Find companies:
American Income Life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
320 reviews

American Income Life Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Starter
General Agent (Manager) (Current Employee), Foxborough, MAApril 13, 2014
You need a Go Getter mentality to be successful which was not an issue for myself. Youre management team will single-handedly determine if you will be successful or not. Better hope they are all in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, but not overly impressed with the job.
Life Only Agent (Current Employee), San Diego, CAApril 11, 2014
Great people, but not overly impressed with the job. Long hours and sometimes it can be difficult to make sales. The pay is based on commission only.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be self motivated and willing to give up personal life
Independent Insurance Agent (Former Employee), ColumbusApril 11, 2014
Pros: bonus
Cons: no life balance
They are very honest about the commitment to the job that they expect. Plan to work 60-80 hrs a week and work almost everyday. They have some great management in place but training in general can be improved. The company is run and the language is like being in a locker room. The bonus system is by far top notch! The best part is that you will meet – more... some of the best clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation
Net Developer (Former Employee), KathmanduApril 9, 2014
Everything was well in this place. Good friendly environment, nice staff and offcourse tons of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Insurance
Supervising Agent (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 4, 2014
Pros: nice co-workers
Cons: no balance in your life mon-sat evenings.
9am meetings Mon - Fri, gather pre-set appointments for the day. Make cold calls to set up additional appointments (even though management said you didn't have to make cold calls in the interview). It was mandatory. The hardest part of the job selling to people you knew couldn't afford the product but having to convince them that they could. Meeting – more... people and rapport building. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be willing to work rediculous amounts of hours to survive the "NO's"
Life Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Covina, CAApril 3, 2014
Pros: good people and program
Cons: clients are only interested in the free stuff
Doing the job is easy, just generating enough sales to making a living off the income is tough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work environment
Receptionist (Former Employee), Redding, CAApril 3, 2014
A typical day at work involved answering phones, data entry, and greeting clients. I learned how to answer phones, work data entry computer programs, and filling out certain paperwork regarding the company. Management had a very friendly manner when teaching new employees and was easy to get along with. Co-workers were friendly and did their job well. – more... The hardest part of the job was the hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was the good times we had in the office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1099 employment micromanaged as if you were a W2 employee
Agent - benefits specialist (Former Employee), OhioApril 3, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
I actually worked for the company for 6 months... I was one of the fools who fell for their career pitch, even though I had read all the nasty reviews. The 6 months that I was employed with them was the hardest and most frustrating time in my life!
The fact that they work with Union members is a big ploy to get you into a customers door! You are expected – more... to use trickery to set appointments and you have to ask for at least 10 referrals from each client to keep giving you people to see.
I became a licensed agent within 2 weeks ($500 of my own money) The day i Signed my contract for the company, i was given a 3 page script to memorize. I had to recite it to a manager in order for the company to allow me to attend a week worth of company classes. A month later, I was still waiting to receive an agent number from the company. In the meantime, I was given a SCRIPT to recruit people for an interview. I was also given 4 other SCRIPTS to read as I was making appointments for the other licensed agents.
During my field training, the manager had me set full schedules and he would then stand me up, make me cancel them because he had plans or he would make me stay back and recruit while he went to the appointments and made money.
I was working 80 hrs a week, 7 days a week the entire time I was employed with AIL. You have to make at least 8 appointments a day and any less than that, you are treated like a child and made to come in the next morning to schedule again. I also had to give copies of my schedule so that the manager could make sure I was under his thumb.
Keep in mind also that the commission you make is also not as stated during hiring. ( part of it goes to an acct with the company so if your client doesn't pay their bill, YOU have to pay the company back the money they paid you ) The company does not reimburse you for your health Insurance like they say they will.
Bottom line: Your life will be AIL... You will be lied to, you will be cheated, you will be micromanaged, you will be texted and harassed all day long, you will be expected to attend an enormous amount of meetings weekly and you will work on holidays! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you would not like a life and little money
Life insurance agent (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 3, 2014
• Selling life insurance to people who need it.
• Driving from one house to another
• Running a computer program called EAPP
• Time management
• Skill to talk to everyone I meet
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intergetic fast paced
General Agent (Former Employee), Huntsville,ALApril 3, 2014
Pros: was able to work as much as possible
Cons: gas
cold call for a few hours work apt tell 10 pm
helped improve my phone skills
