Find companies:
American Hotel Register Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

American Hotel Register Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and great people
Government/Specialty Territory Manager (Former Employee), Vernon Hills, ILApril 10, 2014
Pros: very transparent and honest, great place to grow, flexible hours in high chicago traffic
Cons: i dont have any...but nitpicking i might say the commission structure isn't the best
I am no longer with American Hotel (not a bad thing) but while I was there (3 years) it was very rewarding and they always put a lot of time and effort into the whole person concept. It is family owned and run, and while they have gone international they are privately held and treat you like family. If you don't fit the culture you will not be there – more... long but if you do you will find they will invest in your best interests. They are constantly moving forward, providing training, and updating the way they do things...if you don't like change it is not the place for you. If you are looking for a career and place to call home and have a positive attitude...give it a shot, if you don't work out you wont leave upset about it because they wont treat you badly in any way before or after you leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is the best company I have ever been a part of. They are total class!
Senior Sales Account Manager/ Outside Sales (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 14, 2013
Pros: it was all a very worthwhile experience for me.
Cons: the one week a year we had to go to illinois for the sales rally in january, the coldest month of the year.
My day was mainly seeing the customers here in the Las Vegas Hospitality industry, taking orders and placing them myself. I learned how to communicate in a business since and a personal since they converted me from blue collar to white collar. My coworkers were very helpful and knowledgeable. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with all the work – more... and the best part was making the sales and seeing the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and Bad
inside sales (Former Employee), Vernon Hills, ILAugust 6, 2013
Pros: work environment with co-workers. salary, cafeteria, fitness center, benefits
Cons: senior management, employee loyalty.
Flex work schedule.
Learned new systems
Management is very very poor. No loyalty.
Co-workers are excellent and very supportive
Hardest part of the job is just doing it by the book to try to
fly under the radar.
Co-workers are definitely the most enjoyable part of this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company --Customer Service poor advancement opportunities
Order Relationship Associate (Current Employee), Vernon Hills, ILJuly 18, 2013
Pros: co-workers are some of the nicest people you will meet
Cons: poor advancement opportunities and career paths non-existent in this department
Working in a call center is fast paced. In this position you have to be able to access data from multiple locations quickly and try to have the answer for the customer right away or know who to send them over to to get it resolved. Summer time is the busiest and it can be so busy that there is merely 10 seconds between calls. Being in a busy call center – more... can make the day go by fast, but allows little opportunity to learn new skills in order to improve advancement opportunities above and beyond customer service or sales.

I learned a lot about the different types of hospitality products along with hearing different experiences from customers. Some of the customer are extermely nice and those will make your day. Others are always in a rush and just want to get things taken care of and over with. You really have to be able to read people to do well.

My co-workers for the most part are awesome. Everyone is willing to take the time to help another and will congratulate each other on their achievements. Its not very competitive on my team, it is more "wow! how did you do that?" in an attempt to learn more skills and techniques.

Management in my current department seems to not really know how their employees are feeling or what level or morale the department is experiencing. We have been given constraing upon constraint, restricted some basic morale activities such as decorating a co-workers desk for their birthday, and been provided promise after promise of morale building opportunities and they have failed to provide. It seems they are more focused on taking on more responsibilities from other departments and volunteering already stressed and overwhelmed employees. They need to focus on how people are actually feeling and less on what people might feel. Myself and other co-workers have been let down time after time by the company when it comes to advancement, improvement in morale, and even basic business questions. I am very disappointed in management in such as a well known growing company.

My most enjoyable part? I like talking to different customers from all over the country and some times the world. Some are very nice and I have actually learned a lot from them. I feel its important to connect with a customer and learn what they are looking for to be able to serve them better. My other favorite part is being able to meet some of the nicest co-workers who have made my bad day better, celebrated my birthday, helped me, and helped support me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Distribution Supervisor (Former Employee), Carrollton, TXMarch 26, 2013
I enjoyed this job very much. It was a place that was high on values to the corporate level. I couldn't advance from where I was because they required a BS degree. The most enjoyable part for me was growing my team and seeing them accomplish their goals!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work, pin pon table
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Fontana, CAJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: free pizza
Cons: n/a
nice to work at american hotel
they have good benifits an flexible hours to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace was not stressful, enjoyed coming to work.
Security Officer Receiving Associate (Former Employee), Vernon Hills, ILNovember 18, 2012
Pros: good food, in the cafateria
Cons: no cons, loved the work, ansd worked hard.
Responsible for providing security and loss prevention services to an organization of 3,000 employees.
� Utilized the Uniplex, Pelco Duplex, and Multiplexer security systems to monitor 48 cameras, in two buildings, for prevention of theft and personal safety for associates.
� Designed, created and implemented a training manual for Security Officers.
 – more... Designed an Emergency Evacuation Floor Plan for the company’s six story Corporate Office.
� Converted Accident/Incident reports, Supervisors Incident Reports, and other forms to templates to facilitate more timely report writing.
� Shipping duties included picking stock from the VNR Aisle using the Crown and Raymond stand up stock picker, move the product to the shipping stations for sorting and verifying the correct products to the packing lists then packaged for shipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp Position
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Woodstock, ILSeptember 23, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: temp position
Learned a great deal on cGMP requirements and requirements needed to conduct business within a manufacturing of medical products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned company
SR. DIGITAL PREPRESS TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Vernon Hills, ILJune 24, 2012
Pros: great learning environment
American has been a great place to work until they focused on the bottom dollar a few years back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work at, family oriented and driven
Customer Relations Agent (Former Employee), Vernon Hills, ILMarch 15, 2012
nice place to work at, family oriented and driven , more postions need to be made available for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible benifits
slave (Former Employee)August 26, 2011
company has to be the wiorse in the state bad to extemlely bad benifits disgusting raises expect way to much for terrible pay they give you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa com Atuação a nível mundial.
Representação Comercial (Former Employee), São Paulo, SPMarch 6, 2013
Pros: qualidade no atendimento.
Cons: material comercial
Empresa desenvolvia produtos em varios países, para venda também em vários países. A logistica da operação era o segredo do atendimento junto aos clientes - pessoas jurídicas - hotéis, hospitais e corporações.
As grandes dificuldades sempre foram a relação do dolar, a burocracia e o atraso dos portos brasileiros, além da ausência de infra estrutura – more... portuária. A perspectiva de ter produtos de ponta sendo colocados nos empreendimentos fazia a grande diferença. – less