home Care used to be a great company to work for. Despite no benefits and no raises, the atmosphere was laid back and the relationship between caregivers and office staff was great. Until the latest Branch Director took over the office. If you arent a personal friend of hers, you will be treated poorly, criticized, and have your hours cut to nothing until you quit.

Enjoyed a lot of the people there, before politics came into play.
Pros
Meet a lot of new people
Cons
Pay, Management, Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Official response from American Home Care
March 21, 2017

This review is not about the American Home Care in Terrell, Texas.
This Agency is located in MO

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Quality Assurance Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 16, 2016
answering phones, filing patient charts, transmission of OASIS, audit of Clinical frequency, run, process & work daily/weekly and monthly reports
Pros
tight staff
Cons
slow accrual of paid time off hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cna
CNA/Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOApril 17, 2016
But they was just starting the company up and the pay was low.
did not work there long so it's not much I can say the people was nice those that I met .
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Official response from American Home Care
March 21, 2017

This review is not about the American Home Care in Terrell, Texas.
This Agency is located in MO

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot every day
Owner/Operator (Current Employee) –  Monroe Twp N.J.October 7, 2015
Miantenance of the entire building inside and outside in a productive and professional manner. Friendly daily envioment with all medical staff as well as patients and residents. Satisfaction of doing a great job daily with alot of visual accomplishments.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a nice company to work for.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 9, 2015
This company is a private duty company. They will keep you working with clients. They do not offer health benefits, dental or vision. So you would have to pay outside the company for any type of insurance.
Pros
Your working at your own pace.
Cons
They dont give you gas milage.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Careless Company
Office Assistant/ Home Health Aide - On-Call (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 29, 2015
They do not care about the employees or clients. I would never recommend this company to anyone! Unless they have made major ownership changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Official response from American Home Care
March 21, 2017

This review is not about the American Home Care in Terrell, Texas.
This Agency is located in MO

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment with fellow therapists
Field Physical Therapy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Terrell, TXJune 17, 2015
Organized patients schedule.
Individual scheduling of patient by the assigned therapist.
Positive functional outcome of patient care.
Making a positive difference of the patient care on a daily basis.
Pros
Individual scheduling of patient care by the assigned therapist
Cons
Time management restrictions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodctive worker
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 24, 2015
Assisted clients with Disabilities...And Companionship. I cleaned ran errands. Helped with medications. Cooked also did laundry
Pros
no lunch
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helps clients stay in their home as long as possible
Receptionist/Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  West Plains, MOMay 15, 2015
A typical day at work is helping others, answering the phones, opening and sorting through the mail. Doing what ever happens to be needed of me. It's a team effort here, to make sure that all of our clients are seen as instructed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good company
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Terrell, TXMarch 8, 2015
this was a great company to work for like the staff and office personnel. was glad to have an opportunity to work for them. the clients where great
Pros
nearby
Cons
not enough pay no gas mileage
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Home Care
part-time field RN (Current Employee) –  TexasMarch 6, 2015
Nurses are paid per visit rates for field work with a set trip fee. Overall it is a good company to work for. Would prefer better benefits for field staff, including tablets for documentation and company cars.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you're desperate
Caregiver/Homemaker (Former Employee) –  West Plains, MOFebruary 12, 2015
This is not the worst place to work, nor is it really all that great. When you apply and they call you in for orientation (and they will, because their overturn rate is horrendous, they need the workers) they try to get you excited about working there with things like flexible schedules, you can decide whether or not to keep a client, the work is easy, etc. Those things are true, but they don't tell you the downsides to the job. (1) You use your own vehicle to work. (2) They do not reimburse you for mileage. (3) They can send you to many different places all over the county. If you're lucky enough to get clients who need you there for 3-4+ hours at a time, it's not so bad, the trip is kind of worth it. For the other 95% of you, you will get clients that live all the way out in Timbuktu and they will only be for an hour or two at a time. That plus no mileage reimbursement plus all the wear and tear on your vehicle=not worth it. (4) They also do not do regular evaluations and raises like they say they'll do.
If you absolutely have to work here, make sure when they start to give you clients, you put your foot down and tell them you only want to drive so far for clients. Don't let them push you around. Unless you enjoy spending half your pay on gas and other car costs.
Most of the clients they get are great people. I've met some of the best people on this job and I definitely enjoyed that part of it. But the company itself is not good at all. If you're interested in a job in this line of work, I strongly suggest looking at the other local companies first. There are plenty of
  more... them, and several of them have company cars and better benefits. Save this place for when you are truly desperate.  less
Pros
schedule flexibility, get to choose most of your clients, easy to get hired
Cons
use own vehicle, no mileage reimbursement, most clients are short hours and many live way out of town, no regular pay raises
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Official response from American Home Care
March 21, 2017

This review is not about the American Home Care in Terrell, Texas.
This Agency is located in MO

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing carrer with amazing bosses
Home Health Care Aide (Current Employee) –  Hannibal, MOJanuary 19, 2015
This type of job can be very hard on those who have never done some type of care-giving. However, I find it the easiest thing to do when you have clients that appreciate you and bosses that will work with anything that comes your way. They are amazing! The pay is pretty good, but the only thing about this job that I do not like is that you will not get paid for mileage. They do offer insurance, and it is very good insurance. A typical day at work can range from just running some errands to pay bills, or shopping from laundry to bed making to helping one shower and dress. The hardest part of the job is getting so attached to your clients, that sometimes you forget you have a family at home that needs you too! Co-workers are always eager to help out to the best of their ability. The most enjoyable part of this job is going to bed at night knowing you made a difference in someones world today, it could have meant life or death.
Pros
Insurance- good pay
Cons
hours may fluxuate depending on health of client, no pay for mileage
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work NO JOB SECURITY
RN (Former Employee) –  Abingdon, VAJanuary 7, 2015
I enjoyed my patients and the local site has great management. Corporate walked in one day and laid off people. Said after the first of the year we would be called back. Just looked at the job site and two jobs are posted for my position, not honest or reliable.
Pros
Self Scheduling
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Home Care. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1