management had an opened door policy and got back with you quickly
didn't really have many co-workers I was In the field
cold calling
meeting new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commission only is not worthwhile
Insurance Producer (Current Employee), Cordova TNApril 3, 2014
Cons: commission only, works in the evenings until 11 and 12 am
The hardest part of this job is working on 40% commission only, if you do not make a sale you are not going to get paid. The work is demanding and if you have a family it can put a strain on things when the money is not coming in, this is for a person who has nothing else better to do in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 1, 2014
the company is developed for our people to get educated, this system is very easy is anyone would work there!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working professional company.
Supervisor Agent (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMarch 30, 2014
I worked for the in a few projects, they really kept me busy and great pay as well, would work for them again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable work place
Independent Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXMarch 29, 2014
Pros: great bonuses, paid healthcare
This is a company that cares about it's agents. They are there to ensure that agents and managers excel in all facets of their success. They truly care for their clients and agents and their mission is to ensure the success of their agents. I have learned that there are still good people in this world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Erie, PAMarch 26, 2014
Pros: potential for residual income
Cons: 65+ hrs worked per week, if you average it out, you make less than minimum wage most weeks.
A typical day included making phone calls for other agents that were training you without getting paid for two months. I was promised commission as soon as I was licensed. In actuality it was a month after I was licensed. The guy who trained me was an alcoholic. We worked more than an hr drive from the office and he would stop at a bar before we left – more... then drink all the way home, so I was forced to drive or let him drive. I was lied to about the commission structure. When hired you are told that you will get 46% of the yearly premium from the sales you make. What they don't tell you is that you only get 65% of that commission up front. So even if you make bonus, $1150 in sales, 46% of that is only $529, but they only give you 65% of that which is $343 roughly. Ten months down the road if they are still paying their premium for the policy you signed them up for, then they give you the remainder. Except their retention rate is only 75% or so, so you don't even get all of that. I had some cool co-workers I guess but anyone with a head on their shoulders got out as quick as they could. The most enjoyable part of the job is that you actually do help people remain financially secure and the rates they have for whole life are pretty good comparably. The worst part of the job is that the lead packs they give you, full of people who supposedly requested your visit, have mostly all been called already 3 to 5 times, and for the most part you are treated like a low rate telemarketer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Income Life
Sales Representative (Team Leader) (Former Employee), Murfreesboro, TNMarch 26, 2014
If you are a good salesperson you can make a TON of money at AIL, but it requires a lot of time and there is huge turnover even for a sales job. This is a very fitting job for anyone who is good at sales and if not you will waste a few hundred bucks to get your state insurance license.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turn over rate
Customer Retention Specialist (Former Employee), Waco, TXMarch 25, 2014
Pros: company involvement
Cons: isolation
Lack of support by management team. Learned how to handle irate customers in a respectable way. I left that job with new ways to handle customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Licensed Life Insurance Producer (Current Employee), Eatontown, NJMarch 20, 2014
Provide important benefits for personal and family needs regarding the final expenses and the needs of the family after a family member passes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofitable Adventure
Life Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee), Jackson, MSMarch 17, 2014
Cons: startup cost and time too expensive.
Took 2 months to get licensed. After that, they immediately put me into training as a sales agent. When I complained about being there 3 months without having made one cent, they threatened me that that statement was considered defamation of the company. I had to make phone calls without getting paid, burn excessive gas money and run 375 miles each – more... week to show up at meetings. Many appointments that I set up had to be aborted because they were not able to be visited. Most appointments were in the dangerous back allies of town. Sales were low. I spent close to $3000 dollars on a laptop, fuel, and automobile and only made $500. A total loss of fuel and waste of time that will forever hurt. Management was friendly, but that was only so they could unfairly use you and keep you falsely excited about working for them. They were always promising unrealistic commissions and trying to build up the name of the company superfluously. All the business proposals they made for me to sale insurance in the field caused me to have to spend money that I never got back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company
Insurance Salesperson (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNMarch 17, 2014
Pros: could make lots of money
Cons: direction and leadership
Awesome co-workers
Management is young and mostly inexperienced
Spend most of the time misleading consumers and employees

1 2 3 4 5

About American Income Life

Even to this day American International Group (AIG) is one of the world's largest insurance firms. While it held the spotlight – Read more

American Income Life Photos